What are the consequences for being arrested for OUID/Possession? 3 Answers as of March 24, 2011

I was arrested for OUID and possession of Marijuana. I paid the $200 bond that night and was released. This is my first offense. My question is, what consequences am I looking at here?

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
The Law Office of John T. MacDonald Jr., PLLC
The Law Office of John T. MacDonald Jr., PLLC | John MacDonald Jr.
It all depends. If it really is your first time offense then an attorney can likely talk to the prosecutor and get you a good deal. Call an attorney to discuss your case.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 3/24/2011
Austin Legal Services, PLC
Austin Legal Services, PLC | Jared Austin
OUID is punishable up to 93 days in jail, fines up to $500, 45 days community service, six months suspended license, and six months vehicle immobilization. Possession of marijuana carries a maximum penalty of one year in jail and up to $2,000 in fines. In most jurisdictions, for your first offense you will likely be placed on probation for a year or so. You will have costs and fines to pay as well as attend classes, maybe community service or certain treatment programs that the judge finds necessary. I would still advise getting a lawyer before pleading guilty to anything. Only a skilled criminal attorney can spot deficiencies in the police report that may get the charges reduced or dismissed. Best of everything.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 3/23/2011
Klisz Law Office, PLLC
Klisz Law Office, PLLC | Timothy J. Klisz
You are facing two 93 day in jail misdemeanors. You are best served by hiring a local criminal defense counsel to represent you. You can usually avoid jail on a first offense. Click on the link to the left to call me and discuss.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 3/23/2011
Click to View More Answers: