How will a DUI affect my license? 60 Answers as of June 24, 2013

I just got my first DUI. What do I need to do to handle this? Will this have any impact on my driver's license going forward? I have had a clean driving record until this, and I need to drive for my job. Can I keep my license after a DUI?

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Cornish, Crowley, Rockafellow, & Sartz, PLLC
Cornish, Crowley, Rockafellow, & Sartz, PLLC | Jacob Peter Sartz IV
I would recommend privately consulting with an attorney if you need specific legal advice for your particular circumstances. Most attorneys provide free initial consultations. This answer does not contain specific legal advice. Anyone charged with an offense is presumed innocent until proven guilty. Any sort of alcohol related traffic offense may result in license sanctions if convicted. A conviction for this type of offense is especially problematic for professionals who need certain types of driving licenses, like Truck Drivers, for example. The Secretary of State administers any applicable license sanctions. In some instances, first-time OUI offenders are able to obtain a restricted license to go to work. Further, there is administrative appeals process to potentially challenge any sanctions administered by the Secretary of State in certain situations. Respectfully, Jacob Peter Sartz IV Attorney at Law 3737 Lake Eastbrook Blvd., Ste. 503 Grand Rapids, MI 49546 (517) 410-5127 (cell) (24 hrs) (888) 659-3646 (fax) For Ingham County Residents and Saturday Delivery: Jacob Peter Sartz IV Attorney at Law P.O. Box 1351 East Lansing, MI 48826-1351 Website: www.sartzcrimlaw.com Confidential The enclosed information in this e-mail is confidential and for the intended recipient only. Please delete if you are not the intended party.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 10/28/2011
Law Office of Thomas A. Medford, Jr., PC
Law Office of Thomas A. Medford, Jr., PC | Thomas A. Medford, Jr.
Even a first DUI can result in a revocation of your driver's license for 12 months in addition to possible fine and jail sentence. An attorney skilled in the representation of individuals charged with DUI may be able to at least get you a work permit to be able to drive to work and back.
Answer Applies to: District of Columbia
Replied: 10/4/2011
The Law Firm of David Jolly
The Law Firm of David Jolly | David Jolly
A DUI can and may affect your driver's license. Unfortunately you can lose your license if convicted of a DUI or alternatively if you lose the DOL driver's hearing. In Washington State you would lose your driver's license for 90 days should you lose the DOL hearing. Similarly you could lose your driver's license for 90 days to 1 year, depending on your BAC (or a refusal). Hire an attorney to help you.
Answer Applies to: Washington
Replied: 9/30/2011
Burdon and Merlitti
Burdon and Merlitti | Adam Van Ho
If you are convicted, a DUI will result in a license suspension of six months to three years. While it will be ultimately up to the judge, you can apply for driving privileges after fifteen days. The DUI may also have an impact on your job in that many employers will not allow employees to drive a work car if they have a DUI because of increased insurance costs and potential civil liability if they are involved in an accident. Additionally, a DUI will often lead to increased insurance costs for the offender. As such, it is probably a good idea that you consult with an attorney about the specifics of your case and see if there is a way to minimize the impact of your arrest.
Answer Applies to: Ohio
Replied: 9/27/2011
Gonzalez Law Associates P.C.
Gonzalez Law Associates P.C. | Carlos Gonzalez
If you were charged with driving with a BAC over .08 your license will automatically be suspended then depending on the way the case ends it may be suspended or revoked for up to a year after the case is over.
Answer Applies to: New York
Replied: 9/26/2011
    Law Offices of Sean Logue
    Law Offices of Sean Logue | Sean Logue
    I highly reccomend you hire a skilled DUI lawyer.You are looking at either a 30 or sixty day suspension.
    Answer Applies to: Pennsylvania
    Replied: 9/26/2011
    Law Office of Richard Williams
    Law Office of Richard Williams | Richard Williams
    If convicted you will lose your driving license for 90 days.
    Answer Applies to: Alabama
    Replied: 6/24/2013
    Law Office of Tracey S. Sang
    Law Office of Tracey S. Sang | Tracey Sang
    Technically, your license will be suspended for a year. However, on a first DUI, after a 30-day hard suspension, you may get a restricted license once after you enroll in the DUI class and obtain SR-22 insurance. This allows you to go to and from the class and work. As work-related travel is also included this is usually enough for you to carry on with your life.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 9/26/2011
    Law Office of Maureen Furlong Baldwin
    Law Office of Maureen Furlong Baldwin | Maureen Furlong Baldwin
    In a first offense DUI, you can of course request a DMV hearing and if you win the hearing your license is not supended. That MUST be done within 10 days of arrest. If you cannot win a DMV hearing and do not get acquitted by a jury on your case, and your blood alcohol is .08 or above, then your license will be suspended for 4 months. If you go to DUI classes, then you can have your license suspended for only 30 days and restricted for work purposes only for 5 months.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 9/26/2011
    Freeborn Law Offices, P.S.
    Freeborn Law Offices, P.S. | Steve Freeborn
    In all likelihood, you will loose your license for a minimum 90- days. It may be possible for you to get an occupational permit after 30 days. Depending upon the nature of your employment. After you get your license reinstated, The Court could also order the installation of an interlock device, which is a machine you have to blow into each time you start your car. If there is ANY alcohol in your system, the car won't start. There are also other issues you need to look at: mandatory jail time, fines, alcohol and drug evaluation and treatment. You need to consult with an attorney.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 9/26/2011
    Law Office of Thomas F. Mueller
    Law Office of Thomas F. Mueller | Thomas Mueller
    On a first offense DUI you lose your license for 4 months. There is an option of 30 days if you are enrolled in a DUI Program and are willing to have a 5 month restricted license after the 30 days. Of course the Suspension is 1 year if you were under 21 when the arrest occurred. After these times there is no affect on your license unless you are arrested again for DUI.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 9/24/2011
    Donahue, Sowa & Magana Attorneys at Law
    Donahue, Sowa & Magana Attorneys at Law | Glenn M. Sowa
    Most first offenders for DUI do not lose their licenses, with the exception of the statutory summary suspension. If you took a breath test and registered above a .08 or you refused to take the test, a statutory summary suspension will begin 46 days after the arrest. You are eligible for a Motorist Device Driving Permit (MDDP) after the first 30 days of the suspension. The permit allows you to drive fully for the remainder of the suspension as long as a Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device (BAIID) is installed in your vehicle. A conviction for DUI results in an automatic revocation of driving privileges, in addition to any statutory summary suspension. Most first offenders for DUI do not receive a conviction, unless there are other aggravating factors present. It is best to hire a competent criminal defense/DUI attorney in your jurisdiction to assist in your defense.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 9/24/2011
    Betts Legal Services
    Betts Legal Services | Shawn M. Betts
    In Minnesota on a first time DWI, the length of license revocation is usually 90 days, unless there was a test reading higher than .16 or you refused to take a test. There is generally a waiting period of 15 days prior to being eligible for a limited license. If you were to plead guilty to the DWI charge within the 90 day period, the revocation is reduced to 30 days.
    Answer Applies to: Minnesota
    Replied: 9/23/2011
    Jonathan S. Willett Attorney at Law
    Jonathan S. Willett Attorney at Law | Jonathan S. Willett
    If you have a blood alcohol content over .08, you will receive a notice of revocation in the mail as long as your address is up to date with the DMV. You must request a hearing within 7 days of receiving the notice-aks for the officer to be present. This proceeding is totally separate from the court proceeding to determine punishment. In the DMV hearing, if you are found guilty of driving with a BAC over .08, then your license must be revoked a minimum of 9 months. With a good lawyer, you can sometimes win these hearings. You can obtain a probationary license for your first offense after one mont with an interlock breathalyzer in your car.
