Graves Law Firm | Steve Graves
I don't recognize the term "extreme DUI" as having a specific legal meaning in Texas, but if there was no accident and excessive speed is the only issue, maybe no jail time. Plus, if you'll make sure this is your ONLY offense (and specifically your only alcohol offense, you can eventually get it expunged from your record under a not-too-well-known provision of the Texas Alcoholic Beverages Code.
Answer Applies to: Texas
Gregory Casale Attorney at Law | Gregory Casale
If you are under 21 and blow .20 or greater, you can receive no less than a 210 day loss of license, 1 year of probation and a specially designed driver alcohol treatment and rehabilitation program called the "14-day second offender in-home program."
Answer Applies to: Massachusetts
Germaine & Blaszka, P.A. | Donald L. Blaszka, Jr.
In NH, a first time offender under the age of 20 faces the following mandatory sentence: $500 fine + $120 penalty assessment, 1 year loss of license, Impaired Driver Intervention Program - in NH, you must successfully complete the program and any recommended aftercare in order to get your license reinstated.
Answer Applies to: New Hampshire
Anderson Law Office | Scott L. Anderson
You would have to define extreme DUI. If you mean a high reading of .20 or more you could be looking at jail time in MN. If you are talking about some type of DUI with injury then you could be dealing with a felony situation and prison time.
Answer Applies to: Minnesota
Nelson & Lawless | Terry Nelson
Max is one year. What WILL happen is up to your attorney to negotiate in a plea bargain. First offense generally can avoid jail, but the more extreme the violation and blood alcohol, the more concern you should have about jail. A little free advice: When arrested for DUI, whether alcohol or drugs, then upon release from jail or booking the defendant is given documents that include a notice that you have only ten days to file a request with DMV for a hearing on an appeal of the automatic suspension of your license imposed by DMV upon your arrest. That is separate and runs consecutively with any suspension that may be imposed by the DMV, or the court upon conviction. Contact DMV and do so, timely if you think you have grounds for appeal, then appear at the scheduled DMV appeal hearing and present any supporting evidence and testimony. If you don't know how to do these things effectively, then hire an attorney that does. When arrested or charged with any crime, the proper questions are, can you be convicted, and what can you do? Effective plea-bargaining, using those defenses, could possibly reduce the potential time and other penalties you face. If you don't know how to represent yourself effectively against an experienced prosecutor intending to convict, then hire an attorney who does, who will try to get a dismissal, charge reduction, diversion, program, or other decent outcome through plea bargain, or take it to trial if appropriate.
Answer Applies to: California
Timothy J. Thill P.C. | Timothy J. Thill
If this happened in Illinois, you could get up to a year in jail if charged with DUI. If you were charged with Aggravated DUI, a felony, you could get 1-3 years in prison. I have never heard of the term: extreme DUI, however.
Answer Applies to: Illinois
Law Office of Jeff Yeh | Jeff Yeh
Not sure what you mean by extreme DUI, but the statutory max for a 1st DUI is 6 months, and since your are a minor you face more severe consequences in terms of license suspension. You need to hire a DUI specialist ASAP because you have only 10 days to save your license.
Answer Applies to: California
Law Office of Patrick Lewis, LLC | Patrick M. Lewis
In Kansas there is nothing defined as an "extreme" DUI. First offense DUI is a class B misdemeanor and the maximum sentence is six months in jail and a fine of $1,000. There are also possible license consequences.
Answer Applies to: Kansas
Law & Mediation Office of Jeffrey L. Pollock, Esq. | Jeffrey Lawrence Pollock
Depending upon what state you are in and what "extreme" means, you still should be eligible for probation.
Answer Applies to: Pennsylvania
Law Offices of John Carney | John Carney
I have no information about the facts and circumstances of your case. You should retain a good criminal lawyer or call my office for a consultation. Unless you injured someone you will get 3 years probation, counseling, and a 6 month revocation if convicted of the DWI. You will not go to jail for a first offense without an injury accident.
Answer Applies to: New York
Andersen Law PLLC | Craig Andersen
That depends on several factors including whether you took a breath test, your breath-alcohol level, whether there was an accident and whether there were injuries. If by extreme you mean .15 or over, you would be looking at a minimum of two days in jail and a maximum of 364 days in jail. The most-likely sentence would be two days.
Answer Applies to: Washington