If a 19-year-old is arrested in Arizona for driving after smoking marijuana and charged with a DUI, what happens to him? 1 Answers as of January 31, 2011My brother is 19, and he got arrested for a DUI and he had a weed pipe in his car. What is the least possible charge he will get? Will this remain on his record, and for how long?
Jackson White, PC | Jeremy Geigle
Possession of marijuana in Arizona is typically charged as a class 6 felony. If the marijuana is found with other paraphernalia such as a pipe and additional class 6 felony would be charged for possession of that paraphernalia. If you were pulled over for a DUI after smoking marijuana, then you will likely be charged with a DUI Drugs wherein your license can be suspended for 1 year and you could be facing jail and large fines. Depending on how the case is processed and your past criminal history, if any, you may be given an opportunity to get rid of the drug charges through testing clean as part of the TASC program. You should consult with an attorney about whether or not you qualify for the TASC program and how to best handle your case.
Answer Applies to: Arizona