If tenant is behind on rent, how long do you have to evict? 4 Answers as of October 21, 2013

Behind on rent, how much time do I have to evict?

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Harper Law Offices, Inc. P.S.
Harper Law Offices, Inc. P.S. | Joseph T. G. Harper
If a tenant is behind on rent, in Washington you must serve the tenant with a 3-day pay or vacate notice. After 3 days, not including the day you gave the notice, the tenant must pay or leave. If they do not, then you must proceed with having a summons and complaint for unlawful detainer served on them and wait at least 7 but not more than 30 days from the date of service. Then you can set a hearing and go to court for an order for the eviction. This is quite simplified, but is generally how it takes place. It is highly recommended that you obtain an attorney to guide you through this process as there are numerous traps for the unwary that could cause the process to take longer and be more expensive than if the traps are avoided.
Answer Applies to: Washington
Replied: 10/21/2013
Peters Law, PLLC
Peters Law, PLLC | Mark T. Peters, Sr.
In Idaho, 3-day notice, 12-day hearing, depending on the court's calendar.
Answer Applies to: Idaho
Replied: 10/21/2013
Victor Varga | Victor Varga
File a Failure to Pay Rent action right away.
Answer Applies to: Maryland
Replied: 10/21/2013
Stuart P Gelberg
Stuart P Gelberg | Stuart P Gelberg
An eviction must be commenced within 6 years of default if based on a lease.
Answer Applies to: New York
Replied: 10/21/2013
Click to View More Answers: