How long will my license be suspended for a DUI? 37 Answers as of May 30, 2013

How long will my license get suspended? Is there a way to reduce the time for license supsension?

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Cornish, Crowley, Rockafellow, & Sartz, PLLC
Cornish, Crowley, Rockafellow, & Sartz, PLLC | Jacob Peter Sartz IV
It depends on your prior history.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 6/25/2012
The Short Law Group, P.C.
The Short Law Group, P.C. | Shawn Kollie
Under Oregon Law there are several reasons for a suspension. First, the DMV will suspend a license for 90 days with a BAC test over .08, or 1 year for a refusal. A DUI conviction will lead to a 1 year suspension (for the first conviction) but this can run concurrent to the DMV suspension. With additional conviction you may fall under the "habitual offender" suspension, or worst of all have a "lifetime suspension" which means you are suspended for 10 years. The only way to drive during this time is with a Hardship/Probationary Permit (if you qualify) but this is only valid in Oregon. Talk with a knowledgeable DUI Lawyer with the details of your situation.
Answer Applies to: Oregon
Replied: 4/20/2012
Freeborn Law Offices, P.S.
Freeborn Law Offices, P.S. | Steve Freeborn
It depends upon what you have on your record and what number DUI this is. If it is your first offense, license suspension is 90 days. You may be eligible for an occupational permit after 30 days. My advise: hire an attorney.
Answer Applies to: Washington
Replied: 4/10/2012
Law Office of Phillip Weiser
Law Office of Phillip Weiser | Phillip L. Weiser
This answer depends upon how may prior occurrences you have on your record. Anywhere from 30 days to several years.
Answer Applies to: Kansas
Replied: 4/9/2012
Law Office of Michael R. Garber
Law Office of Michael R. Garber | Michael R. Garber
How long your license is suspended depends on why it was suspended (whether you failed the breath test or refused it). It's suspended longer for a refusal. The suspension can't be reduced but you may qualify for a restricted driver's license to get to work and back.
Answer Applies to: Louisiana
Replied: 4/9/2012
    Law Office of Richard Williams
    Law Office of Richard Williams | Richard Williams
    The normal time for suspension of a first time DUI is up to 90 days. The suspension is by the Alabama Department of Public Safety. The form that suspended your driving license should have included instructions for you to request an administrative hearing to contest the suspension of your driving privileges.
    Answer Applies to: Alabama
    Replied: 4/9/2012
    Cody W. Gibson, Attorney at Law, PLLC
    Cody W. Gibson, Attorney at Law, PLLC | Cody W. Gibson
    Usually it is around 3 months. You may petition the court to appeal the suspension for a hardship license, which would allow limited driving for example driving to work, but you will need an attorney to file this.
    Answer Applies to: Mississippi
    Replied: 4/9/2012
    Toivonen Law Office | John Toivonen
    If this is your first DUI you could lose your license for up to 6 months, and face up to 93 days in jail. While most first time intoxicated drivers do not serve time, you can be sentenced to jail. If you have a .17 BAC of higher you will have your license suspended for a year. After 45 days you are eligible for a restriced license provided that an ignition lock is installed on your car. A subsequent offense within 7 years of your first offense results in suspension of your license for a year. Any intoxicated driving offense will result is a Driver Responsibility Fee of $1,000 or more. The third offense is a felony for which you will be sentenced to serve time. If you have a good attorney for a third offense most of that time may be spent in a drug rehabilitation center.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 4/9/2012
    Law Office of Brendan M. Kelly
    Law Office of Brendan M. Kelly | Brendan M. Kelly
    On a first offense you lose it from DMV for 6 months, from the court it is sixty days. You should be able to drive on a first as soon as you get an interlock license.
    Answer Applies to: Nebraska
    Replied: 4/6/2012
    Hynum Law Office, LLC
    Hynum Law Office, LLC | G. Wayne Hynum
    On conviction for a first offense DUI your driver's license is suspended for at least 90 days, possibly longer if you do not complete the alcohol safety course within the 90 days. On a first offense DUI you can apply for a hardship permit with the Circuit Court if you need to drive to; (1) continue your employment, (2) continue attending school or an educational institution, or (3) to obtain necessary medical care. However, the Court cannot grant the hardship permit until your license has been suspended at least 30 days. The license suspensions are longer for second and third offense DUI and you cannot get a hardship permit on a second or third DUI.
