Is it a misdemeanor to steal money from a co worker? 69 Answers as of August 24, 2011

I stole sixty dollars from a girl at work. What are the consequences? Is it a felony or a misdemeanor?

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Austin Legal Services, PLC
Austin Legal Services, PLC | Jared Austin
A little more information would be needed as to where the money was kept and how it was stolen. The reason I say that is because if it meets the definition and elements for larceny from a building, it's a felony no matter what the amount. If you stole it from her person, the it's probably a misdemeanor given the amount. However, more facts are necessary to make a determination. In any event, you will know once you are charged and you should retain an attorney right away if that happens.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 8/24/2011
Reeves Law Firm, P.C.
Reeves Law Firm, P.C. | Roy L. Reeves
In Texas petty theft (less than $50) is a Class C misdemeanor (fine only offense, similar to a traffic ticket). If the amount stolen is over $50 and under $500 it is a Class B Misdemeanor. If the amount is over $500 and less than $1500 it is a State Jail Felony. If the amount is over $1500 and less than $20,000 it is a 3rd Degree Felony. If memory serves me correctly (these last two are not common enough for me to memorize) it is a Second Degree Felony if the amount is over $20,000 and less than $200,000 and it becomes a First Degree Felony if over $200K. Accordingly, what you describe is a Class B Misdemeanor in Texas. However, keep in mind, there are rules that allow a criminal matter to be enhanced to a higher level crime. For example, if you have two prior convictions for theft, even a small theft of $60 becomes a State Jail Felony.
Answer Applies to: Texas
Replied: 8/11/2011
Law Office of Roianne H. Conner
Law Office of Roianne H. Conner | Roianne Houlton Conner
This is theft of property in the third degree and is a misdemeanor.
Answer Applies to: Alabama
Replied: 8/8/2011
Michael R. Nack, Attorney at Law
Michael R. Nack, Attorney at Law | Michael R. Nack
From the facts you give us, it may very well be charged as a misdemeanor but we would need to know more in order to give you a definite opinion. In any event, you will need to hire a criminal defense attorney.
Answer Applies to: Missouri
Replied: 8/5/2011
Grantland, Blodgett, Shaw & Abel
Grantland, Blodgett, Shaw & Abel | Gregory M. Abel
If it was cash, it is a misdemeanor unless it is a robbery, meaning you took the money from her by force or from her person.
Answer Applies to: Oregon
Replied: 8/4/2011
    Lowenstein Law Office
    Lowenstein Law Office | Anthony Lowenstein
    It depends on several factors.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/4/2011
    Freeborn Law Offices, P.S.
    Freeborn Law Offices, P.S. | Steve Freeborn
    It could even raise to the level of a Class C felony; however, the prosecutor may elect to charge as a gross misdemeanor; either way, a conviction could result in jail time. Speak with an attorney.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 8/4/2011
    Lacy Fields, Attorney at Law, LLC
    Lacy Fields, Attorney at Law, LLC | Lacy Fields
    It depends. On the one hand, stealing under $500 is a misdemeanor. However, there are a number of things that elevate it to a felony. For example, if it was on a debit card or credit device, if it was stolen off of her person, if it was stolen with some force, if a threat was made, etc. These things could elevate it to a C or even a B felony.
    Answer Applies to: Missouri
    Replied: 8/4/2011
    The Law Office of B. Elaine Jones
    The Law Office of B. Elaine Jones | B. Elaine Jones
    It is a misdemeanor based on the amount you stole. It would have to be $300 or more to be a felony.
    Answer Applies to: Florida
    Replied: 8/3/2011
    Edward  D. Dowling IV Attorney at Law
    Edward D. Dowling IV Attorney at Law | Edward D. Dowling IV
    I would need further information but it sounds like a misdemeanor.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 8/3/2011
    Bloom Legal, LLC
    Bloom Legal, LLC | Seth J. Bloom
    You will likely face misdemeanor charges. This has to do with the amount stolen, not the fact that the victim was a coworker. As a general rule, the penalties for theft under $500 in Louisiana are jail time of up to 6 months and fines of up to $1,000. As a result, despite the relatively small amount of money stolen, these are still serious charges and you should consider hiring a criminal defense attorney to help you with your case.
    Answer Applies to: Louisiana
    Replied: 8/3/2011
    Law Office of Eric Sterkenburg
    Law Office of Eric Sterkenburg | Eric Sterkenburg
    If it is a felony or misdemeanor depends on the facts. If you took it from her purse when she was someplace else it would most likely a misdemeanor. If you took it from her person then it could be a felony. Other facts may come into play and could change the answer.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/3/2011
    Thomas Humphrey, Attorney at Law
    Thomas Humphrey, Attorney at Law | Thomas Humphrey
    In most jurisdictions, and under most circumstances, it is a misdemeanor to steal $60.00.
    Answer Applies to: Idaho
    Replied: 8/3/2011
    Boske Law Offices
    Boske Law Offices | Michael A Boske
    It depends upon the amount of money stolen.
    Answer Applies to: Ohio
    Replied: 8/3/2011
    Craig W. Elhart, P.C.
    Craig W. Elhart, P.C. | Craig Elhart
    Whether it is a felony or misdemeanor depends on what the prosecutor would decide to charge. A simple larceny charge would be a misdemeanor but if the incident happened inside a building the prosecutor could charge a felony, larceny in a building.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 8/3/2011
    Law Offices of John Carney
    Law Offices of John Carney | John Carney
    If you stole $60 from a woman at work it is a misdemeanor under most circumstances, If you used force it is a robbery, If you broke into something it may be a burglary. They are both felonies. You should think about whether it was wise to risk your job, your reputation, and a criminal record for $60. You are not a good decision maker and must alter the way you view yourself and others immediately before you get into even more trouble. If you have a clean record the charges will be dismissed. If you are under 19n you can get a Youthful Offender Treatment and have no record, but this will be your only free ride with the legal system. After a person is given that first break the courts tend to give you a criminal record and probation. The next time you will go to jail. I'm sure you regret your decision to be a thief over a few dollars, but you will have to make much better decisions in the future or you will find it very difficult to get any god job.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 8/3/2011
    Law Office of Tracey S. Sang
    Law Office of Tracey S. Sang | Tracey Sang
    It is a misdemeanor for anything under $400. Your punishment would depend upon your record and the circumstances of the case. Probably something like return of the money, an anti-theft class, a fine.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/3/2011
    Michael Breczinski
    Michael Breczinski | Michael Breczinski
    It depends on the circumstances that surround the theft wheter it is a misdemeanor or felony. if you broke into her car for example it could be a felony. There are too few facts to answer this.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 8/3/2011
    Beaulier Law Office
    Beaulier Law Office | Maury Beaulier
    It is a crime to steal any amount from any person or entity. Amounts under $500 would be charged as a misdemeanor. A misdemeanor is punishable by up to 90 days in jail and a $1000 fine.
    Answer Applies to: Minnesota
    Replied: 8/3/2011
    Jules N. Fiani, Attorney at Law
    Jules N. Fiani, Attorney at Law | Jules Fiani
    Misdemeanor.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 8/3/2011
    The Law Office of Cindy Barton
    The Law Office of Cindy Barton | Cindy Barton
    It is a misdemeanor to steal $60.00 from anyone whether from a co-worker or a store.However, the crime could be enhanced if you have previous theft charges.If your co-worker reports the theft, you could be looking at conviction of a class B misdemeanor.The maximum jail time that could be imposed is up to 6 months in the county jail, a fine of up to $1,000, probation and paying restitution.(You may also lose you job, but that is outside the criminal justice system.)
    Answer Applies to: Utah
    Replied: 8/3/2011
    Attorney at Law
    Attorney at Law | Steven C. Bullock
    It all depends on the factual circumstances of the theft. Robbery and Larceny from a Person are both felonies regardless of the amount of money involved. No matter what you are charged with, you need an attorney immediately. Good luck.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 8/3/2011
    Law Office of Edward J. Blum
    Law Office of Edward J. Blum | Edward J. Blum
    Yes. It is petty theft (PC 484, 486, 487, 490), punishable as a misdemeanor. Up to 1 year in jail and a $1,000 fine.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/3/2011
    Law Office of Jared Altman
    Law Office of Jared Altman | Jared Altman
    It is a misdemeanor punishable by up to one year in jail, up to $1,000.00 fine and a $205.00 surcharge. That's the maximum. It rarely turns out that bad.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 8/3/2011
    Connell-Savela
    Connell-Savela | Jason Savela
    the amount is a misdo amt so long as you did not take it from her person or presence or with force/threat or by breaking into a building, room, locker etc, it should be a misdemeanor
    Answer Applies to: Colorado
    Replied: 8/3/2011
    Gutin and Wolverton
    Gutin and Wolverton | Harley Gutin
    Stealing from a co worker can be a Misdemeanor Petit Theft. However, if you took it out of her car it could be Felony Burglary to Conveyance. So it would depend on where the money was at the time it was stolen.
