How much is the fine for a 1st offense dui that's going to be lowered to a dry reckless? 56 Answers as of July 08, 2013

I was charged with my 1st dui and it's going to be dropped down to a dry reckless, as long as I do what the court requires me to do. I'd like to know how much the fines are and is there probation?

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
The Short Law Group, P.C.
The Short Law Group, P.C. | Shawn Kollie
Under Oregon Law a DUI may not be reduced to a Reckless Drive (or any lesser offense) by the district attorney. However, if the state does not believe they have the appropriate facts for a DUI Conviction, often times they will dismiss the DUI and still charge the Reckless Driving. The Reckless Drive is still a Class A Misdemeanor with a maximum of 1 year in jail and a $6,250 fine. There is no mandatory minimum on the fine, so it will be up to the prosecuting attorney and the court.
Answer Applies to: Oregon
Replied: 8/8/2012
Edward  D. Dowling IV Attorney at Law
Edward D. Dowling IV Attorney at Law | Edward D. Dowling IV
The amount of the fines will depend on what your attorney and the prosecutor can work out and if the judge agrees to it.
Answer Applies to: New York
Replied: 7/31/2012
Law Office of Phillip Weiser
Law Office of Phillip Weiser | Phillip L. Weiser
A first offense DUI can carry a fine from $750 to $1000.
Answer Applies to: Kansas
Replied: 7/27/2012
Mark Thiessen, Attorney at Law
Mark Thiessen, Attorney at Law | Mark Thiessen
We don't have dry reckless in Texas. Sorry, don't know.
Answer Applies to: Texas
Replied: 7/8/2013
Law Offices of Phil Hache
Law Offices of Phil Hache | Phil Hache
A dry reckless is a misdemeanor, so generally there is still probation involved. The terms of a dry reckless plea agreement can vary from court to court, and from case to case. You should check with your attorney to disclose what teh terms of the deal are if successful. Good luck.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 7/26/2012
    THE LOCKHART LAW FIRM | CLAYTON LOCKHART
    You will have to contact the court clerk to find out what the fine is for whatever the conviction turns out to be. The judge is the sole person to determine if there is going to be any probation to complete as a part of your sentencing.
    Answer Applies to: Mississippi
    Replied: 7/26/2012
    Dennis Roberts, a P.C.
    Dennis Roberts, a P.C. | Dennis Roberts
    DUI is about $1200 plus costs. Dry reckless is MUCH MUCH cheaper.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/26/2012
    Timothy J. Thill P.C.
    Timothy J. Thill P.C. | Timothy J. Thill
    You should receive a probationary sentence, I doubt you will be facing any jail sentence. Fines and costs are set by the prosecuting attorney and ultimately, the judge will decide what is an appropriate fine, in your case, but be aware that $1000.00 is certainly not out of the question, perhaps more, and there will also be court costs imposed.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 7/26/2012
    Nelson & Lawless
    Nelson & Lawless | Terry Nelson
    Entirely up to the terms of your plea bargain with the DA or judge. If you entered a plea without knowing that, you'll learn the answer from the judge at sentencing, or from the sentencing & probation report.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/26/2012
    Law office of Robert D. Scott | Robert Scott
    You face incarceration for 90 days or more for Reckless Driving, plus several hundred dollars in fines. Also your driving privilege may be in jeopardy with MVA. Probation may be an option.
    Answer Applies to: Maryland
    Replied: 7/26/2012
    Reeves Law Firm, P.C.
    Reeves Law Firm, P.C. | Roy L. Reeves
    Reckless driving is a Class C offense in Texas, maximum fine of $500 and no jail time.
    Answer Applies to: Texas
    Replied: 7/26/2012
    Anderson Law Office
    Anderson Law Office | Scott L. Anderson
    Since you have a resolution as to the charge it will be negotiated as to the fine. The maximum for a reckless driving is $1000.00.
    Answer Applies to: Minnesota
    Replied: 7/26/2012
    Michael E. Jones, P.S. | Michael E. Jones
    Fines all depend on the local jurisdiction. Seek advse from a local attorney. Typical fines for reckless are $200-$500, however the cost and assesment may raise the total to several thousand dollars, including a charge for the usual probation progam.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 7/26/2012
    Larry K. Dunn & Associates | Larry K. Dunn
    Unlike a DUI conviction which carries a minimum fine, Reckless Driving (there is no actual designated "dry" reckless in Nevada), like all misdemeanors, carries a range of fines from nothing to $1,000. Some courts follow an informal guideline and impose between $300 and $500 fines plus court costs and fees. Your attorney or even court personnel if you do not have an attorney, can advise what the particular court typically imposes for fines on a Reckless Driving. A court may impose a period of supervision, like an informal probation,for up to 2 years. Again your attorney or court personnel can advise what the particular judge does typically.
    Answer Applies to: Nevada
    Replied: 7/26/2012
    Beaulier Law Office
    Beaulier Law Office | Maury Beaulier
    The fine is in the discretion of the Court but, on a Misdemeanor charge, may be as high as $1000. Probation is usually one year.
    Answer Applies to: Minnesota
    Replied: 7/26/2012
    Law Office of George M. Derieg
    Law Office of George M. Derieg | George Derieg
    Hmm, it depends on the county really. Generally the fines are anywhere from a few hundred to a thousand dollars. With a dr reckless you are required to complete a mandatory minimum 5 days county jail or alternate sentencing program. It's usually two years of probation, with a maximum exposure of 90 days in county jail as opposed to the 6month maximum of a first time dui. It is a very good result, you should be very happy.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/25/2012
    Conway Law Pllc.
    Conway Law Pllc. | B. L. Conway
    You are looking at up to a year in Jail, w/ license suspension, and a $2500 fine.
    Answer Applies to: Virginia
    Replied: 7/25/2012
    Law Office of Jeff Yeh
    Law Office of Jeff Yeh | Jeff Yeh
    It depends what your lawyer was able to work out for you. It could be zero up to 3 years in probation, and the fines could be the same as a DUI, or much lower.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/25/2012
    Law Offices of Marshall Tauber
    Law Offices of Marshall Tauber | Marshall Tauber
    Probation: Yes Fine: Up to $500,00 plus court costs up to $500.00 could be less.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 7/25/2012
    Durkin & Graham, P.C.
    Durkin & Graham, P.C. | Joan Durkin
    As part of the plea negotiations that likely lead to the reduced charge; any fines, court costs, or probation time would be part of the same plea/judgment. There is not a standard fine for a DWI.
    Answer Applies to: Texas
    Replied: 7/25/2012
    William C. Gosnell, Attorney at Law
    William C. Gosnell, Attorney at Law | William C. Gosnell
    That would be $500.00.
    Answer Applies to: Tennessee
    Replied: 7/25/2012
    Kevin Bessant
    Kevin Bessant | Kevin Bessant
    A reckless driving offense is a misdemeanor offense with a fine amount up to $500.00 and six points on your drivers license. Because it is a criminal offense, the judge can issue probation.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 7/25/2012
    Freeborn Law Offices, P.S.
    Freeborn Law Offices, P.S. | Steve Freeborn
    Fines will approximate $800.00. If the court orders probation, probation costs may vary. You can figure about 1200 - 1400 overt he 2 year probation period.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 7/25/2012
    Salladay Law Office | Lance Salladay
    The fine is up to the court- the maximum fine would be $1000- the reasonable expectation would be in the area of $300 although with it having been initially a DUI it is possible that the fine could be more- and the court will add court costs to the fine. Court costs run about $130.
    Answer Applies to: Idaho
    Replied: 7/25/2012
    Law Offices of Sharp and Driver | Matt Sharp
    Reckless Driving is punishable by up to 30 days in jail, and up to a $200 fine.
    Answer Applies to: Texas
    Replied: 7/25/2012
    Law Offices of Mark L. Smith
    Law Offices of Mark L. Smith | Mark L. Smith
    Reckless is a $250.00 fine and court costs are just under $50.00.
