Is there a statue of limitations for DUI charges in Michigan? 4 Answers as of January 31, 2011

Does MI have a statue of limitations on how long after a suspected DUI incident occurs can a person actually be charged with a DUI?

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Austin Legal Services, PLC
Austin Legal Services, PLC | Jared Austin
Yes, Michigan has a statute of limitations for every crime except murder. It is six (6) years for a DUI. Feel free to give us a call at (517) 614-1983 for a free, no obligation consultation.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 1/31/2011
Nichols Law Firm
Nichols Law Firm | Michael J. Nichols
If it us charged as a misdemeanor then 6 years.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 1/31/2011
Law Office of Daniel J. Larin
Law Office of Daniel J. Larin | Daniel Larin
The SOL in Michigan on a DUI is 6 years. If you got a ticket or there is a warrant out for you there is no statute of limitations. The SOL only runs until you are charged, a ticket or warrant means you have been charged.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 1/31/2011
Law Offices of Marshall Tauber
Law Offices of Marshall Tauber | Marshall Tauber
10 years from the time of the charge, not the offense.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 1/31/2011
Click to View More Answers: