How soon can I remarry after a divorce? 31 Answers as of January 10, 2013

How long to wait?

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Victor Varga | Victor Varga
There is no wait period.
Answer Applies to: Maryland
Replied: 1/10/2013
Law Office of Barton R. Resnicoff | Barton R. Resnicoff
As soon as the divorce decree is signed by the judge, you are free to remarry.
Answer Applies to: New York
Replied: 1/3/2013
Peyton and Associates | Barbara Peyton
As soon as you get a notice of entry of judgment which shows the date on which your divorce is final, you are free to remarry.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 1/3/2013
Pollock & Associates LLC | Candice Ragsdale-Pollock, CWL
In Utah, there is no waiting period after the Decree of Divorce has been signed by the Judge and then entered into the Court's record.
Answer Applies to: Utah
Replied: 1/3/2013
Law Offices of Julie A. Ringquist | Julie A. Ringquist
In California, after you file for Dissolution and have the other party served with those papers, you may become divorced no earlier than six months and one day from that point. However, that is the earliest that you are eligible for a divorce and assumes that all necessary paperwork has been completed and you've come to agreements or that you have had your trial. If you are still litigating certain issues (division of assets, division of debts, spousal support, child custody, visitation schedules, child support), and if it has been more than six months, you can also Petition the court by filing certain documents and request a Bifurcated Judgment relating to marital Status only, which will give you a Judgment restoring you to single status only, while continuing the case on all other issues. Once you have a Judgment (whether full or for marital status only), it will list the date on which you are single again and you may remarry anytime thereafter.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 1/3/2013
    The Law Office of Cathy R. Cook
    The Law Office of Cathy R. Cook | Cathy R. Cook
    As soon as the decree entered of record with the court.
    Answer Applies to: Ohio
    Replied: 1/3/2013
    Downing Law Firm | George E Downing. Jr.
    As soon as you desire.
    Answer Applies to: Louisiana
    Replied: 1/3/2013
    Attorney at Law | Aimee C. Robbins
    You should wait 30 days after the Judgment of Divorce is entered as a Court order. That 30 days counts from the day the court actually enters the Judgment of Divorce into the docket entries and records of your case, and not 30 days from the day you went to court to put your Divorce on the court record. The 30 days from entry of your Divorce Judgment represents the expiration of the 30 day appeal period from any court order.
    Answer Applies to: Maryland
    Replied: 1/3/2013
    Law Offices of Arlene D. Kock
    Law Offices of Arlene D. Kock | Arlene D. Kock
    Once your marriage is terminated by a court judgment, you are free to remarry.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 1/3/2013
    Law Office of Kristine McDonnell | Kristine McDonnell
    I suggest waiting ninety days to make sure their were no issues with your divorce.
    Answer Applies to: Ohio
    Replied: 1/3/2013
    The Roper Law Firm, P.A. | Connie Roper
    There is no waiting period in Florida. The hiring of an attorney is an important decision and should not be based solely on advertising.
    Answer Applies to: Florida
    Replied: 1/3/2013
    Darrell B. Reynolds, P.C. | Darrell B. Reynolds
    In Georgia there is no waiting period for marriage after a divorce. Once the judge sign and file the order, if you are ready you can get married the next minute.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 1/3/2013
    The Legal Center | Richard Manwaring
    Six months and one day after the other party was served providing the judgment has been issued. Look on the judgment of dissolution. In the caption area just under where is says it is a judgment, there will be a status end date. You can get married any time after that date.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 1/3/2013
    Chaudhary Law Office, PLLC
    Chaudhary Law Office, PLLC | Satveer S. Chaudhary
    As long as there is an Order for divorce in place you can get married as soon as the same day.
    Answer Applies to: Minnesota
    Replied: 1/3/2013
    The Davies Law Firm, P.A.
    The Davies Law Firm, P.A. | Robert F. Davies, Esq.
    Please take your time. it is a lot more likely that a second marriage will end in divorce. Be careful. You should wait at least 45 days after the divorce judgment is served upon your ex spouse.
    Answer Applies to: New Jersey
    Replied: 1/3/2013
    Law Offices of Frances Headley | Frances Headley
    You may remarry as soon as your dissolution is final. Be sure that you know that date and remarry only after you are sure that the final date has passed.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 1/3/2013
    Haskell Law Firm | Lori Haskell
    You can marry immediately after you divorce.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 1/3/2013
    Richard B. Jacobson & Associates, LLC | Richard B. Jacobson
    Six months from the date the Judge grants the divorce. That means six months from the date of the hearing in which the Judge grants the divorce, not six months from the (later) time when he signs the judgment
    Answer Applies to: Wisconsin
    Replied: 1/3/2013
    Zales Law Office
    Zales Law Office | Nicholas C Zales
    Six months if you were divorced in Wisconsin.
    Answer Applies to: Wisconsin
    Replied: 1/3/2013
    Woolley Wilson, LLP
    Woolley Wilson, LLP | William R. Wilson
    30 days after the Decree was signed.
    Answer Applies to: Texas
    Replied: 1/3/2013
    Cook, Skeen & Robinson, LLC
    Cook, Skeen & Robinson, LLC | Shawn H. Robinson
    As soon as you want once the divorce is final.
    Answer Applies to: Utah
    Replied: 1/3/2013
    Law Office Of Jody A. Miller
    Law Office Of Jody A. Miller | Jody A. Miller
    As soon as the divorce decree is signed and filed the divorce is final and you can remarry. But it might be best to wait at least 30 days after the divorce decree is filed to make sure it is not appealed.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 1/3/2013
    Mary W Craig P.C. | Mary W Craig
    That depends on your state. In Alabama, it's 60 days and the judges don't generally honor requests to waive the waiting period. When I practiced in Texas, I saw judges waive the waiting period, divorce someone and marry them to someone else right then.
    Answer Applies to: Alabama
    Replied: 1/3/2013
    Law Office of L. Paul Zahn
    Law Office of L. Paul Zahn | Paul Zahn
    As soon as the marital status returns to single.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 1/3/2013
    R. Jason de Groot, P.A
    R. Jason de Groot, P.A | R. Jason de Groot
    In Florida you can get married as soon as the divorce is final.
    Answer Applies to: Florida
    Replied: 1/3/2013
    Donaldson Stewart, PC
    Donaldson Stewart, PC | Monica H. Donaldson Stewart
    You are free to remarry as soon as your divorce is final. This is the day the Decree is filed with the Clerk of the Court after being signed by the judge.
    Answer Applies to: Arizona
    Replied: 1/3/2013
    LAW OFFICE OF ANNE B. HOWARD | Anne B. Howard
    If you received your Notice of Entry of Judgment check the date it was entered. You can remarry any time after that date.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 1/3/2013
    John Russo | John Russo
    As soon as the divorce becomes final check the statutory requirement in your jurisdiction, once that happens you can go back to being unhappy again.
    Answer Applies to: Rhode Island
    Replied: 1/3/2013
    Elmbrook Law Offices
    Elmbrook Law Offices | Gregory Straub
    In the State of Wisconsin, you will be required to wait 6 months after your final divorce date to be remarried anywhere in the world.
    Answer Applies to: Wisconsin
    Replied: 1/3/2013
Click to View More Answers:
12 3 4 5 6 Free Legal QuestionsConnect with a local attorney