How soon can I remarry after a divorce is finalized? 54 Answers as of June 28, 2013

I had filed for divorce on January 2, 2012 and am scheduled to finalize the divorce on September 27, 2012.

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Lombardi Law LLC
Lombardi Law LLC | SUZANNE LOMBARDI
In Alaska you can marry the day after your divorce is finalized.
Answer Applies to: Alaska
Replied: 8/25/2012
Joanna Mitchell & Associates, P.A.
Joanna Mitchell & Associates, P.A. | Joanna Mitchell
You can apply for a marriage license the day after the divorce is final, and get married thereafter.
Answer Applies to: Florida
Replied: 8/20/2012
Law Office of George M. Derieg
Law Office of George M. Derieg | George Derieg
After the divorce is accepted by the court, and filed with the court clerk, then you can re-marry.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 8/20/2012
Dungan, Lady, Kirkpatrick & Dungan PLLC | Michael Dungan
In Michigan, the act that officially divorces you and makes you single is the filing of the signed judgment of divorce with the Clerk's Office. If the judgment is filed at 4:00 p.m., you can get re-married at 4:01 p.m. Because I have seen clients go down this road before, be cautious, just because it is schedule to be final on 9/27 does not mean it will happen on that day, be careful about making plans and non-refundable deposits based upon that date.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 8/15/2012
ADELMAN & SEIDE, LLP
ADELMAN & SEIDE, LLP | GEORGE N. SEIDE
In California, you may remarry six months and a day to be safe from the date of filing the Petition, assuming a court orders the termination of the status of marriage. The entry of the judgment is required as the date of entry is the timing device.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 8/19/2012
    Law Office of Melvin Franke | Melvin Franke
    30 days after judgment is entered if there is no appeal.
    Answer Applies to: Missouri
    Replied: 8/19/2012
    Hynum Law Office, LLC
    Hynum Law Office, LLC | G. Wayne Hynum
    Technically you can remarry as soon as the Judgment of Divorce is signed by the Judge and filed with the Chancery Clerk. However, I always advise my clients to wait at least ten (10) days before they remarry because a motion to set aside the Judgment of Divorce can be filed within ten (10) days after entry of the Judgment. That rarely happens, but better to be safe. If you want to be super safe, wait at least thirty (30) days after the Judgment of Divorce to make sure the other party did not appeal the Judgment to the Miss Supreme Court.
    Answer Applies to: Mississippi
    Replied: 8/19/2012
    Law Office of Gregory Crain | Gregory Crain
    As soon as the order is entered.
    Answer Applies to: Arkansas
    Replied: 8/19/2012
    Dennis P. Mikko Attorney at Law | Dennis P. Mikko
    Once the Judgment of Divorce is final and filed with the Clerk of the Court you can apply for a marriage license. There is a three day waiting period after applying before you can get the license.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 8/15/2012
    The Law Office of Eric J Smith
    The Law Office of Eric J Smith | Eric Smith
    You are divorced on the day the final decree is signed by a judge. However, the final decree is open to appeal for 30 days after signing.
    Answer Applies to: Texas
    Replied: 8/18/2012
    Hanna Legal, LLC
    Hanna Legal, LLC | Jen Hanna
    Under Wisconsin law, you may not remarry until at least 6 months after your divorce is finalized.
    Answer Applies to: Wisconsin
    Replied: 8/18/2012
    Leonard A. Kaanta, P.C. | Leonard A. Kaanta
    A divorce is notfinal until the judgment ia signed by the judge and filed with the court, once that is done, you can remearry.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 8/18/2012
    Graves Law Firm
    Graves Law Firm | Steve Graves
    30 days from the day the judge signs the divorce decree. And once again hope trumps experience. Good luck.
    Answer Applies to: Texas
    Replied: 8/18/2012
    Petit & Dommershausen SC
    Petit & Dommershausen SC | Tajara Dommershausen
    Six months after the final divorce; however, just because it is scheduled for a final date, unless you have an agreement it won't be completed on that date.
    Answer Applies to: Wisconsin
    Replied: 8/18/2012
    Victor Varga | Victor Varga
    As soon as the court order granting you the divorce is signed by a judge, you can marry again.