    Answer Applies to: Colorado
    Replied: 9/23/2011
    The Law Office of B. Elaine Jones
    The Law Office of B. Elaine Jones | B. Elaine Jones
    Dear Sir/Madam: You probably want to hire an attorney. There is an administrative hearing that you are entitled to but you have to request it within the first 10 days of receiving the DUI I believe. At the administrative hearing a hearing officer will decide whether or not you get to keep your driver's license. Also an attorney may be able to help you get the DUI charge reduced depending on the circumstances and how you looked on the video and if you took the breathalyzer. It definitely will impact your driver's license as I am sure it was taken from you at the scene. Your driver's license will be suspended for at least 6 months even if you plead no contest to the DUI and you will have to try and get a work permit. Generally speaking, if you are convicted of a DUI it will stay on your driving record permanently.
    Answer Applies to: Florida
    Replied: 9/23/2011
    Peter Duarte, Attorney at Law
    Peter Duarte, Attorney at Law | Peter Duarte
    If convicted of a 1st offense dui , and lose the DMV hearing your license will be suspended for 4 months, however, you are entitled to a restricted license after 30 days of your suspension, provided that you enroll in the dui school, file an SR-22 and pay a re-issuance fee. I recommend you call a criminal defense attorney to discuss your case.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 9/23/2011
    Law Office of Eric Sterkenburg
    Law Office of Eric Sterkenburg | Eric Sterkenburg
    After a DUI its the DMV that takes away your license. You may request that it be restricted and not suspended. The restriction would allow you to drive to and from work and to your classes assigned by the court.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 9/23/2011
    Dunnings Law Firm
    Dunnings Law Firm | Steven Dunnings
    Hire an attorney and your license will be suspended for a period of time. How long will depend on what you are finally convicted of (an attorney might be able to get the charge reduced to a lesser offense).
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 9/23/2011
    The Law Office of Cindy Barton
    The Law Office of Cindy Barton | Cindy Barton
    In your ticket is notification that DMV will suspend you licensed for 90 days if you do not appeal that within 10 days of your ticket. If you have not appealed and it is in the 10 days do so now. If the 10 days is up, DMV will suspend your license and you will not have a legal right to drive for 90 days. After that time you will have to pay a reinstatement fee. If you drive without a license, DMV will suspend your license again. All this is done without any intervention or permission of the court. You must still deal with all legal charges in the court.
    Answer Applies to: Utah
    Replied: 9/23/2011
    Palumbo and Kosofsky
    Palumbo and Kosofsky | Michael Palumbo
    You are facing a license revocation.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 6/21/2013
    Allan & Summary
    Allan & Summary | Justin Summary
    It's possible, but you need to hire an attorney ASAP as your right to appeal the suspension of your driving privilege is extremely time sensitive. If you miss the limited time period to file your appeal your suspension will go into effect and there will be nothing anyone can do about it.
    Answer Applies to: Missouri
    Replied: 9/23/2011
    Law Office of Peter F. Goldscheider
    Law Office of Peter F. Goldscheider | Peter Goldscheider
    There are so many aspects to your question it is difficult to answer in a few sentences. You really need to make an appointment with a certified criminal law specialist to discuss your case. Many will provide a consultation for up to one half hour without cost to you.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 9/23/2011
    Klisz Law Office, PLLC
    Klisz Law Office, PLLC | Timothy J. Klisz
    It depends on your actual plea. Owi is worse than impaired in license sanctions.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 9/23/2011
    Shane Law Office
    Shane Law Office | Robert J. Shane
    Your license to drive will be revoked for a period of 90 days if the test result indicates a blood alcohol concentration of .08 or more. If the test result is more than twice the legal limit of .08, your license to drive will be revoked by the commissioner for not less than one year. If you are convicted of a first time DWI offense, the revocation period will be reduced down to 30 days. The law offers the incentive of a reduced license revocation period for people who chose to plead guilty to the DWI criminal offense. If your criminal case is weak and you have no defense, it will be to your advantage to plead guilty early in the proceedings. If your blood alcohol reading was nor more than twice the legal limit, you will be eligible to apply for a limited license allowing you to drive to and from work after a 15 day waiting period.
