On your first offense, if convicted for a DWAI, does the DMV typically make you install an interlock device and how long do you have to have it? 3 Answers as of June 29, 2015

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Attorney & Counselor at Law
Attorney & Counselor at Law | John Hugger
DMV never makes you install an interlock for a first offense unless you were over 0.20 BAC! The interlock often is used to get to drive while you are otherwise revoked to drive, but not required. With a DWAI with a BAC between 0.05 and 0.08 normally an interlock is not required since you tested under 0.08. If you tested over 0.08 but was able to get it pled down to a DWAI the interlosk, if you lost the DMV revocation hearing, is an option for you to reduce the no drive revocation period of time. Consult an attorney ASAP! Good luck!
Answer Applies to: Colorado
Replied: 6/29/2015
Law Offices of Steven J. Pisani
Law Offices of Steven J. Pisani | Steven Pisani
The DMV typically has a hearing to determine the length of revocation and the reinstatement requirements. The interlock requirements vary depending on certain circumstances like your BAC and prior driving record.
Answer Applies to: Colorado
Replied: 6/29/2015
Miller & Harrison, LLC
Miller & Harrison, LLC | David Harrison
It is not the DWAI conviction that triggers the DMV ramifications. It is the Express Consent Law. The length of time you have to have the Interlock depends on the alcohol level measured when you were stopped, or if they allege you refused testing. Over .15 or refusal of testing results in 2 years with the interlock after 1 or 2 months of no driving. Under .15 results in 8 months (possibly shortened to 4 months) with the Interlock after 1 month of no driving.
Answer Applies to: Colorado
Replied: 6/29/2015
Click to View More Answers: