Timothy J. Thill P.C. | Timothy J. Thill
It is possible. ?Perhaps after investigating the occurrence in question further, the police and or the prosecutor felt there was sufficient evidence against the defendant to proceed with charges. ?In that case, the defendant would probably be asked to turn himself into the police, or an arrest warrant would be issued for his arrest.
Answer Applies to: Illinois
Universal Law Group, Inc. | Francis John Cowhig
Yes. You will normally be given a Notice to Appear citation or you may receive a letter in the mail from either the court, the D.A.'s office or the police advising your that a case has been filed and that a court date has been set for you to appear.
Answer Applies to: California
Jonathan S. Willett Attorney at Law | Jonathan S. Willett
Hello- Yes it is. The only restriction on the government is the statute of limitations, which for felonies in Colorado is 3 years, misdemeanors in state court-18 months. In many cases, law enforcement issue a summons to a person-no arrest or booking required. In many drug cases, they let the suspect go to see if they want to "work" their charge off by turning someone else in later.
Answer Applies to: Colorado
Patrick Earl Attorney | Patrick Owen Earl
Yes. Most of the time and in most criminal courts there is a process to see if the investigation done by law enforcement meets a certain standard, probably cause in order to charge someone with a crime. Some jurisdictions and courts use a grand jury to do this, in others the prosecutors office reads report and a person make a charging decision and then mails out notice to the person or asks for the issuance of an arrest warrant for the crime.
Answer Applies to: Washington
Austin Legal Services, PLC | Jared Austin
Yes, and it happens quite often. Police will take a report and if they find the information credible will file for warrant requests from the prosecutor's office and charges will be filed. That person may not be aware of the charges for quite some time until they are picked up are find out and turn themselves in. At some point, they will have to be arrested and booked however.
Answer Applies to: Michigan