A Fresh Start | Dorothy G Bunce
In Nevada, it is based on a weekly wage, not a monthly amount. Take the amount of the minimum wage ($7.25/hr) and multiply it times 50. That is $362.50 per week or $725.00 biweekly. If you earn more than that amount, your wages can be garnished up to 25%.
Answer Applies to: Nevada
Richard B. Jacobson & Associates, LLC | Richard B. Jacobson
This is slightly more complicated than it looks. Generally speaking wages for 30 hours per week, calculated at the minimum wage, are exempt from garnishment. In addition, if you have dependents living with you, you can get some additional earnings protected. The creditor cannot start a garnishment until it has a judgment against you.
Answer Applies to: Wisconsin
Stephen C. Whalen, P.A | Stephen C. Whalen
Look at Chapter 222.11 of the Florida Statutes. If you are head of household then your wages are exempt from garnishment. However, if you are not providing more than 50% support to a dependent (ex. minor child) then your wages are subject to 25% garnishment.
Answer Applies to: Florida
Janet A. Lawson Bankruptcy Attorney | Janet Lawson
25% of the gross is the maximum they can take. AND, they have to have a judgement first.... so it not like this is going to happen tomorrow. You have time get a bankruptcy filed. You can also file a "claim of exemption" in the state court case (filed with the sheriffs office) to have them take less.
Answer Applies to: California
The Michigan Bankruptcy HQ | Joseph P. Saulski
Amount Available for Garnishment Beginning: July 24, 2009 Weekly (or more frequently) pay period: $217.50 Biweekly pay period: $435.00 Semimonthly pay period: $471.25 Monthly pay period: $942.50 *Training wage: for person aged 16 to 19 on their first job, use 85% of the above figures.
Answer Applies to: Michigan