    Answer Applies to: Rhode Island
    Replied: 7/25/2012
    Myles Hahn III Attorney at Law | Myles Hahn III
    Question One is How do you know "that it will be dropped down to a dry reckless"? Is it like a case of someone you know? Do you have an attorney already? Either way, you are playing with fire. Either listen to your current counsel or get someone else qualified to represent you. THEN start asking questions of what can happen.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 7/25/2012
    Lawrence Lewis
    Lawrence Lewis | Lawrence Lewis, PC
    Contact the prosecutor or lawyer that negotiated the plea for you to get this information.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 7/8/2013
    Klisz Law Office, PLLC
    Klisz Law Office, PLLC | Timothy J. Klisz
    Yes to probation. Fines and total costs are probably well over $2000, but each court is a little different.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 7/25/2012
    Law Office of Richard Williams
    Law Office of Richard Williams | Richard Williams
    I do not have sufficient information to answer your question. It appears that you have received notice that you will be pleading to a charge of reckless driving in lieu of DUI. Reckless driving is not a lesser included offense to DUI. It is a separate offense altogether. If this matter is in a municipal court the court could impose a fine of up to $500.00 and sentence you up to six (6) months in jail on a reckless driving.
    Answer Applies to: Alabama
    Replied: 7/25/2012
    Douglas M. Philpott, P.C. | Peter J. Philpott
    The fine is up to 500 plus court costs and you may get probation to see that you complete the same programs you would have to for the owi.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 7/25/2012
    LynchLaw
    LynchLaw | Michael Thomas Lynch
    The maximum fine for "dry" reckless driving is $1000. The minimum fine is $145.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/25/2012
    Glass Defense Firm
    Glass Defense Firm | Jason M. Glass
    The fines on a reckless driving range from $50- $500.
    Answer Applies to: West Virginia
    Replied: 7/25/2012
    Leonard A. Kaanta, P.C. | Leonard A. Kaanta
    The fine is $500, but there are also other fees such as oversight fees etc that bring up to over a $1000 plus suspension of your license.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 7/25/2012
    Law Office of Charles J. Block
    Law Office of Charles J. Block | Charles J. Block
    Do not know what a dry reckless is - does not exist in New Jersey.
    Answer Applies to: New Jersey
    Replied: 7/25/2012
    Palumbo and Kosofsky
    Palumbo and Kosofsky | Michael Palumbo
    "Dry reckless?" What is that?
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 7/8/2013
    Law Office of Michael E. Dailey
    Law Office of Michael E. Dailey | Michael E. Dailey
    What you have described is a negotiated plea for amendment and a concurrent plea of guilty based on a recommendation by the prosecutor. The recommendation will be specific as to the fines, costs and probation with conditions if any. You had better know the exact details of that plea before you enter into the deal. There is no special requirement for these considerations and they vary widely in the state.. Check this out with your lawyer or get one before you walk into something that may have very bad long term consequences.
    Answer Applies to: Missouri
    Replied: 7/25/2012
    Barr, Jones & Associates LLP
    Barr, Jones & Associates LLP | Andrew D. Jones
    If it is the fourth degree misdemeanor reckless then the max fine is 250 plus court costs and probation is possible.
    Answer Applies to: Ohio
    Replied: 7/25/2012
    Healan Law Offices
    Healan Law Offices | William D. Healan, III
    Every court is different.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 7/24/2012
    Germaine & Blaszka, P.A.
    Germaine & Blaszka, P.A. | Donald L. Blaszka, Jr.
    In NH, there is no such thing as a dry Reckless - it is just Reckless Operation. The minimum fine is $500 plus $120 penalty assessment.
    Answer Applies to: New Hampshire
    Replied: 7/24/2012
    Austin Hirschhorn, P.C.
    Austin Hirschhorn, P.C. | Austin Hirschhorn
    You should check with the clerk of the court where your case is pending to find out it they have a standard penalty, or with the clerk of the judge in that court who has your case who can fill you in on what the court does on those cases. You should also inquire about the other things the judge requires as part of the plea bargain you have arranged. It would be unusual in my experience if the judge did not put you on probation.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 7/24/2012
    Clos, Russell & Wirth, P.C. | Gary A. Russell
    The maximum fine for either a first offense drunk driving (provided not a super drunk driving) and reckless driving are one and the same: $500.00. In addition, the court will order that you pay fines, administrative fees, supervision fees if sentenced to probation (which is almost certain), driver responsibility fees paid to the state, alcohol evaluation fees, cost of arrest, payment of public defender (if one was appointed).
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 7/24/2012
    Law Offices of Steven J. Pisani
    Law Offices of Steven J. Pisani | Steven Pisani
    The max fine on Reckless Driving charge is $300.
    Answer Applies to: Colorado
    Replied: 7/24/2012
    Steven Alpers | Steven Alpers
    That is up to the Judge and DA as part of a plea bargain so speak to your lawyer.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/24/2012
    Law Office of James J. Rosenberger | James Joseph Rosenberger
    $825 fine or close, depending on how the deal is worked out. That's the mandatory first time DUI fine but they (prosecutor) may still want that for the Reckless. Probation, either supervised or unsupervised as well, for which there is an additional significant cost to you.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 7/24/2012
    Law Office of Bernal Peter Ojeda | Bernal Peter Ojeda
    Fines could be around $1,500.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/24/2012
    Pietryga Law Office | Russ Pietryga
    Because it has been reduced to a reckless driving there is no longer a mandatory fine. Wherefore it is a class B misdemeanor. Class B misdemeanors are punishable as follows; imprisonment not to exceed 6 months and a fine not to exceed $1,000+90% surcharge. Usually, the court will order bench probation for a year. The terms of probation will probably be as follows: pay the fine and do not get any similar offense for a year. Note, a reckless driving also puts points on your driver's license. Hope this helps.
    Answer Applies to: Utah
    Replied: 7/24/2012
    Christensen Corbett & Pankratz
    Christensen Corbett & Pankratz | Craig L. Pankratz
    The fine depends on the judge. However, reckless driving is a class B misdemeanor that carries a fine up to $1,000 plus surcharges.
    Answer Applies to: Utah
    Replied: 7/24/2012
    Fairlie & Lippy, P.C.
    Fairlie & Lippy, P.C. | Steven Fairlie
    If it is dropped to reckless your fine can't exceed $300, so you are saving a ton over the cost of the DUI fine.
    Answer Applies to: Pennsylvania
    Replied: 7/24/2012
    R. Jason de Groot, P.A
    R. Jason de Groot, P.A | R. Jason de Groot
    This is the type of question that you should ask to the attorney who represents you. The fine in a first time dui can be from 500 to 1000, if the bal was below .15 if there was no minor in the car, and from 1000 to 2000 if it was over that or a minor was in the car.
    Answer Applies to: Florida
    Replied: 7/24/2012
    Law Office of Ronald G. Draper | Ronald G. Draper
    You will have to wait to get back in court to know the fines and court cost imposed.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 7/24/2012
    Law Office of Gregory Crain | Gregory Crain
    You should ask the court clerk.
    Answer Applies to: Arkansas
    Replied: 7/24/2012
    Law Offices of John Carney
    Law Offices of John Carney | John Carney
    That is not a term used in New York State. It is used in California and other states, In New York you are either convicted of DWI or DWAI, a violation. The DWI can be a year in jail or less, a DWAI first offense will almost never be a jail term. You will be suspended for 90 days on a DWAI and 6 moths on a DWI.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 7/24/2012
Click to View More Answers:
12 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Free Legal QuestionsConnect with a local attorney

Need more information on drunk driving law? Visit our free DUI resource page to learn more.

If you need immediate assistance, fill out a free case evaluation form to connect with a DUI lawyer in your area today!