How old do u have to be to get a paralegal so you can live with another family member? 14 Answers as of August 24, 2011

If your parents are emotionally abusive and they are spending the money your supposed to use for school on drugs and booze, how old do have to be to get a paralegal and moved to a relatives?

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Beresford Booth PLLC
Beresford Booth PLLC | S. Scott Burkhalter
The family member should file a nonparental custody action.
Answer Applies to: Washington
Replied: 8/24/2011
Beaulier Law Office
Beaulier Law Office | Maury Beaulier
First, you must be 18 years old and an adult to enter into any binding contract for services. Second, you can never make decisions where you will reside without parental agreement or court intervention until you reach the age of 18.
Answer Applies to: Minnesota
Replied: 8/18/2011
Reeves Law Firm, P.C.
Reeves Law Firm, P.C. | Roy L. Reeves
I think you are asking about emancipation but that is a unique situation and expensive endeavor. Are you at least 12 years old and will another family member ask the court on your behalf to have custody? If so, your family member (an adult) needs to file the motion and seek custody and conservator ship of you.
Answer Applies to: Texas
Replied: 8/17/2011
John E. Kirchner, Attorney at Law
John E. Kirchner, Attorney at Law | John Kirchner
Your question is confusing; apparently you are confusing the term "paralegal" with "lawyer". But, generally if you are under 18 you lack the legal capacity to enter into a binding contract, so a lawyer may be reluctant to take your case at all, but as a minor you do not have the legal standing to bring a lawsuit regarding your disputes with your parents. If you believe you are the victim of abuse or neglect you should contact the Department of Human Services Child Protection Division. If the circumstances support your claims, it might be possible for the juvenile court system to place you with another family member. F
Answer Applies to: Colorado
Replied: 8/17/2011
Law Office of Michael W. Bugni
Law Office of Michael W. Bugni | Jay W. Neff
The short answer is that a person has to be age 18 before they can decide on their own where to live. However, is a person under the age of 18 is being abused, neglected, or subjected to a dangerous or unhealthy situation, he or she should take the matter up with either their school counselor and/or the child protective service.
Answer Applies to: Washington
Replied: 8/17/2011
    Law Offices of Paul A. Eads, A.P.C.
    Law Offices of Paul A. Eads, A.P.C. | Paul A. Eads
    That is called guardianship and there is no age requirement.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/16/2011
    Cody and Gonillo, LLP
    Cody and Gonillo, LLP | Christine Gonilla
    A paralegal is a person trained to do legal work and who works for a law firm and is not a person who is involved in emancipation. If you are looking for emancipation you can apply at age 16. Your relatives could also apply for custody or guardianship for you.
    Answer Applies to: Connecticut
    Replied: 8/16/2011
    Horizons Law Group, LLC
    Horizons Law Group, LLC | Michelle B. Fitzgerald
    There is no magic age. The relative can file a guardianship action to have you live with them - or your parents can sign a power of attorney to let you live with the relatives and go to school and such. Or, you can call child services to report the home situation and then you would likely be placed with the relatives.
    Answer Applies to: Wisconsin
    Replied: 8/16/2011
    Law Office of Patricia Van Haren
    Law Office of Patricia Van Haren | Patricia Van Haren
    You would want to consult with an attorney, not a paralegal since a paralegal would be unable to assist you in court. If the parents are abusive, the best solution would be to contact Department of Children's Protective Services so that they can intervene and assist your relatives in obtaining guardianship.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/16/2011
    The Law Offices of Robert W. Bellamy
    The Law Offices of Robert W. Bellamy | Robert W. Bellamy
    Question is confusing. You don't say how old you are and what has a paralegal got to do with changing a child's residence. If you are under the age of 18 contact DHR and they will assist you if over 18 just move out. Here is the Alabama law Alabama Code Section 26-13-1 When authorized; procedure generally. The several juvenile courts of the state are authorized to relieve minors under 18 years of age from the disabilities of nonage in the following cases and none other: (1) Whenever the father or the mother of such minor shall file a petition with the court, in writing, requesting that such minor be relieved from the disabilities of nonage, and the court shall be satisfied that it is to the best interest of such minor. The parent filing such petition shall aver whether he is the guardian of such minor. (2) Whenever any such minor, having no father, mother or guardian, or if a parent is living but is insane or has abandoned such minor for one year, shall file a petition with the court to be relieved of the disabilities of nonage, and the court shall be satisfied that it is to the interest of such minor. (3) Whenever any such minor, having no father or mother, or if a parent is living but is insane or has abandoned such minor for one year, but having a guardian, shall file a petition with the juvenile court to be relieved from the disabilities and the guardian shall join in such petition and the court shall be satisfied that it is to the interest of such minor. (Code 1876, 2735; Code 1886, 2357; Code 1896, 829; Code 1907, 4505; Acts 1923, No. 562, p. 735; Code 1923, 8280; Acts 1936-37, Ex. Sess., No. 95, p. 110; Code 1940, T. 27, 13.)
    Answer Applies to: Alabama
    Replied: 8/16/2011
    Ashman Law Office
    Ashman Law Office | Glen Edward Ashman
    Paralegals cannot practice law. That is a crime and they go to jail for that. Minors cannot divorce their parents. When you reach age 18, then you get to make decisions.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 8/16/2011
    Edward Papa, Esq.
    Edward Papa, Esq. | Edward Papa
    You can get what is called an Attorney for the Child - they used to be called Law Guardians. They are assigned to protect your legal interests and if you are a minor you can ask the family court to assign you one. You should call your local child services, they will be able to place you with the reliable relatives if they are eligible. Otherwise, you may need to be placed in fostercare temporarily until a suitable family member agrees to take you in. Then your parents will get be referred to get help and you will be able to focus on school without the abuse and proper financial support.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 8/16/2011
    Petit & Dommershausen SC
    Petit & Dommershausen SC | Tajara Dommershausen
    You are confused a paralegal is an assistant that helps a lawyer. If you are being abused, tell your school counselor
    Answer Applies to: Wisconsin
    Replied: 8/16/2011
Click to View More Answers:
12 3 Free Legal QuestionsConnect with a local attorney