    Answer Applies to: Minnesota
    Replied: 9/23/2011
    Craig W. Elhart, P.C.
    Craig W. Elhart, P.C. | Craig Elhart
    On a first OWI, there is a mandatory 30 day suspension of your licence. After the 30 days, you will be eligible for a restricted license for a period of time. In addition, there is mandatory driver responsibility fees that will have to be paid and your insurance company may take action regarding your car insurance. You have the right to be represented by an attorney and you may be well advised to exercise that right.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 9/23/2011
    Beaulier Law Office
    Beaulier Law Office | Maury Beaulier
    If you received a fourth degree DWI it carried with it maximum criminal penalties of 90 days in jail and a $1000 fine. Different Judges give different sentences. As a result, understanding your Judge and knowing how to change Judge's can be an important part of the process. There is also a civil case that results in the revocation of your driver's license. On a first offense offense, you may be revoked for up to 90 days or up to one year if your blood alcohol content was greater than .16 This is a separate case even though the challenges are largely the same. In order to challenge you license revocation, you must seek a judicial review by filing a petition within 30 days of the offense.
    Answer Applies to: Minnesota
    Replied: 9/23/2011
    Dennis Roberts, a P.C.
    Dennis Roberts, a P.C. | Dennis Roberts
    You will lose your license for 6 months on the first DUI but after 30 days you can get a restricted license - to and from work; to and from alcohol program.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 9/23/2011
    Timothy J. Thill P.C.
    Timothy J. Thill P.C. | Timothy J. Thill
    Certainly, you can possibly avoid a revocation of your license, as a first time offender, if the case is out of Illinois, however, if you took the breath test and blew over .08, or refused the test all together, you will have a suspension for 6 months to a year, and you can possibly get that suspension removed by filing a petition in court, or asking for a restricted driving permit, but you will have a BAID machine attached to your car, and this will men breath samples and zero tolerance. Get an attorney, it is vital to you.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 9/23/2011
    Lawrence Lewis
    Lawrence Lewis | Lawrence Lewis, PC
    If you are convicted fo DUI your license will be suspended for 12 months. You have ten days after arrest to request an ALS hearing, or your license may automatically be suspended. You need to retain an attorney.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 9/23/2011
    Michael Breczinski
    Michael Breczinski | Michael Breczinski
    After the first one generally you can keep your license after you serve the suspension but you can get a restricted license for work school and treatment. It will raise your insurance rates and cause you to pay a driver's responsibility fee for the next two years. You need an attorney.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 9/23/2011
    Law Offices of Phil Hache
    Law Offices of Phil Hache | Phil Hache
    First, a DMV hearing needs to be requested within 10 days of your arrest, or else it is likely that your license will automatically be suspended by the DMV. Your attorney can handle this for you (as well as the DMV hearing, to try to protect your license. If there is a 1st DUI conviction, one of the penalties includes a 6 month license suspension, but you would likely be eligible for a work restricted license during that time. Also, additional consequences for a DUI can be severe, and include jail time. There is a lot more to this.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 9/23/2011
    Law Office of James A Schoenberger
    Law Office of James A Schoenberger | James A Schoenberger
    A DUI will usually involve a DL suspension. You should be able to get an order for an ignition interlock so you may drive to work. After the suspension/interlock period your license rights can be restored.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 9/23/2011
    Law Office of Jeff Yeh
    Law Office of Jeff Yeh | Jeff Yeh
    You have only 10 days to request a hearing, or you will lose your license by default. The DMV proceeding is completely separate from the court case. A court conviction will also result in a 4-6 months license suspension (separate and on top of the DMV suspension). You should contact a DUI specialist to handle both your court and DMV cases. Letting a general lawyer handle your case is a big mistake, because DUI is a very complicated and specialized field within the law.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 9/23/2011
    The Law Offices of Jaime Cowan
    The Law Offices of Jaime Cowan | Jaime Cowan
    You need to request a hearing at the DMV now. If you did not take a chemical test you may lose your license for 1 year. If you did do a chemical test, you maybe able to reinstate your license with interlock and SR 22 insurance. Court and DMV are two different issues.
    Answer Applies to: Colorado
    Replied: 9/23/2011
    Collins Law Firm, P.A.
    Collins Law Firm, P.A. | John C. Collins
    It will have dire consequences on your driving record and can very much affect your future employability. Call an experienced dwi attorney right away. Not all attorneys are create equally when it comes to dwi. Make sure the attorney knows how to handle the cases properly and do lots of independent research to verify what you have been told.
    Answer Applies to: Arkansas
    Replied: 9/23/2011
    Law Office of Joe Dane
    Law Office of Joe Dane | Joe Dane
    Yes, it will impact your license. First, you only have 10 days from the date of your arrest to challenge the automatic suspension of your license by the DMV. If you're convicted of DUI or you lose your hearing with the DMV, your license will be suspended for 4-6 months. You can get a restricted license after 30 days if you sign up for an alcohol program, have current insurance filed with the DMV and pay the re-issuance fee. That 30 days is just that - 30 days of actual suspension. If you are caught driving during that 30 day period, it's another misdemeanor and could result in jail time. Your first step should be to sit down with a local criminal defense attorney that routinely practices in the court where your case will be heard. Don't miss that 10 day window to contact the DMV. Best of luck.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 9/23/2011
    Cynthia Henley, Lawyer
    Cynthia Henley, Lawyer | Cynthia Henley
    I assume that you got a DWI? Unfortunately, this site uses "DUI" and does not distinguish between DUI - a charge for a person under 21 years old driving under the influence of any alcohol at all - and DWI - a person of any age driving while intoxicated - having lost the normal use of their mental and / or physical faculties due to the introduction of alcohol, drugs, or a combination. You need to hire a lawyer. You, or your lawyer if you have not hired one in time, will need to request a hearing on the administrative license revocation that occurs automatically on the 40th day after your arrest if you do not request one (unless yours was a blood test case and not a breath test failure or refusal.) Regarding the DWI case itself, if you are acquitted, then there will be no repercussions on your DL (and any that you suffer as a result of the ALR hearing will be removed from your record, although you wil have to deal with them at the time.) If you get a probation and take the required course, your license will not be suspended. If you take a final conviction with no probation, your license will be suspended for a period of time - probably 6 months. Anyway, you need to talk to a lawyer about handling the case.
    Answer Applies to: Texas
    Replied: 9/23/2011
    Law Office of Jonathan T. Sarre
    Law Office of Jonathan T. Sarre | Jonathan T. Sarre
    If you failed or refused a breath test, the DMV will suspend your license 30 days after your arrest. If you failed the breath test, you will lose your license for 90 days. If you refused, the suspension will be for one year. You do have the right to have a hearing to contest the suspension but you must request the hearing within 10 days of your arrest. The hearing is limited in scope but if you prevail, you will keep your license. It is a very good idea to retain a lawyer for at least the DMV hearing, since the issues are fairly technical. Now if you have no criminal history, you are probably eligible for a deferred sentencing program. Unfortunately if you have a commercial drivers license you are not eligible. No CDL and you're otherwise eligible for diversion, you can get your DUII case dismissed if you successfully complete the program. One new problem, however, courtesy of the Oregon legislature, is that you are now required to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle. Again, it's a really good idea to get an attorney asap.
    Answer Applies to: Oregon
    Replied: 9/23/2011
    Law Office of Jared Altman
    Law Office of Jared Altman | Jared Altman
    The answer to your question is very involved, too involved to answer fully. But, I'll give it a start for you: your license will probably be suspended at your first court appearance. You can sometimes get special permission (hardship privilege) to drive to and from work but not on the job. After about thirty days you may qualify for a more liberal conditional license that will let you drve at work. If you end up pleading to or getting convicted of any of the common DUI offenses then you will lose your license for at least six months. But again, after about twenty days you may qualify for another conditional license. If you are convicted or plead guilty to DWI, then you cannot operate any vehicle that is not equipped with an alcohol sensing ignition interlock device, on or off the job.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 9/23/2011
    John Segelbaum, P.S.
