How much jail time for selling 100 ecstasy pills? 36 Answers as of June 25, 2013

How much time can my 26 year old cousin do if he was caught selling 100 ecstasy pills to an undercover cop?

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Cornish, Crowley, Rockafellow, & Sartz, PLLC
Cornish, Crowley, Rockafellow, & Sartz, PLLC | Jacob Peter Sartz IV
I would recommend your cousin retain an attorney for this matter. This response does not contain specific legal advice. If you need specific legal advice, you should consult with an attorney. Anyone charged has probably been advised of their maximum possible penalties pursuant to state law and they should consult with their attorney to find out the guidelines range for a conviction. Generally, charges stemming from alleged ecstasy distribution result in fairly serious felony charges punishable by significant prison time. If your cousin cannot afford an attorney, the court may appoint you one at the public's expense. You are presumed innocent until proven guilty beyond a reasonable doubt. Only if a person is ultimately convicted or if they plead guilty will they be sentenced.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 10/5/2011
Law Offices of Sean Logue
Law Offices of Sean Logue | Sean Logue
It depends on where the charges are filed. My guess is that depending on his prior criminal record, he is looking at a year at least. He should hire an experienced attorney.
Answer Applies to: Pennsylvania
Replied: 9/19/2011
Jules N. Fiani, Attorney at Law
Jules N. Fiani, Attorney at Law | Jules Fiani
It depends. Jail time varies for this case.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 9/15/2011
Law Office of Ernest T. Biando, LLC | Ernest Biando
Depends where he is being charged-district court or Superior each can sentence differently-District can go up to 2 1/2 years on each charge-Superior much higher.
Answer Applies to: Massachusetts
Replied: 9/14/2011
Austin Legal Services, PLC
Austin Legal Services, PLC | Jared Austin
Delivering drugs is a serious felony offense and prison time, not jail time, is determined based upon the classification of the drugs and how much in terms of grams he was delivering. He could be facing several years and even decades behind bar potentially. Retain an experienced criminal defense attorney as soon as possible.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 9/14/2011
    Law Office of Richard Williams
    Law Office of Richard Williams | Richard Williams
    There is no way to answer your question unless I know if he was arrested and charged by state or federal officials. If charged by State officials sell of a controlled substance is a class b felony and carries a penalty of from 2 to 20 years in prison. if the transaction occurred within three miles of a school zone or housing project the punishment is enchance up to 5 to 20 years. Persons convicted for sell of harmful substances, such as sctasy normally receive a custodial sentence. If the habitual felony offender statute applies the punishment could be significantly enhanced.
    Answer Applies to: Alabama
    Replied: 9/14/2011
    Reza Athari & Associates, PLLC | Riana Durrett
    A potential sentence would depend on the charges filed and whether the State and defendant enter a plea negotiation. In general, a low level drug trafficking charge can carry 1- 6 years and a high level drug trafficking charge can potentially result in a life sentence. Again, the charges vary, for example, the District Attorney's office can choose to charge a defendant with possession with intent to sell and there are numerous factors that could affect a potential sentence.
    Answer Applies to: Nevada
    Replied: 9/14/2011
    Thomas J. Tomko Attorney At law
    Thomas J. Tomko Attorney At law | Thomas J. Tomko
    Jail time in Michigan on State charges will depend on prior convictions and the offense itself. Based on this, sentencing guidelines can be calculated and a prediction of jail time can be made. So without more information, your question cannot be directly answered. I direct you to speak with his attorney to see what the penalties will be in his case. I hope that this was helpful.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 9/14/2011
    Jonathan S. Willett Attorney at Law
    Jonathan S. Willett Attorney at Law | Jonathan S. Willett
    A number of factors contribute to the time he might serve: whether the case is state or federal, whether he has a previous record, whether they have information regarding other sales.
    Answer Applies to: Colorado
    Replied: 9/13/2011
    Law Office of Roianne H. Conner
    Law Office of Roianne H. Conner | Roianne Houlton Conner
    It depends if this is the first incident or if the cousin has a prior record. Trafficking in narcotics without a prior felony carries the penalty of two to twenty years.
    Answer Applies to: Alabama
    Replied: 9/13/2011
    Law Office of Phillip Weiser
    Law Office of Phillip Weiser | Phillip L. Weiser
    The grid shows a range of imprisonment for drug sales, a severity level 3 drug felony, as from 14 to 51 months depending upon the defendant's personal criminal history.
    Answer Applies to: Kansas
    Replied: 9/13/2011
    Law Office of Eric Sterkenburg
    Law Office of Eric Sterkenburg | Eric Sterkenburg
    The sale of a controlled substance if charged as a felony carries a punishment in state prison of three, four of five years. Your cousin needs an attorney before making a statement to the police or talking to anyone about his case. As all criminal cases are fact based an attorney should be consulted to evaluate all the facts.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 10/3/2011
    The Law Office of Cindy Barton
    The Law Office of Cindy Barton | Cindy Barton
    That is a depends question.It depends on whether or not your cousin has any prior drug charges.Selling drugs is usually at least one degree higher than using. Possession of ecstasy is a Third Degree felony, Selling is a Second.If he has any prior Distribution convictions it can be put up to a First Degree Felony.If he is sent to prison on the conviction a Third Degree felony has a penalty of 0-5 years in the prison, Second is 1-15 years in the prison and a First 5-to life.Drug charges can also be enhanced if the sale is within 1000 feet of a school, church or public park.
    Answer Applies to: Utah
    Replied: 9/13/2011
    Law Offices of John Carney
    Law Offices of John Carney | John Carney
    You can do up to 9 years on a B felony drug case, but most first offenders get probation, or a drug program.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 9/13/2011
    D T Pham Associates, PLLC
    D T Pham Associates, PLLC | Duncan T Pham
    2 to 20 years TDC.
    Answer Applies to: Texas
    Replied: 6/25/2013
    Theodore W. Robinson, P.C.
    Theodore W. Robinson, P.C. | Theodore W. Robinson
    It will depend upon a lot of things, including any prior convictions, how well they really can prove what he did andwhat judge he winds up in front of - and a whole lot more. I strongly suggest his family hire the best criminal defense lawyer they can find and defend the case. There are also Drug Courts today that allow him to completely avoid jail and a conviction for anything, but thosetake a lot of time and attention, but it can be done under the right circumstances. Good luck.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 9/13/2011
    Gonzalez Law Associates P.C.
    Gonzalez Law Associates P.C. | Carlos Gonzalez
    It would heavily depend on if he has prior convictions and what those convictions are for. I'd suggest finding him a good attorney as soon as possible!
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 9/13/2011
    Craig W. Elhart, P.C.
    Craig W. Elhart, P.C. | Craig Elhart
    His actual sentence after being found guilty would depend on his criminal background and other factors that are taken into consideration during the pre-sentence investigation.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 9/13/2011
    Watkins Law Office
    Watkins Law Office | Bob Watkins
    Sentencing is dependent on the crime committed and prior record. Even with no record, 100 pills could carry a stiff penalty.
    Answer Applies to: New Hampshire
    Replied: 9/13/2011
    Law Office of Jared Altman
    Law Office of Jared Altman | Jared Altman
    I am not sure what the maximum penalty is, which he probably won't get anyway. Alot depends on his record, what the prosecutor asks for and the judge.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 9/13/2011
    The Law Office of B. Elaine Jones
    The Law Office of B. Elaine Jones | B. Elaine Jones
    It is a third degree felony punishable by up to 5 years in prison. If you are a first time offender you may be able to get no jail time, probation and the drug program probably. It depends on if you have any priors. If you have priors it gets added into your scoresheet but the maximum is 5 years.
    Answer Applies to: Florida
    Replied: 9/13/2011
    Michael Breczinski
    Michael Breczinski | Michael Breczinski
    Selling ectasy does not bring jail. It carries possible prison time. He needs an attorney.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 9/13/2011
    Law Office of Joe Dane
    Law Office of Joe Dane | Joe Dane
    He's looking at sales of a controlled substance under Health and Safety code section 11379. He faces up to 4 years in state prison. That's not what he will get necessarily, just what he faces. He could get anything from probation and no jail time up to state prison. He's still looking at a felony drug charge that cannot be reduced to a misdemeanor and will haunt him for years to come. He absolutely needs a good, local criminal defense attorney that routinely practices in the court where his case will be heard.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 9/13/2011
    Betts Legal Services
    Betts Legal Services | Shawn M. Betts
    Generally if the charge is a first time offense, the amount, at least when it comes to ecstasy, doesn't change the fact that the charge will still likely be a 5th degree Violation of Controlled Substance charge, which in most jurisdictions does not result in a lot of jail time, but penalties can vary.
