Should I contact my lawyer and ask what is the status of the expungement? 13 Answers as of May 21, 2013

Back in 2009, I was charged with misdemeanor possession of marijuana. It was my first offense and my lawyer got the charges dismissed. I never did any kind of probation or anything. I got a lawyer to file expungement paperwork and he said it would take anywhere from 90-120 days for it to go through. That was in March of 2012 and it is now October 2012. Should I contact my lawyer and ask what is the status of the expungement? He said that he would contact me but I feel it might have been overlooked somehow. Is there a possibility I was not granted one? Thank you.

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Law Office of Brendan M. Kelly
Law Office of Brendan M. Kelly | Brendan M. Kelly
You need to talk with the lawyer who handled the expungement.
Answer Applies to: Nebraska
Replied: 10/24/2012
Lawrence Lewis
Lawrence Lewis | Lawrence Lewis, PC
Yes, you should contact your attorney.
Answer Applies to: Georgia
Replied: 10/24/2012
Langford Law Firm
Langford Law Firm | Theresa Langford
Of course, call him and ask him about the status. You should have a certified copy of the order.
Answer Applies to: Texas
Replied: 10/24/2012
Freeborn Law Offices, P.S.
Freeborn Law Offices, P.S. | Steve Freeborn
Yes.
Answer Applies to: Washington
Replied: 5/21/2013
Dunnings Law Firm
Dunnings Law Firm | Steven Dunnings
If the charge was dismissed, there is no conviction to expunge.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 10/24/2012
    Law Office of James A Schoenberger
    Law Office of James A Schoenberger | James A Schoenberger
    Yes, attorneys often get very busy and you need to keep in contact with your attorney.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 10/24/2012
    Law Office of Mark Bruce
    Law Office of Mark Bruce | Mark Corwin Bruce
    Yes, if you hired a lawyer to do something and you haven't heard anything, you have a right to call him and find out what's the buzz.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 10/22/2012
    Hamblin Law Office | Sally Hamblin
    If your case was dismissed you were not convicted. If not convicted, there is no record to expunge. You could then file paperwork for arrest card and fingerprints be removed. Unsure what your attorney was doing got you. You can call and find out.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 10/22/2012
    Michael Breczinski
    Michael Breczinski | Michael Breczinski
    You only expunge convictions. If there was no conviction then there is nothing to expunge.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 10/22/2012
    Law Office of Jeff Yeh
    Law Office of Jeff Yeh | Jeff Yeh
    First of all, if the charges were dismissed, why would you need to file an expungement (which is essentially a dismissal)? Secondly, an expungement for a misdemeanor takes on average 4-6 weeks only.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 10/22/2012
    Law Office of John Schum, LLC
    Law Office of John Schum, LLC | John Schum
    You should contact your lawyer and ask him or her.
    Answer Applies to: Hawaii
    Replied: 10/22/2012
Click to View More Answers:
12 3 Free Legal QuestionsConnect with a local attorney