    Answer Applies to: Mississippi
    Replied: 4/6/2012
    Glass Defense Firm
    Glass Defense Firm | Jason M. Glass
    It depends on the offense level. On a first offense under .15, it is a 6 month suspension dropped to 90 days once the classes are completed. If you want it further reduced you can get on the interlock program which has you driving after 15 days. If over .15, it is a 45 day suspension followed by 9 months of interlock. For any subsequent offense, it is a one year suspension, no way to reduce, followed by mandatory interlock participation.
    Answer Applies to: West Virginia
    Replied: 4/6/2012
    Law Office of Jared Altman
    Law Office of Jared Altman | Jared Altman
    Driving While Impaired: suspended ninety days. Driving While Intioxicated: revoked six months. No shortening. But, limited driving privileges can be gotten.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 4/6/2012
    Goodgame Law, LLC
    Goodgame Law, LLC | Jeffrey L Goodgame
    Generally your license will be suspended for 45 days for a first offense. You should consult an attorney that will be able to challenge the license suspension. In most cases, a skilled attorney will be able to reduce the suspension duration.
    Answer Applies to: Alabama
    Replied: 4/6/2012
    Aaron Black Law
    Aaron Black Law | Aaron Black
    In AZ a first time DUI is 90 day suspension.
    Answer Applies to: Arizona
    Replied: 4/7/2012
    Law Offices of John Carney
    Law Offices of John Carney | John Carney
    Your license will be revoked for 6 months on a DWI and suspended for 90 days on a DWUI violation for a first offense if you are over 21 years old. You can get into the Drinking and Driving Program and get a conditional license or apply to DMV for a hardship license. Your lawyer should have explained all of this to you and he can advise you on how to proceed.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 4/6/2012
    Law Office of Eric Sterkenburg
    Law Office of Eric Sterkenburg | Eric Sterkenburg
    If you are 21 years of age or older, took a blood or breath test, or (if applicable) a urine test, and the results showed 0.08% BAC or more: A first offense will result in a 4-month suspension. A second or subsequent offense within 10 years will result in a 1-year suspension. If you are under 21 year of age, took a preliminary alcohol screening (PAS) test or other chemical test and results showed 0.01% BAC or more, your driving privilege will be suspended for 1 year.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 4/6/2012
    Michael Breczinski
    Michael Breczinski | Michael Breczinski
    You will have your license suspended by the Secretary of State for at least 90 days and can be up to revocation dending on your driving record. No you usually can't get it shortened.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 4/6/2012
    San Diego DUI Law Center
    San Diego DUI Law Center | Rick Mueller
    Depends on if first DUI or subsequent, if refusal, if drugs, if under or over 21, etc.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 4/6/2012
    Nelson & Lawless
    Nelson & Lawless | Terry Nelson
    When arrested for DUI, whether alcohol or drugs, then upon release from jail or booking the defendant is given documents that include a notice that you have only ten days to file a request with DMV for a hearing on an appeal of an automatic one year suspension of your license imposed by DMV. That is separate and runs consecutively with any suspension that may be imposed by the court. Contact DMV and do so, timely, then appear at your scheduled DMV appeal hearing and present any supporting evidence and testimony. If you don't know how to do these things effectively, then hire an attorney that does.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 4/6/2012
    Law Offices of Matthew Murillo
    Law Offices of Matthew Murillo | Matthew Murillo
    Depends. A first time offense can be for 4 months to a year depending on whether or not you refused a chemical test. A 2d offense would be a minimum of 1 year, while a 3rd offense could be 2 years. If you are still within the 10 day window (from date of arrest) to request a DMV hearing, I would strongly urge you to contact an attorney to discuss your case immediately.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 4/6/2012
    Law Office of Gregory Crain | Gregory Crain
    For less than .15 four months. For more than .15, 6 months. You can see if you qualify for a permit or interlock device.
    Answer Applies to: Arkansas
    Replied: 4/6/2012
    Miller & Harrison, LLC
    Miller & Harrison, LLC | David Harrison
    There are some variables in answering this. If you refused a test, on the first offense it is a one year revocation, if you took a test and the result was over .08 then the revocation is for 9 months but you can 'early reinstate' after 1 month by putting an 'interlock' device on your car. Second and subsequent offenses require lengthier revocations.
    Answer Applies to: Colorado
    Replied: 4/6/2012
    Cynthia Henley, Lawyer
    Cynthia Henley, Lawyer | Cynthia Henley
    Depends on prior alcohol related history, breath test refusal or failure, outcome of DWI.
