The Law Offices of John J. Carney Esq. | John J. Carney
If your license was suspended for unpaid tickets and not a DWI then it will be plead to a 511-1 violation and you will pay a $150 fine and $120 surcharge after you pay off the tickets. You should get a public defender and get the case adjourned until you pay off the tickets.
Answer Applies to: New York
Lacy Fields, Attorney at Law, LLC | Lacy Fields
No, you have to go through the license reinstatement process (if you qualify for reinstatement). You must send Dept of Revenue all the documents they require and pay a reinstatement fee (around $16). However, if you plead guilty to driving while suspended or while revoked, your license will typically be re-suspended or re-revoked. That is why it is so important to get an attorney for a DWS or DWR; an attorney can prevent that from happening.
Answer Applies to: Missouri
Timothy J. Thill P.C. | Timothy J. Thill
This depends on why your license is suspended in the first place. You should visit the DMV and determine the basis of the suspension, if for unpaid tickets, perhaps you can clear them up, and get your license reinstated.
Answer Applies to: Illinois
Law Offices of Matthew M. Friedrich, PLLC | Matthew M. Friedrich
Generally, once you pay all fines and costs you owe to a court, that court will issue you a clearance and will notify the Secretary of State that the suspensions have been cleared, so that the suspension on that/those tickets can be terminated. Once all suspensions are terminated, you will have to pay a reinstatement fee to the SOS to get a license. That assumes you have no responsibility fees, etc., which might be affecting your driving privileges.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Andersen Law PLLC | Craig Andersen
It depends on the reason for your suspension. You can contact the Department of Licensing and find out what it will take to get you reinstated. It generally helps a great deal to be licensed and insured at your next court date. Most prosecutors will give you a significant break if you are licensed and insured.
Answer Applies to: Washington
Michael Breczinski | Michael Breczinski
Get money and pay all the fines that caused the license to be suspended. Get proof that you have done so and your license is now good. Take that proof to the court before you plead to anything on the present ticket. With that your or your lawyer may be able to work out something that will not suspend you license any more. Conviction of driving while suspended gets you a further suspension of your license.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Lawrence Lewis | Lawrence Lewis, PC
Your license will not be reinstated at the time the fees are paid. You have two problems: (1) the criminal driving on a suspended license; and (2) the suspended license. After you pay the fine on the criminal charges, the license will still be suspended. If you cannot pay the fine, you will placed on probation, and have a few months to pay the fine. If you still cannot pay, the judge may order you to do community service. If you refuse to do community service, then the next step is to violate your probation and stick you in jail.
Answer Applies to: Georgia