    John Segelbaum, P.S. | John Segelbaum
    If you are convicted of DUI you will lose your license for at least 90 days and possibly 2 years if there was a refusal to take the breath test. The DOL will also take your license for 90 days to up to one year regardless of whether you get convicted based upon the implied consent law. You need an attorney to defend your rights.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 9/23/2011
    Bensmochan & Poghosyan, LLP
    Bensmochan & Poghosyan, LLP | Ruzanna Poghosyan
    Your driving privileges/ drivers license may be affected either by the Court, if you get convicted of DUI, or by the DMV. First, you (or your attorney if you hire one) have to contact the DMV within 10 days of your arrest to request a hearing. If you miss it, you waive your right to a hearing and your driving privileges (your drivers license) automatically get suspended after 30 days of your arrest. If you go to the DMV hearing and the DMV decides in your favor, the DMV will not suspend your driving privileges (although it is important to know that your driving privileges will be suspended if you get a DUI conviction in Court). If the DMV decides against you, your driving privileges / drivers license will be suspended (usually from 4 to 6 months). If your drivers license is suspended, you may apply for and get a restricted license which will allow you to drive to work, to school, to court or to DMV imposed alcohol programs, etc. The DMV hearing is separate and different from the Court hearing. I recommend that you hire a competent DUI attorney to fight against a suspension of your drivers license and to help you to keep your record clean from a DUI conviction.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 9/23/2011
    Law Offices of Martina A. Vigil, PC
    Law Offices of Martina A. Vigil, PC | Martina A. Vigil
    It depends. If your blood alcohol content was under a .15% you are looking at a three month alcohol class, and a Madd class or Victim Impact class depending on what county you are being charged in. If your BAC is at or higher than .15%, you are looking at a longer class time and a potential increase in penalties. You should consider hiring an attorney to attend your DMV hearing and get you the best deal possible in the criminal courts. You can receive a restricted license after 30 days of hard suspension from the DMV. If your job requires you to drive, you are in trouble and it is especially important to hire an attorney.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 9/23/2011
    Dichter Law Office, PLLC
    Dichter Law Office, PLLC | Jonathan Dichter
    A DUI can suspend your license and put you in jail for up to a year. You can be required to drive with an interlock as well.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 9/23/2011
    Law Office of Robert Sisson | Robert Sisson
    First you need to hire a good attorney, who does this type of work and that you feel comfortable with. The OWI will most definitely impact your license to drive, your insurance and likely your job.
    Answer Applies to: Wisconsin
    Replied: 9/23/2011
    Mark Thiessen, Attorney at Law
    Mark Thiessen, Attorney at Law | Mark Thiessen
    You have 15 days from the date of your arrest to try and save your license.
    Answer Applies to: Texas
    Replied: 9/23/2011
    Andersen Law PLLC
    Andersen Law PLLC | Craig Andersen
    Your license is in jeopardy. Under Washington law, your license may be suspended by the Department of Licensing (DOL) administratively for 90 to 365 days depending on your BAC level. The officer who arrested you should have given you a form to fill out and send to the DOL. Fill it out and send it in with a check. If you are convicted of DUI, your license will also be suspended by the court for 90 to 365 days. However, you may qualify for a restricted license that would allow you to drive with an ignition interlock on your vehicle.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 9/23/2011
    Law Office of Richard Southard
    Law Office of Richard Southard | Richard C Southard
    There are few crimes that have the potential to impact someone's life the way a DWI arrest can. Like most crimes, the prospect of potentially going to jail is a scary one but there are many additional potential consequences of a DWI case. The State via the NYPD Legal Bureau might try to seize ownership of your car in a separate civil lawsuit. Your insurance rates will likely increase drastically. Your privilege to drive in New York State will likely be suspended or revoked; this might affect any out of state license you may have. You will face a court-ordered evaluation of your drinking habits. You may be required to attend mandatory alcohol counselling. You may be required to wear an alcohol monitoring device on your ankle at great cost to yourself. You may also need to install an automobile ignition interlock device on any car you drive regularly, again at your own expense. Plus there are fines and court costs as well as a Drinking Drivers Program required by the Department of Motor Vehicles. The particular consequences you face depend on a variety of factors; what your BAC was; where did it occur; was there an accident or injury or other allegation of reckless driving; how well do you look in the video, etc. I suggest you contact an experienced DWI/DUI attorney to confidentially discuss the specific details of your arrest.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 9/23/2011
    Law Offices of John Carney
    Law Offices of John Carney | John Carney
    Your license will either be suspended for 90 days, 6 months, or a year depending on the circumstances of your case. Ask your public defender, he will be better able to answer all of your questions.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 9/23/2011
    San Diego DUI Law Center
    San Diego DUI Law Center | Rick Mueller
    Contact a California DUI Attorney Specialist and make sure she or he contacts DMV within the 10 day deadline following your arrest. You get to keep your license when that lawyer successfully gets DMV to set aside the administrative action and avoid the 23152 conviction. It's complicated but it can be done. Choosing the right lawyer is the key.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 9/23/2011
    Miller & Harrison, LLC
    Miller & Harrison, LLC | David Harrison
    There are many issues with a DUI. As to the driver license consequence the issues include whether you took a blood or breath test, or refused the test, whether you are under 21, what the conviction (if any) in the case ends up being. It is quite complicated. You should spend an hour for a lwyer and get the full story and an analysis of your case.
    Answer Applies to: Colorado
    Replied: 9/23/2011
    Law Office of Phillip Weiser
    Law Office of Phillip Weiser | Phillip L. Weiser
    A DUI can have an effect on your license status depending upon whether there was a chemical test taken and the results of that test or whether the test was refused. At the least, the license can be suspended for 30 days with a restriction for the next 330 days as well as the requirement for an ignition interlock device to be installed on your car for 1 year. If the test was refused or if the test result was above .150, the suspension period is 1 year followed by a year of ignition interlock restriction.
    Answer Applies to: Kansas
    Replied: 9/23/2011
    Nichols Law Firm
    Nichols Law Firm | Michael J. Nichols
    A DUI will result in license sanctions. Depending on your bodily alcohol content you could face a suspension of 1 year. Contact a qualified DUI lawyer immediately.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 9/23/2011
    The Law Office of Kevin O'Grady
    The Law Office of Kevin O'Grady | Kevin O'Grady
    When a person is charged with a DUI, two things will begin, a criminal charge, at least one charge, and an administrative process with your driver's license. The driver's license administrative action begins very quickly. If you are charged with DUI your license will almost certainly be revoked. You will still have the criminal charge pending, a conviction that will stay with you and your driving record. What you need to do is quickly hire an attorney that will tackle BOTH the driver's license hearing and the criminal charge and fight for you. If you just received a DUI, NOW is the time to hire an aggressive attorney.
    Answer Applies to: Hawaii
    Replied: 9/23/2011
    Keyser Law Firm
    Keyser Law Firm | Christopher W. Keyser
    If this is your first offense and your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) was higher than 0.08 but under 0.15, you will lose your license for 3 months. If your BAC was 0.16 or more, you will lose your license for 1 year. You are eligible for a limited license after waiting a designated period of time or you can immediately obtain your full driving privileges by installing the ignition interlock device in your vehicle.
    Answer Applies to: Minnesota
    Replied: 9/23/2011
    Anderson Law Office
    Anderson Law Office | Scott L. Anderson
    Your license certainly will be impacted (revoked). DUI's are complicated, seek representation immediately! Not only is your driver's license affected but a DUI is a criminal charge that if convicted could result in jail time, employment issues and travel restrictions.
    Answer Applies to: Minnesota
    Replied: 9/23/2011
Click to View More Answers:
12 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Free Legal QuestionsConnect with a local attorney

Need more information on drunk driving law? Visit our free DUI resource page to learn more.

If you need immediate assistance, fill out a free case evaluation form to connect with a DUI lawyer in your area today!