Is it possible to get my license back sooner after I complete alcohol rehabilitation? It is my first DUI and everything like fines and stuff. 29 Answers as of May 28, 2013

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Law Office of Richard Williams
Law Office of Richard Williams | Richard Williams
You can petition the Department of Public Safety to see if they can allow you an administrative hearing for an earlier return of your driver's license.
Answer Applies to: Alabama
Replied: 9/25/2012
Law Office of Jared Altman
Law Office of Jared Altman | Jared Altman
No.
Answer Applies to: New York
Replied: 5/22/2013
Law Office of Phillip Weiser
Law Office of Phillip Weiser | Phillip L. Weiser
The drivers license issuance is controlled by the State Driver Control Bureau, they decide when a person's driving privileges can be reinstated.
Answer Applies to: Kansas
Replied: 9/18/2012
Klisz Law Office, PLLC
Klisz Law Office, PLLC | Timothy J. Klisz
An impaired driving only has restricted license and DUI is suspended 30 days, followed by restriction. Not much beyond this.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 9/13/2012
Timothy J. Thill P.C.
Timothy J. Thill P.C. | Timothy J. Thill
if you were not convicted, and had your license revoked, you can apply for its return. However, if you have a statutory summary suspension, you must wait until the suspension is over before regaining your driving privileges. You can ask for the installation of a BAAID interlock device, in Illinois, which would allow you to drive the vehicle, but with zero tolerance to alcohol.
Answer Applies to: Illinois
Replied: 9/13/2012
    Law Office of Neal L. Weinstein
    Law Office of Neal L. Weinstein | Neal L. Weinstein
    Yes, but there are minimum statutory suspension periods. You will never get it back unless you complete the alcohol treatment and pay the reinstatement fee.
    Answer Applies to: Maine
    Replied: 9/13/2012
    Law & Mediation Office of Jeffrey L. Pollock, Esq.
    Law & Mediation Office of Jeffrey L. Pollock, Esq. | Jeffrey Lawrence Pollock
    PennDOT's quasi-criminal suspension is independent of the criminal court's sanctions.
    Answer Applies to: Pennsylvania
    Replied: 9/13/2012
    Michael Breczinski
    Michael Breczinski | Michael Breczinski
    No the license is up to the Secretay of State and the court has nothing to do with it.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 9/13/2012
    Steven Alpers | Steven Alpers
    The earliest you can get your license back is 30 days after suspension. You have to start the DUI classes and provide proof of insurance and pay a fee. You will then have a restricted license to and from work in the course and scope of work and to the DUI program. The restriction will last at least 4 more months.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 9/13/2012
    Law Office of Michael E. Dailey
    Law Office of Michael E. Dailey | Michael E. Dailey
    This can depend more on the results or refusal of a breath or chemical test than on the completion of court requirements or rehab. Generally a SATOP is required to get reinstated and the sooner you get it done, the sooner you may get reinstated. A refusal on the test may still result in a 1 year suspension of your license by the drivers license department without any referral to the DUI charge. Testing in excess of the legal limit may only have a 30 day suspension but still needs the SATOP to reinstate.
    Answer Applies to: Missouri
    Replied: 9/13/2012
    Freeborn Law Offices, P.S.
    Freeborn Law Offices, P.S. | Steve Freeborn
    First DUI suspension is 90 days. You may have the right to petition the court for an occupational permit after 30 days.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 9/13/2012
    Musilli Brennan Associates PLLC
    Musilli Brennan Associates PLLC | John F Brennan
    See your attorney. It may be possible that you could qualify for a restricted license.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 9/13/2012
    Lawrence Lewis
    Lawrence Lewis | Lawrence Lewis, PC
    With your first DUI, you will need to have 4 months with a provisional license before you can get back your real license.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 9/13/2012
    Law Office of Brendan M. Kelly
    Law Office of Brendan M. Kelly | Brendan M. Kelly
    You would have to speak with DMV.
    Answer Applies to: Nebraska
    Replied: 9/13/2012
    WARM SPRINGS LAW GROUP | Elliott D. Yug
    In a first DUI the DMV will suspend a license for 90 days and you are eligible for a restricted license 45 days into that 90 day period.
    Answer Applies to: Nevada
    Replied: 9/13/2012
    Leonard A. Kaanta, P.C. | Leonard A. Kaanta
    No.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 5/28/2013
    Germaine & Blaszka, P.A.
    Germaine & Blaszka, P.A. | Donald L. Blaszka, Jr.
    In NH, if you pled guilty to DUI, 1st Offense and received the minimum mandatory penalties ($500 fine + $120 Penalty assessment; 9 month loss of license, reduced to 90 days if you are accepted into the Impaired Driver Intervention Program aka IDIP), you will be eligible to have your license restored after 90 days under the following circumstances: 1. You paid your fine in full; 2. You completed IDIP and any aftercare recommendations; 3. You paid the $100 reinstatement fee to the NH Department of Safety Division of Motor Vehicles; 4. You obtained an SR-22 Insurance Certificate from your insurance company that is on file at the NH Department of Safety Division of Motor Vehicles, Office of Financial Responsibility; 5. You waited the minimum 90 days.
    Answer Applies to: New Hampshire
    Replied: 9/13/2012
    Law Office of Charles J. Block
    Law Office of Charles J. Block | Charles J. Block
    Your license suspension cannot be negotiated - if you received a 7-month loss you must serve all 7-months.
    Answer Applies to: New Jersey
    Replied: 9/13/2012
    Miller & Harrison, LLC
    Miller & Harrison, LLC | David Harrison
    No. The revocation is determined at the time of the hearing and cannot be changed after. If you refused to take a chemical test, your license was revoked for one year (no driving at all during that year). If you took a blood or breath test with a result over .08, you were revoked for 9 months but can get a license after one month of no driving by connecting an "Interlock" device to your car.
    Answer Applies to: Colorado
    Replied: 9/13/2012
    Dungan, Lady, Kirkpatrick & Dungan PLLC | Michael Dungan
    In Michigan, you get your driving privileges back automatically after a first conviction, either 180 days or 90 days depending in whether you were convicted of OWI or Impaired Driving. There is a $125.00 reinstatement fee.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 9/13/2012
    Law Office of Joe Dane
    Law Office of Joe Dane | Joe Dane
    Assuming you are over 21 and this is a first DUI conviction: Your license is suspended for 6 months. You can get a restricted license after 30 days of no driving if you are enrolled in the alcohol program, have a current SR-22 and pay a re-issue fee to the DMV. You can get your license fully reinstated after you complete the alcohol program and after the six months.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 9/13/2012
    Abom & Kutulakis, L.L.P,.
    Abom & Kutulakis, L.L.P,. | Jason P. Kutulakis
    There are not enough facts to give a thorough response. DUI consequences are impacted by numerous factors including who was in the car, BAC, refusal of BAC test, and prior record. You should consult with and retain an attorney.
    Answer Applies to: Pennsylvania
    Replied: 9/13/2012
    Nelson & Lawless
    Nelson & Lawless | Terry Nelson
    Read your sentencing report from court, and any orders from DMV. Whatever terms apply are found there. DMV suspensions can not be shortened, but might be possible to modify to restricted limited status. Court ordered suspensions can be modified only by filing a Motion for good cause.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 9/13/2012
    Palumbo and Kosofsky
    Palumbo and Kosofsky | Michael Palumbo
    Do exactly what the DMV tells you to do.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 9/13/2012
    Law Offices of John Carney
    Law Offices of John Carney | John Carney
    You should have been eligible for a conditional license or a hardship license, but if you want your full privileges back you will have to wait until the revocation period ends. Make sure you never get into a car after you have been drinking again since you can be arrested with just a .02 BAC which is just two drinks.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 9/13/2012
    Universal Law Group, Inc. | Francis John Cowhig
    You may qualify for a restricted license for driving to and from work and school after a portion of the suspension has been served, but you will have to apply to DMV for it.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 9/13/2012
    Law Office of Craig E. Gibbs
    Law Office of Craig E. Gibbs | Craig Gibbs
    yes.
    Answer Applies to: Louisiana
    Replied: 9/13/2012
    Law Office of Jeff Yeh
    Law Office of Jeff Yeh | Jeff Yeh
    No. If you are convicted of a first DUI, your license will be suspended for 6 months minimum. There is no way to get your license earlier than that, but you are eligible for a restricted license.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 9/13/2012
    Andersen Law PLLC
    Andersen Law PLLC | Craig Andersen
    No you can get an ignition interlock license but that's it.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 9/13/2012
Click to View More Answers:
12 3 4 5 Free Legal QuestionsConnect with a local attorney

Need more information on drunk driving law? Visit our free DUI resource page to learn more.

If you need immediate assistance, fill out a free case evaluation form to connect with a DUI lawyer in your area today!