    Answer Applies to: Florida
    Replied: 8/3/2011
    Law Office of Michael Brodsky
    Law Office of Michael Brodsky | Michael Brodsky
    Theft in amount less than $750 is Theft in the 3rd Degree, a gross misdemeanor with a maximum sentence of 365 day & 5,000. although sentences are typically much lower. In some instances it is possible to do a "compromise of misdemeanor" were the victim is paid restitution and agrees that the charge can be dismissed. A theft conviction can make it difficult to find employment in the future so you should get representation to try to avoid a conviction or at least immunize its negative effects
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 8/3/2011
    Andersen Law PLLC
    Andersen Law PLLC | Craig Andersen
    Unless you steal more than $1,000; then it's a felony.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 8/3/2011
    Nelson & Lawless
    Nelson & Lawless | Terry Nelson
    At that level, it would likely be charged as a misdemeanor, with up to a year in jail if convicted. What can you do? If any criminal charges are threatened, which they may well be, then hire an attorney, unless you know how to effectively represent yourself in court against a professional prosecutor intending to convict. A little free advice: exercise the 5th Amendment right to SHUT UP and do NOT talk to anyone except an attorney about the case. That includes on this or any other web site or public forum. It also includes any communication or dealings with the company agents. Most police and prosecutors will happily tell you that 95% of people convict themselves by trying to be 'helpful and cooperative', either during initial contact, questioning, interview or interrogation. If serious about hiring counsel to help in this, and if this is in SoCal courts, feel free to contact me. If you havent yet been arrested, your attorney may be able to negotiate a civil compromise agreement with the victim and company that will avoid you being prosecuted.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/3/2011
    Dennis Roberts, a P.C.
    Dennis Roberts, a P.C. | Dennis Roberts
    Misdemeanor. If you can get her to agree to a civil compromise you pay her the money back, have her sign a release and If they do charge show to DA
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/3/2011
    Cynthia Henley, Lawyer
    Cynthia Henley, Lawyer | Cynthia Henley
    Because it is over $50 (the maximum for a Class C misdemeanor) but under $500 it is a Class B misdemeanor for which you could receive up to 6 months in jail and up to a $2,000 fine. You are probably eligible for probation, too. Sad thing to do - steal from a co-worker.
    Answer Applies to: Texas
    Replied: 8/3/2011
    Harden Law Offices
    Harden Law Offices | Leonard D. Harden
    Theft is a misdemeanor if it involves a taking of an item valued at less than $1,000. The maximum consequence is 1 year in jail and a $2,000 fine in reality most people get a fine only. However, if you have not been charged it may make sense to return the money and apologize, explain you were desperate if you are still friend's with the co worker. Good luck.
    Answer Applies to: New Hampshire
    Replied: 8/3/2011
    Night Life Lawyers
    Night Life Lawyers | Joshua Aldabbagh
    A misdemeanor theft is the intentional deprivation of the property of another that is valued at $250 or less. A misdemeanor conviction can carry a penalty of up to 6 months in jail and a $1,000 fine, plus restitution.
    Answer Applies to: Nevada
    Replied: 8/3/2011
    Law Office of James E. Smith
    Law Office of James E. Smith | James Smith
    This is a misdemeanor petty larceny.
    Answer Applies to: Nevada
    Replied: 8/3/2011
    Harris Law Firm
    Harris Law Firm | Jennifer C. Robins
    Theft of an amount under $100 dollars is a misdemeanor. The consequences vary depending on your criminal history but more often than not, it would be probation, attendance of theft class and repayment of the money. The possible jail time is up to one year. If you have been charged with this theft or think you will be, it is extremely important to speak with an attorney.
    Answer Applies to: Oregon
    Replied: 8/3/2011
    Healan Law Offices
    Healan Law Offices | William D. Healan, III
    Theft of $60 would be a misdemeanor.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 8/3/2011
    Harrison & Harrison
    Harrison & Harrison | Samuel Harrison
    Misdemeanor.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 8/3/2011
    Law Office of Phillip Weiser
    Law Office of Phillip Weiser | Phillip L. Weiser
    This would be chargeable as a misdemeanor.
    Answer Applies to: Kansas
    Replied: 8/3/2011
    Law Office of Neal L. Weinstein
    Law Office of Neal L. Weinstein | Neal L. Weinstein
    Misdemeanor, facing up to a year in jail for a Class D, but really looking at maybe 48 hours, depending upon history. The worst part is that you will have a criminal theft conviction which will follow you for life.
    Answer Applies to: Maine
    Replied: 8/3/2011
    Miller & Harrison, LLC
    Miller & Harrison, LLC | David Harrison
    It is potentially a misdemeanor level offense.
    Answer Applies to: Colorado
    Replied: 8/3/2011
    Frances R. Johnson
    Frances R. Johnson | Frances R. Johnson
    If theft without force, a misdemeanor. If force was used, potentially a felony. Consequences can range from probation, court costs and fines, counseling, restitution, loss of job (not imposed by court), to jail. Consult an attorney with the specific facts of your case to receive counsel as to what you realistically could be facing.
    Answer Applies to: Colorado
    Replied: 8/3/2011
    Law Office of Richard Williams
    Law Office of Richard Williams | Richard Williams
    8-2-11 It should be a misdemeanor.
    Answer Applies to: Alabama
    Replied: 8/3/2011
    Law Office of Jeff Yeh
    Law Office of Jeff Yeh | Jeff Yeh
    Petty theft misdemeanor, punishable by up to 6 months in county jail.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/3/2011
    Law Office of Joe Dane
    Law Office of Joe Dane | Joe Dane
    Theft of under $950 is petty theft, a misdemeanor unless it was taken directly from her (grand theft person) or taken by force or fear (robbery). Grand theft can be either a felony or a misdemeanor. Robbery is a felony. If they think you entered the building (or a closed portion of the building) to commit the theft, the it could be burglary as well. Burglary can be either a felony or a misdemeanor. Petty theft carries up to 6 months in county jail; grand theft up to 3 years in prison, robbery up to 5 years in prison, burglary and grand theft is either a year in county jail (if it's filed as a misdemeanor) or 3 years in state prison (as a felony).
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/3/2011
    The Law Offices of Robert L. Driessen
    The Law Offices of Robert L. Driessen | Robert L. Driessen
    Yes it is illegal to steal from anyone. This would be a misdemeanor unless you have a prior criminal history that would escalate this to a felony. At this point do not make any more statements about the theft and contact an attorney to assist you.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/3/2011
    Law Office of Kyle T. Green, PLLC
    Law Office of Kyle T. Green, PLLC | Kyle T. Green
    The amount of money stolen will determine whether it's a misdemeanor or a felony. $60 is a misdemeanor.
    Answer Applies to: Arizona
    Replied: 8/3/2011
    Edward A. Kroll, Attorney at Law
    Edward A. Kroll, Attorney at Law | Edward A. Kroll
    In Oregon, this is a Class C Misdemeanor, 3rd-degree theft. Theft in an amount less than $100 is 3rd-degree, whereas theft of $100 or more is 2nd-degree theft, which would be a class A misdemeanor. Theft of $1,000 or more is 1st-degree theft, which is a felony. If you take a deal in this case, a likely sentence would be probation, a theft class, community service, and repayment of the stolen amount. I would encourage you to speak to a criminal defense lawyer in your area as soon as you can.
    Answer Applies to: Oregon
    Replied: 8/3/2011
    Gary Moore, Attorney at Law
    Gary Moore, Attorney at Law | Gary Moore
    In New Jersey, the theft of less than $200.00 is a disorderly person offense punishable by up to six months in jail and a $1,000.00 fine. Stealing is an offense whether one is or is not at work. Gary Moore
    Answer Applies to: New Jersey
    Replied: 8/3/2011
    Rothstein Law PLLC
    Rothstein Law PLLC | Eric Rothstein
    It is a Class A misdemeanor (up to one year in jail and/or $1,000) fine unless you used force, then it's a felony. If you have already been arrested, you should retain an attorney. Assuming you have no prior record, you can walk away without getting a criminal record. If you have not been arrested and the girl knows that you stole her money, you might want to apologize and repay her and hope she won't call the police. The above is for informational purposes only and not meant as legal advice.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 8/3/2011
    John Segelbaum, P.S.
    John Segelbaum, P.S. | John Segelbaum
    It would be Third Degree Theft, a gross misdemeanor. Maximum punishment is one year in jail and $5000.00 fine.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 8/3/2011
    Wallin & Klarich
    Wallin & Klarich | Stephen D. Klarich
    It's a misdemeanor petty theft. (484-488 PC) The punishment will depend on your prior criminal record, your age and circumstances of the offense
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/3/2011
    The Law Office of Harry E. Hudson, Jr.
    The Law Office of Harry E. Hudson, Jr. | Harry E. Hudson, Jr.
    Depending on how the theft was accomplished, it is a misdemeanor, a year max.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/3/2011
    Goolsby Law Office
    Goolsby Law Office | Richard Goolsby
    Generally, based upon the amount, it would appear to be a misdemeanor; however, we recommend that you consult with a criminal lawyer about all the facts, along with your rights and options. Good luck.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 8/3/2011
Click to View More Answers:
12 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Free Legal QuestionsConnect with a local attorney