If I got a DUI about 15 yrs ago, is that considered a 'Misdemeanor" or "Felony"? 36 Answers as of September 25, 2012

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Law Office of Thomas A. Medford, Jr., PC
Law Office of Thomas A. Medford, Jr., PC | Thomas A. Medford, Jr.
It is considered a misdemeanor.
Answer Applies to: District of Columbia
Replied: 9/25/2012
Universal Law Group, Inc. | Francis John Cowhig
It will depend on whether the original DUI was charged as a misdemeanor or felony. There is no way of knowing without seeing the original charging documents.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 9/18/2012
Steven Alpers | Steven Alpers
Misdemeanor unless there were injuries or death.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 9/18/2012
Michael Breczinski
Michael Breczinski | Michael Breczinski
Plain old DUI without injury or death or prior DUIs is a misdemeanor.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 9/18/2012
The Rogers Law Firm
The Rogers Law Firm | Andrea Storey Rogers
The length of time since you received it does not make it either a felony or misdemeanor. You can contact the court where it was issued and ask if your DUI from 15 years ago was a misdemeanor or a felony.
Answer Applies to: Missouri
Replied: 9/18/2012
    Natty Shafer Law
    Natty Shafer Law | Nathaniel Shafer
    It could be either. Most DUIs are misdemeanors, but sometimes they are felonies, especially for repeat offenders. If you are unsure and need to know, you have to request a copy of your criminal history from the state.
    Answer Applies to: Utah
    Replied: 9/17/2012
    Freeborn Law Offices, P.S.
    Freeborn Law Offices, P.S. | Steve Freeborn
    DUIs are most often charged as "gross misdemeanors", not felonies, unless you kill or seriously hurt someone.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 9/17/2012
    Law Office of Eric Sterkenburg
    Law Office of Eric Sterkenburg | Eric Sterkenburg
    First time DUIs without enhancements are misdemeanors in California. If you are going to Canada and they know about the DUI you will be denied admission as Canada considers it a felony.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 9/17/2012
    Langford Law Firm
    Langford Law Firm | Theresa Langford
    If it was your only arrest/conviction and no one was injured/killed, then it is probably a misdemeanor. You should be able to find it on the county database website.
    Answer Applies to: Texas
    Replied: 9/16/2012
    Hynum Law Office, LLC
    Hynum Law Office, LLC | G. Wayne Hynum
    If it was a first or second offense DUI it was a misdemeanor. If you were convicted of third or higher DUI it's a felony.
    Answer Applies to: Mississippi
    Replied: 9/16/2012
    Benjamin D Gordon, Attorney at Law
    Benjamin D Gordon, Attorney at Law | Benjamin D Gordon
    In Utah a first or second DUI within a 10 year period are misdemeanors. A third DUI within a 10 year period would be a third degree felony.
    Answer Applies to: Utah
    Replied: 9/16/2012
    Nichols Law Firm
    Nichols Law Firm | Michael J. Nichols
    In Michigan 2 are a misdemeanor
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 9/16/2012
    Lawrence Lewis
    Lawrence Lewis | Lawrence Lewis, PC
    A misdemeanor, but employers treat it as serious in employment consideration.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 9/16/2012
    Law Offices of Phil Hache
    Law Offices of Phil Hache | Phil Hache
    If there was no injury involved and it was your 1st offense, then a misdemeanor. You can pull up your criminal record yo confirm. You should also consider getting the conviction expunged.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 9/16/2012
    Nelson & Lawless
    Nelson & Lawless | Terry Nelson
    It isn't considered anything without knowing the conviction charges. With an accident it would likely have been a felony. Otherwise a misdemeanor.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 9/16/2012
    Law Office of Jeff Yeh
    Law Office of Jeff Yeh | Jeff Yeh
    Could be either. DUI's, even 15 years ago, could be charged as a felony under the proper circumstances.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 9/16/2012
    Raiser & Kenniff, PC
    Raiser & Kenniff, PC | Steve Raiser
    First offense DWI is a misdemeanor.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 9/16/2012
Click to View More Answers:
12 3 4 5 6 7 Free Legal QuestionsConnect with a local attorney

Need more information on drunk driving law? Visit our free DUI resource page to learn more.

If you need immediate assistance, fill out a free case evaluation form to connect with a DUI lawyer in your area today!