    Answer Applies to: Maryland
    Replied: 8/18/2012
    Steven Harrell, Attorney at Law | Waymon Steven Harrell
    You must produce a copy of your divorce decree at the time you apply for a marriage license.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 8/18/2012
    Slotnick & Schwartz
    Slotnick & Schwartz | Leonard T. Schwartz
    In NJ you can get remarried as soon as you are divorced.
    Answer Applies to: New Jersey
    Replied: 8/18/2012
    Michael Apicella
    Michael Apicella | Apicella Law and Mediation
    There's no waiting period to get remarried after you obtain a judgment of dissolution (the date of entry of judgment). So, feel free to rack up your frequent flier miles. Just remember, you don't get a discount on any second divorce, and the rate of divorce for second marriages is higher than first marriages, which is already over 50%. Best of luck.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/18/2012
    Beaulier Law Office
    Beaulier Law Office | Maury Beaulier
    There is no waiting period after a divorce in Minnesota. You may remarry as soon as the divorce has been finalized.
    Answer Applies to: Minnesota
    Replied: 8/18/2012
    The Law Office of Cathy R. Cook
    The Law Office of Cathy R. Cook | Cathy R. Cook
    You need to be sure the final decree of divorce has been entered by the Court before you remarry. The decree may not be entered of record until several days after your final hearing.
    Answer Applies to: Ohio
    Replied: 8/18/2012
    Law Office of Rhonda Ellifritz | Rhonda Ellifritz
    When the judgment is filed. You will receive notice of judgment in the mail.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/18/2012
    Darrell B. Reynolds, P.C. | Darrell B. Reynolds
    Once you are given a divorce, you can remarry the same day.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 8/18/2012
    Law Office of Joan M. Canavan | Joan Canavan
    If it is a contested divorce, you have to wait 90 days after the date of entry of divorce for the divorce nisi period to run. If it is an uncontested divorce, the waiting period is 120 days after the entry of divorce.
    Answer Applies to: Massachusetts
    Replied: 8/18/2012
    The Law Offices of Tres A. Porter | Tres A. Porter
    once you have a signed Judgment from the Court, signed by a Judge with a date that indicates your previous marriage has been dissolved, you can remarry.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/15/2012
    R. Jason de Groot, P.A
    R. Jason de Groot, P.A | R. Jason de Groot
    You can remarry right after the divorce is final, but doing so is not advisable. Most people who do this end up in divorce court shortly afterward. In California, as I understand it, they made it so that people could not marry for a year after a divorce.
    Answer Applies to: Florida
    Replied: 8/18/2012
    Law Office of Jane E. Ginsburg
    Law Office of Jane E. Ginsburg | Jane Ginsburg
    If you have a Judgment of Dissolution stating the marital status ends on September 27, 2012, you could safely remarry on Sept. 28, 2012.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/15/2012
    Vargas Law Office LLC | Ronnie Ismael Vargas
    You can remarry six (6) months from the date of the divorce.
    Answer Applies to: Wisconsin
    Replied: 8/15/2012
    Attorney At Law | Harry D. Roth
    The next day.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/15/2012
    Mary W Craig P.C. | Mary W Craig
    Once the final decree is signed by the judge, you cannot remarry for 60 days.
    Answer Applies to: Alabama
    Replied: 8/15/2012
    Steven Alpers | Steven Alpers
    If by finalized you meant that there was an agreement and the person was served or made an official appearance in the case before March 26, 2012, the judgment can be final on Sept 27 you could remarry immediately. If that is a trial date or hearing date then you may not be able to remarry until all the issues are decided.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/15/2012
    Goolsby Law Office
    Goolsby Law Office | Richard Goolsby
    One key is that a party must generally wait until after the final decree has been signed and filed, and that there would then be no additional period of time, but we recommend you consult with your own divorce lawyer about your situation. Good luck.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 8/15/2012
    Reza Athari & Associates, PLLC | Seth L. Reszko
    Please make sure that you enter the marriage after the judge signs the divorce decree. Once you receive the divorce decree signed by the Court, you will have the right to remarry.
    Answer Applies to: Nevada
    Replied: 8/15/2012
    DEAN T. JENNINGS, P.C.
    DEAN T. JENNINGS, P.C. | Dean T Jennings
    The very next day.
    Answer Applies to: Iowa
    Replied: 8/15/2012
    Mediation Services of Southwest Florida
    Mediation Services of Southwest Florida | Dennis J. Leffert, J.D.
    When a divorce is "finalized", that means it is FINAL! The marriage is no longer in effect and, accordingly, is not a barrier to remarrying.
    Answer Applies to: Florida
    Replied: 8/15/2012
    Warner Center Law Offices of Donald F. Conviser
    Warner Center Law Offices of Donald F. Conviser | Donald F. Conviser
    Don't rush the marriage too soon. When you're scheduled to finalize the divorce and when the Court enters a Divorce Judgment are likely days, weeks, or even months apart. Even when you have a Stipulated Judgment, it still takes quite a while for the Court to process that Judgment and enter it, due to budgetary problems that the Court has, and if there are any errors or omissions in the documents that you submit, you will have to correct those problems and resubmit, resulting in additional delays. If you already have a settlement, both parties should perform all acts and complete and sign all documents required to settle the case and file the Judgment Package, and get it filed ASAP, even if the 6-month waiting period after service of process has not yet expired. That way, when the Court enters judgment, even if earlier than the expiration of that 6-month period, the Court will enter a date into the Judgment and Notice of Entry of Judgment when Marital Status will be dissolved. Nothing more will need to be done after that point, and when the Marital Status is dissolved, you can remarry.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/15/2012
    John Russo | John Russo
    First what do you mean by finalize? I am guessing, but you may mean the date the divorce is being heard i.e. the day you go to court, if this is the case check the statute on entry of the final judgement in the state you live in. Here in Rhode Island the first date the final can enter is 90 days after the hearing on the merits, unless you had been living separate and apart for 3 years before you filed, and that must have been the bases for the divorce in the first place then you can enter the final in 30 days. So the answer to your question is as soon as the final judgement enters with the court, that means the actual order then you can start the nightmare all over again.
    Answer Applies to: Rhode Island
    Replied: 8/15/2012
    Blough Law Office | Janis L. Blough
    Ordinarily a Judgment of Divorce is effective upon entry with the clerk.? Unless yours provides otherwise, you should be able to remarry immediately thereafter, although the wisdom of such quick action may be questionable.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 8/15/2012
    Law Office of Robert D. Rosanelli
    Law Office of Robert D. Rosanelli | Robert D. Rosanelli
    You may again marry once the decree is signed and filed with the Clerk of the Superior Court.
    Answer Applies to: Arizona
    Replied: 8/15/2012
    Law Office of James Lentz
    Law Office of James Lentz | James Lentz
    You may marry again as soon as the judge declares your present marriage divorced.
    Answer Applies to: Ohio
    Replied: 8/15/2012
    Beresford Booth PLLC
    Beresford Booth PLLC | S. Scott Burkhalter
    You are able to marry after the decree of dissolution is signed by a Judge/Commissioner and filed with the Clerk of the Court.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 8/15/2012
    David A. Browde, P.C.
    David A. Browde, P.C. | David Browde
    There is no mandatory waiting period in New York.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 8/15/2012
    Lewis, Pfanstiel & Williams, PCLO
    Lewis, Pfanstiel & Williams, PCLO | Ryan J. Lewis
    6 months after the decree is entered by the court
    Answer Applies to: Nebraska
    Replied: 8/15/2012
    Donaldson Stewart, PC
    Donaldson Stewart, PC | Monica H. Donaldson Stewart
    You can remarry immediately after your divorce is final. The divorce is not necessarily final on the date you go to court. It is final after the judge has signed the decree and the clerk has filed the decree. Please check with a lawyer if you are not sure.
    Answer Applies to: Arizona
    Replied: 8/15/2012
    Peyton and Associates | Barbara Peyton
    You can remarry as soon as you receive a Notice of Entry of Judgment from the court. That document will show the date the divorce is final. You can marry any date after the date it is final. Good luck
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/15/2012
    Diefer Law Group, P.C.
    Diefer Law Group, P.C. | Abel Fernandez
    You can marry as soon as it is final. But you need to make sure that the judgment has been entered.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/15/2012
    Law Office Of Jody A. Miller
    Law Office Of Jody A. Miller | Jody A. Miller
    You can remarry as soon as the divorce is legally finalized.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 8/15/2012
    Robert J. Merlin, P.A.
    Robert J. Merlin, P.A. | Robert J. Merlin
    You can get remarried as soon as the Final Judgment is entered.
    Answer Applies to: Florida
    Replied: 8/15/2012
Click to View More Answers:
12 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Free Legal QuestionsConnect with a local attorney