    Answer Applies to: Minnesota
    Replied: 9/13/2011
    Michael R. Nack, Attorney at Law
    Michael R. Nack, Attorney at Law | Michael R. Nack
    This would be a Class C Felony which carries up to seven years in prison.
    Answer Applies to: Missouri
    Replied: 9/13/2011
    Lawrence Lewis
    Lawrence Lewis | Lawrence Lewis, PC
    That amount is a trafficking amount with a mandatory minimum number of years in prison. The maximum is thirty (30) years.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 9/13/2011
    Law Offices of Martina A. Vigil, PC
    Law Offices of Martina A. Vigil, PC | Martina A. Vigil
    Possession with intent to sell is taken very serious in California. It is charged as a felony and, therefore, a drug program in lieu of jail will probably not be offered. Registration as a drug offender is often required and the defendant is likely to do some jail time especially if this is not his first offense. Felonies are crimes where the punishment is more than 365 days in jail. If convicted, your cousin could be looking at some prison time.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 9/13/2011
    Law Office of James A Schoenberger
    Law Office of James A Schoenberger | James A Schoenberger
    It depends on many factors including his criminal history and whether he is charged with possession or possession with intent to deliver. The statutory maximum term for a class C felony is 5 years.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 9/13/2011
    Freeborn Law Offices, P.S.
    Freeborn Law Offices, P.S. | Steve Freeborn
    It depends upon your cousin's criminal history and the facts of the particular case. Probably a minimum of 4 years. Best to consult with an attorney.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 9/13/2011
    Andersen Law PLLC
    Andersen Law PLLC | Craig Andersen
    That depends on whether he or she has a prior criminal record. For a complete sentencing range, go online and search the Washington Adult Felony Sentencing Standards and you can input your cousin's information to obtain a standard sentencing range for possession of 3,4, MDMA with intent to deliver or delivery of 3,4, MDMA. Make sure you include any sentencing enhancements such as whether the sale took place on Scholl grounds or at a school bus stop. Also, if your cousin was armed, there will be a mandatory minimum of time for being armed. Additionally, law enforcement may offer the option of your cousin acting as an informant. Your cousin should consider the potential risks and benefits carefully and consult an experienced drug defense attorney because I view such informant contracts as being very one-sided and full of pitfalls. There are dangers in being a snitch and your cousin should know and understand the risks.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 9/13/2011
    Connell-Savela
    Connell-Savela | Jason Savela
    It depends on Federal or State charges. It depends on his prior record and current status (such as on probation, bond, parole) But, if it is a state crime, with no priors, it is either minimum of 4-12 years prison or minimum of 8-24 years of prison. These are the ranges and they must be in prison if convicted of distribution of one ounce but less than 450 grams, and 450 grams or more, respectively. If a gun was involved, more.
    Answer Applies to: Colorado
    Replied: 9/13/2011
    Harrison & Harrison
    Harrison & Harrison | Samuel Harrison
    100 pills of ecstasyon a hand to hand sale is BIG trouble. Ecstacy (3,4-methylenedioxymethamphetamine) is a Schedule I controlled substance. For a first time sale the punishmentis from 5 to 30 years.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 9/13/2011
    Miller & Harrison, LLC
    Miller & Harrison, LLC | David Harrison
    Often such cases can be worked out without any jail time, depending on the exact facts, your cousin's criminal history and the county the offense took place in. Hiring the right lawyer could help in avoiding jail time.
    Answer Applies to: Colorado
    Replied: 9/13/2011
    Law Office of Daniel K Martin
    Law Office of Daniel K Martin | Daniel K Martin
    The answer to this question depends on whether he is prosecuted in federal court or state court. In California state court maximum is four years. If this is his first offense it is possible for him to get probation and a year in county jail.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 9/13/2011
    Law Offices of Elliott Zarabi
    Law Offices of Elliott Zarabi | Elliott Zarabi
    He is looking at anywhere between 2 - 5 years in state prison, maybe more depending on the charges, maybe less. This all depends on his background, ect... You really won't know until you know what the charges are and if he has priors.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 9/13/2011
Click to View More Answers:
12 3 4 5 6 7 Free Legal QuestionsConnect with a local attorney