    Answer Applies to: Texas
    Replied: 5/30/2013
    Law Office of Richard Southard
    Law Office of Richard Southard | Richard C Southard
    If your BAC is above .08 it will be suspended during the pendency of the prosecution. If you are convicted of driving while impaired it will likely be a 90 day suspension, if you are convicted of driving while intoxicated it is a 6-12 month license revocation; if you refused to blow, and lose the refusal hearing, it is a 12 month revocation.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 4/6/2012
    Lawrence Lewis
    Lawrence Lewis | Lawrence Lewis, PC
    It depends on number of convictions, was itadminsitratively dismissed, or as a result of the conviction.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 4/6/2012
    Law Office of Jeff Yeh
    Law Office of Jeff Yeh | Jeff Yeh
    The suspension ranges from 4 - 10 months. It cannot be avoided if you plead to a DUI. That's why it is a good idea to consult a DUI Specialist about not pleading to a DUI in the first place. A reduction in charge is what you need.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 4/6/2012
    H. Scott Basham, Attorney at Law, P.C. | H. Scott Basham
    Typically you can expect at least a 4 month suspension on a first offense.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 4/6/2012
    Law Offices of Stephanie Lee Ehrbright, Esq.
    Law Offices of Stephanie Lee Ehrbright, Esq. | Stephanie Lee Ehrbright
    If it is your first ever DUI, it is for alcohol, you had a clean driving record before the conviction, and there are no other issues to complicate the matter then the typical suspension is for 90 days. The first 30 you cannot drive anywhere. The last 60 you can apply for a Work Permit if you successfully complete the alcohol treatment screening and classes. That permit will allow you to drive to work, school, probation, treatment meetings, etc. After the suspension is over then you will have to install an interlock device in your vehicle. The length that has to stay in depends on the facts and type of DUI. The typical length though is one year. If you have had previous DUI's, driving issues, or there were other factors involved then the suspension will be longer.
    Answer Applies to: Arizona
    Replied: 4/5/2012
    Charles M. Schiff, Attorney at Law
    Charles M. Schiff, Attorney at Law | Charles M. Schiff
    The length of the license revocation (not suspension) depends on a number of factors, for example: 1. Test result of 0.20% or greater 2. Prior alcohol related convictions or license revocations. In addition, your license may be revoked by the licensing authority and that term may be based upon the above factors as well as "refusal to submit to testing" or "test failure". It is not possible to give you an exact time period without knowing the facts of your case. Your state licensing authority will tell you the length of your revocation and the steps required to get it back.
    Answer Applies to: Minnesota
    Replied: 4/5/2012
    Betts Legal Services
    Betts Legal Services | Shawn M. Betts
    The suspension can be anywhere from 90 days up to a year, depending on your age, the test result, whether you refused, and your prior record. The period is sometimes shortened if you plead guilty however. Contact the Dept. of Pub. Safety and they will tell you how long your suspension is, and whether or not you qualify for a limited license.
    Answer Applies to: Minnesota
    Replied: 4/6/2012
    Gutin and Wolverton
    Gutin and Wolverton | Harley Gutin
    Six months to a year for a first time and up to life time if your fourth. Typically the DL is suspended for one year. If it is your first DUI you may bet a work permit after ?Thirty days of hard time? if you did not refuse the breath test and ninety days of ?hard time? if you did refuse the breath test.
    Answer Applies to: Florida
    Replied: 4/5/2012
    Correia-Champa & Mailhot
    Correia-Champa & Mailhot | Susan Correia Champa
    It depends on if it is a first offense. If it is a first offense it is usually 45 to 90 court suspension. But the Registry of Motor Vehicles will suspend it for 1 year. You can obtain a hardship license if you meet the criteria. This suspension does not take into consideration the suspension for either failing the breathalyzer or refusing to take the breathalyzer.
    Answer Applies to: Massachusetts
    Replied: 4/5/2012
    Robert Mortland
    Robert Mortland | Law Office of Robert Mortland
    a first offense DUI will have a 6 month suspension in most cases.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 4/5/2012
    The Law Offices of Harold L. Wallin | Harold L. Wallin
    For a first offender: six months for a test failure or one year for refusal or inability to complete a test. The suspension can be challenged in court and if you are successful, it will be thrown out. For that you will have to retain an attorney.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 4/5/2012
    The Law Office of Scott M. Aaronson, PLLC | Scott Aaronson
    It depends on how you plea. There is a way to get driving privlidges earlier and pending how you plea, there are ways to reduce the suspension from the original amount of time.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 4/5/2012
Click to View More Answers:
12 3 4 5 6 Free Legal QuestionsConnect with a local attorney

Need more information on drunk driving law? Visit our free DUI resource page to learn more.

If you need immediate assistance, fill out a free case evaluation form to connect with a DUI lawyer in your area today!