If I had an assault and battery charge but I only had to pay a $500.00 fine and jail time and it happened in 2012, am I allowed to get a CCW? 4 Answers as of September 08, 2014

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Michael Breczinski
Michael Breczinski | Michael Breczinski
Different crimes have different waiting periods. You can get a book from the county clerk in Michigan that tells what they are.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 9/8/2014
Hamblin Law Office | Sally Hamblin
It is not what sentence you received, but the conviction. Generally, no.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 9/3/2014
Elhart & Horvath, P.C.
Elhart & Horvath, P.C. | Mattias Johnson
If the assault charge was a felony, than you may be out of luck unless you can get the charge set aside in the future. If the charge was not a felony, then under Michigan law you must wait 8 years before applying for a CCW after the date of the conviction.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 9/3/2014
Musilli Brennan Associates PLLC
Musilli Brennan Associates PLLC | John F Brennan
No, you would not qualify.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 9/2/2014
Click to View More Answers: