How long will my drivers license be suspended after a DUI? 16 Answers as of August 13, 2011

If I get a DUI in California, how long will my DL be suspended?

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Law Office of Mark Bruce
Law Office of Mark Bruce | Mark Corwin Bruce
For a first time DUI, the DMV suspends it 4 months. After 30 days you can apply for a restricted license. But beware: If the DMV suspension is over before the criminal case is over, the DMV might additionally suspend the license when it receives the abstract of judgment.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 8/13/2011
Law Office of Tracey S. Sang
Law Office of Tracey S. Sang | Tracey Sang
Six months. However, after a 30-day hard suspension you are eligible for restricted license. You just need to show the DMV proof of enrollment in the First Conviction Program, SR-22 insurance, and pay a fee. Once you have a restricted license it allows you to drive to and from the class and work (and anything work-related which can be anything.)
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 8/11/2011
Nelson & Lawless
Nelson & Lawless | Terry Nelson
For as long as the court sentences you, either in a plea bargain or after trial. Up to a year on a first DUI. Of course you can fight the charges. When arrested or charged with any crime, the proper questions are, can any evidence obtained in a test, search or confession be used against you, and can you be convicted, and what can you do? Raise all possible defenses with whatever admissible and credible witnesses, evidence, facts and sympathies are available for legal arguments, for evidence suppression or other motions, or at trial. If you don't know how to do these things effectively, then hire an attorney that does, who will try to get a dismissal, diversion, reduction or other decent outcome through plea bargain, or take it to trial if appropriate. If serious about hiring counsel to help in this, and if this is in SoCal courts, feel free to contact me. Ill be happy to help use whatever defenses there may be. Keep in mind a little free advice: When arrested for DUI, whether alcohol or drugs, then upon release from jail or booking the defendant is given documents that include a notice that you have only ten days to file a request with DMV for a hearing on an appeal of an automatic one-year suspension of your license imposed by DMV. That is separate and runs consecutively with any suspension that may be imposed by the court. Contact DMV and do so, timely, then appear at your scheduled DMV appeal hearing and present any supporting evidence and testimony. If you don't know how to do these things, then hire an attorney that does.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 8/11/2011
A.L.A. Law Group, LLP
A.L.A. Law Group, LLP | Lauren M. Mayfield
If you lose the DMV hearing or you fail to schedule one within 10 days of your arrest you will lose your license for four months mandatory first time suspension for a regular non-commercial license on a first time DUI. If you are under 21 it is a year. Although it is four months suspension you can get a restricted license after 30 days with proof of enrollment in an alcohol AB-541 class and an SR-22 (proof of insurance). There is no restricted license if you are under 21.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 8/11/2011
Grasso Law Group
Grasso Law Group | Charles Grasso, Esq.
On a first DUI there is a 30 day hard suspension during which time you cannot drive at all. After the 30 days you can apply for a restricted license that will allow you to drive to/from and in the course of work as well as to DUI school. The restricted license will be good for 5 more months. After that (total of 6-months) you can apply for your full license to be restored.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 8/10/2011
    Law Office of Eric Sterkenburg
    Law Office of Eric Sterkenburg | Eric Sterkenburg
    Four months if there are no enhancements.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/10/2011
    Law Office of Joe Dane
    Law Office of Joe Dane | Joe Dane
    There are two different, but related suspensions for a DUI. Assuming you're over 21 and this is a first DUI, your license will be suspended for 4 months if you lose your hearing with the DMV and for 6 months if you're convicted of DUI. After 30 days of actual suspension (no driving for 30 days at all), you can seek a restricted license after either suspension. You'll need to be enrolled in the first offender alcohol program, have current insurance (an SR-22 filed with the DMV) and pay them a re-issue fee. Discuss all these issues in detail with your attorney. If this is a recent arrest, you only have 10 days from the date of your arrest to contact the DMV and schedule a hearing or they'll automatically suspend your license.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/10/2011
    The Law Offices of Gabriel Dorman
    The Law Offices of Gabriel Dorman | Gabriel Dorman
    On a 1st DUI, two things can trigger a license suspension: 1) being convicted of a DUI in court, or 2) losing your DMV Administrative Hearing. If you are convicted in Court, this will trigger a 6 month license suspension which is imposed by the DMV after receiving a record of the court conviction. If you lose your DMV hearing, this will trigger a 4 month suspension of which you will not be able to drive for the first 30 days of that suspension (you will be eligible for a restricted license after serving the first 30 days of no driving). If you suffer both a DUI conviction in court and lose your DMV hearing, the total length of your suspension will be 6 months not 10. I hope this answer was helpful. Good luck.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/10/2011
    Law Office of Thomas F. Mueller
    Law Office of Thomas F. Mueller | Thomas Mueller
    The time of suspension varies. If yours is a standard first offense DUI the suspension will be 4 months, an after 30 day of the suspension you can apply for a restricted license.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/10/2011
    Law Office of Jeff Yeh
    Law Office of Jeff Yeh | Jeff Yeh
    A first conviction in court will result in a 6 months suspension. The DMV will also suspend you separately for up to 6 months if you lose or don't request a hearing within 10 days of arrest. The two suspensions can run concurrently, but it all depends on when each suspension begins.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/10/2011
    Law Offices of Martina A. Vigil, PC
    Law Offices of Martina A. Vigil, PC | Martina A. Vigil
    If you're under 21 years of age, your license will be suspended for a year. Otherwise, with no aggravating circumstances, your DL will be suspended for four months. However, after 30 days of hard suspension you can apply for a restricted driver's license to drive to/ from work and school but keep in mind that this extends the period of restriction by two months. So instead of getting your DL back after four months of hard suspension, you will get full driving privileges back after one month of hard suspension and 5 months of restricted suspension.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/11/2011
    Law Office of Maureen Furlong Baldwin
    Law Office of Maureen Furlong Baldwin | Maureen Furlong Baldwin
    It depends on whether it is a first, second, third, etc. offense and whether you take the programs required by the DMV.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/10/2011
    Law Offices of Phil Hache
    Law Offices of Phil Hache | Phil Hache
    It depends on the circumstances of your DUI. If this is a standard first offense DUI with no enhancements (ie. Refusal), then your drivers license will be suspended for 6 months after a Court conviction. In this scenario, you would be eligible for a work restricted license after 30 days.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/10/2011
    Law Offices of Matthew Murillo
    Law Offices of Matthew Murillo | Matthew Murillo
    If it was a first time DUI, a straight suspension could last 4 months, depending on whether you refused a chemical test. If it was a 2d (or more), you're looking at a minimum of 1 year.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/10/2011
    Wallin & Klarich: A Law Corporation
    Wallin & Klarich: A Law Corporation | Paul Wallin
    The answer to your question depends upon if this was your first DUI conviction or if you have prior convictions, or if you "refused" the blood test when requested to do so by a peace officer. In some cases the suspension is as little as one actual month with 5 additional months of restriction. In other cases the suspension is longer.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/10/2011
    Robert Mortland
    Robert Mortland | Law Office of Robert Mortland
    You will typically receive a 4 month suspension on your license. Further, you will have to enroll in the DUI classes and pay for sr22 insurance.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/10/2011
Click to View More Answers:
12 3 Free Legal QuestionsConnect with a local attorney