What are the consequences of getting a California vc14610? 6 Answers as of December 22, 2010

What are the consequences of getting a California vc14610?

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Nelson & Lawless
Nelson & Lawless | Terry Nelson
If charged as a misdemeanor, it carries 6 months in jail and $1000 fine, max. The facts could also result in charges of false statement to police officer, with similar penalties. If this is you, and if you are serious about hiring counsel to help defend you, feel free to contact me. If you
have no prior criminal convictions, and this is handled well, the outcome could be as light as just fines and probation.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 12/22/2010
The Law Offices of Christopher J. McCann
The Law Offices of Christopher J. McCann | Christopher J. McCann
It is a misdemeanor punishable by up to 6 months in jail and a $1,000 fine. The DMV will revoke the license of one convicted of this charge 1 year. Not just suspend, by revoke, which means you have to petition the DMV to give it back after a year, so it could be longer. Even if not convicted, the DMV can find out and pursue such a revocation administratively though the offender is entitled to a hearing to contest it.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 12/21/2010
Law Office of Joseph A. Katz
Law Office of Joseph A. Katz | Joseph A. Katz
A violation of possession of a fictitious license, or fraudulently obtained license (examples of the possible acts addressed by CVC 14610) is punishable by up to six (6) months in jail (a defendant can serve no more than 50% of the sentence in California for this crime) and a fine of up to $1,000. Those maximum results are extremely unlikely. You would likely face summary, or informal,probation for 1 to 3 years (most likely 3 years), and assorted fines. The total on the fines probably would amount to about $1,000. It would depend upon if you were booked into the jail, etc. A decent attorney would be able to minimize the consequences of a charge such as this one, and should be able to improve upon whatever offer the Court offers at Arraignment.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 12/21/2010
Law Office of Andrew Roberts
Law Office of Andrew Roberts | Andrew Stephen Roberts
California Vehicle Code section 42002 provides: Unless a different penalty is expressly provided by this code, every person convicted of a misdemeanor for a violation of any of the provisions of this code shall be punished by a fine of not exceeding one thousand dollars ($1,000) or by imprisonment in the county jail for not exceeding six months, or by both such fine and imprisonment.

California Penal Code section 19 provides: Except in cases where a different punishment is prescribed by any law of this state, every offense declared to be a misdemeanor is punishable by imprisonment in the county jail not exceeding six months, or by fine not exceeding one thousand dollars ($1,000), or by both.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 12/21/2010
Alanna D. Coopersmith, Attorney at Law
Alanna D. Coopersmith, Attorney at Law | Alanna D. Coopersmith
If it is charged as a misdemeanor, a crime, there can be probation and jail time. In addition, there's a large fine and you will get points on your driver's license.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 12/21/2010
    Dennis Roberts, a P.C.
    Dennis Roberts, a P.C. | Dennis Roberts
    VC 14601 First offense: no less than 5 days nor more than 6 months in the county jail (you can probably get elec monitoring, etc) and a fine of at least $300 no more than $1000. You better get a lawyer or the Public Defender You can google California Vehicle Code and read the whole statute which is pretty long.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 12/21/2010
Click to View More Answers: