How much time could you spend in jail for 3 DUIs? 19 Answers as of February 21, 2012

How much time could you spend in jail for 3 DUIs?

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Law Office of Thomas F. Mueller
Law Office of Thomas F. Mueller | Thomas Mueller
It depends. If they are all pending now, with some manipulation, you may able to get by with three first offense penalties. That would be 3 years probation, a fine of about $6000 and an 18 month drinking driver program. If one or two of them have already been litigated and the sentences completed there may be only one first offense penalty. If one of them is charged as a DUI, with two priors, then expect to either do 4 to 6 months in jail, or be required to spend 6 to 9 months in a residential alcohol program.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 2/15/2012
Law Office of Eric Sterkenburg
Law Office of Eric Sterkenburg | Eric Sterkenburg
THIRD OFFENSE DUI (2 PRIORS WITHIN 10 YEARS) PROBATION: 3-to-5 Years Informal Probation JAIL: 120 days minimum mandatory jail and up to one year jail maximum may be imposed. In Orange County , the jail sentence typically averages between 180 and 270 days. COURT FINES: Minimum $390.00 fine to maximum of $1000.00. Note, however that the $390.00 minimum fine, after adding penalty assessments and miscellaneous court fees, results in a total amount due of approximately $1400.00-to-$1800.00 . DUI SCHOOL : Attendance at 18-month or 30-month Multiple Offender Program (FOP) required COURT MAY ALSO ORDER: Impound Vehicle up to 90-days if owned by defendant Ignition Interlock Device for up to 3-years INCREASED PENALTIES FOR DUI ENHANCEMENTS: Refusal/Forced Blood Mandatory additional 10-days Jail Passenger in Vehicle Under Age 14. Mandatory additional 30-days Jail Speeding = 30 mph on Freeway or = 20 mph on Street or Highway. Mandatory additional 60-days Jail.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 2/14/2012
Law Office of Peter F. Goldscheider
Law Office of Peter F. Goldscheider | Peter Goldscheider
1 year is the maximum sentence with a 120 day minimum.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 2/14/2012
Law Offices of Paula Drake
Law Offices of Paula Drake | Paula Drake
If they are within the 10-year statutory period, it could be 120 days up to 1 year in jail; you might want to hire counsel to explore other options for you too.If they are within the 10-year statutory period, it could be 120 days up to 1 year in jail; you might want to hire counsel to explore other options for you too.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 2/14/2012
The Law Offices of Gabriel Dorman
The Law Offices of Gabriel Dorman | Gabriel Dorman
If you are facing a 3rd DUI within 10 years of your 2 prior DUI convictions, there is a mandatory minimum jail requirement of 120 days. However, in reality, you will be facing a greater jail sentence than the minimum. Whatever the situation, if you are facing a 3rd DUI you really must hire an experienced DUI attorney to represent you in court as this is the first step toward ensuring the absolutely best possible result. I hope this answer was helpful. Good luck.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 2/14/2012
    The Law Offices of Christopher J. McCann
    The Law Offices of Christopher J. McCann | Christopher J. McCann
    That depends on the facts and severity of the cases, blood alcohol level, the recentness of the prior convictions, any probation violations, other criminal history, etc., etc. By law, you must do a minimum of 120 days jail though.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 2/15/2012
    Law Offices of Martina A. Vigil, PC
    Law Offices of Martina A. Vigil, PC | Martina A. Vigil
    If your third DUI is being charged as a misdemeanor, you can spend up to 365 days in the county jail. However, if you are being charged with a felony, this will result in more than 365 days in state prison.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 2/14/2012
    Attorney at Law | Dorinda Ohnstad
    It's not clear if this is a third DUI or whether you have 3 outstanding DUIs. If three outstanding there is some ability to potentialy negotiate a stipulated deal that doesn't require a plea to all three. However, that aside, in California the 1st DUI carries a minimum of 4 days, 2nd a minimum of 10 days, and 3rd a minimum of 120 days. Of course, those are the minimums and there is no guarantee of the minimum. On the flip side the maximum time is six months on the 1st and 1 year on the 2nd and 3rd. For all three the potential exposure is 134 days - 2.5 years.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 2/13/2012
    Law Offices of James A Bates
    Law Offices of James A Bates | James A Bates
    Minimum 120 days but count on 6 months. This assumes they were all within a ten year period. If you were still on probation, count on even more time. If you are lucky enough to be in LA County you will be out in a very short time.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 2/13/2012
    Law Office of Edward J. Blum
    Law Office of Edward J. Blum | Edward J. Blum
    A third time DUI can be 90-180 days in jail. Depending on the circumstances.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 2/13/2012
    Law Offices of Phil Hache
    Law Offices of Phil Hache | Phil Hache
    There are many variables that can come into play altering the potential sentencing time (ie. Accident, excessive speeding, etc.), but generally speaking, the amount of jail time for a 3rd DUI conviction can range from 120 days to 1 year, and can vary depending on the circumstances involved in the case, the court, and the work done your defense attorney.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 2/13/2012
    LynchLaw
    LynchLaw | Michael Thomas Lynch
    A third DUI, without injury, has a maximum sentence of 1 year in county jail, and a minimum sentence of 120 days in jail.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 2/13/2012
    The Law Office of Stephanie M. Arrache
    The Law Office of Stephanie M. Arrache | Stephanie Arrache
    It really depends on whether your three DUIs all occurred within 10 years. Assuming that they did, then the minimum jail time is 120 days, and a maximum of one year. This will be in county jail. You are looking at substantial fines, which generally amount to a couple thousand dollars. It is likely that there will be a lengthy alcohol class requirement, generally 30 months. You will lose your license for 3 years, but can get a restricted license halfway through. It is highly suggested that you contact a lawyer to try to minimize your exposure and fight this DUI head on.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 2/13/2012
    Law Office of Michael Bialys THE DUI MAN
    Law Office of Michael Bialys THE DUI MAN | Michael Bialys
    The mandatory Minimum is 120 days in jail, however keep in mind that is the minimum not the maximum.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 2/21/2012
    Robert Mortland
    Robert Mortland | Law Office of Robert Mortland
    You could spend up to 1 year in the county jail. However, the standard offer (for low bac) is 120 days (the mandatory minimum). This will likely have to be done in custody.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 2/13/2012
    San Diego DUI Law Center
    San Diego DUI Law Center | Rick Mueller
    Up to one year for the new case, plus 6 to 12 months for each probation violation depending on the court, probation, your lawyer and the facts.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 2/13/2012
    Attorney at Law
    Attorney at Law | Michael J. Kennedy
    Statutory Minimum is 120 days. But lots of those things are fightable, if you have the right attorney.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 2/13/2012
    The Law Firm of Aaron Bortel Esq.
    The Law Firm of Aaron Bortel Esq. | Aaron Bortel
    Max on a first dui without injury is six months. Max on 2nd and 3rd are one year each if no injury.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 2/13/2012
    Law Office of Jeff Yeh
    Law Office of Jeff Yeh | Jeff Yeh
    Minimum is 120 days in county. The maximum is 1 year, but you are also in violation or probation it could be more. Consult a DUI specialist to explore alternatives to pleading guilty, such as a reduction, dismissal, or aquittal of the 3rd one.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 2/13/2012
Click to View More Answers:
12 3 4 Free Legal QuestionsConnect with a local attorney