How long will it take me to get a divorce? 30 Answers as of June 20, 2011

How long will it take me to get a divorce? Is there a required waiting period?

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Law Office of Daniel B. Rubanowitz, APC
Law Office of Daniel B. Rubanowitz, APC | Daniel B. Rubanowitz
In the State of California the cooling off or waiting period is six months and one day. In other words, absent exigent circumstances or further court order, the earliest that the status of your marriage can be terminated is six months and one day after the Petition for Dissolution of Marriage is filed and served (See Family Code Section 2339). Good luck.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 6/20/2011
Warner Center Law Offices of Donald F. Conviser
Warner Center Law Offices of Donald F. Conviser | Donald F. Conviser
It takes a minimum of six (6) months after the other party is served with your filed divorce case before the Court will dissolve your marriage. However, it depends on the complexity of the issues and the amount of controversy and fight in the case as to how long it will take to complete the case and dissolve your marriage.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 6/8/2011
Fox Law Firm LLC
Fox Law Firm LLC | Tina Fox
The length of time depends on the parties and what is all involved in the divorce (i.e. children, division of property, contested vs. uncontested). I encourage to to contact the office for a free consultation to discuss this in more detail.
Answer Applies to: Illinois
Replied: 6/8/2011
Joanna Mitchell & Associates, P.A.
Joanna Mitchell & Associates, P.A. | Joanna Mitchell
There is a required 20 day waiting period from the time the divorce is filed till you can proceed to final judgment. However, the length of time a divorce takes typically depends on how many issues there are, and how hotly contested those issues are. My office offers free initial telephone consultations if you would like to discuss this matter in more detail, as well as explore the potential rights and options available. If you would like to coordinate a free initial telephone consultation, please contact my office.
Answer Applies to: Florida
Replied: 6/8/2011
Howard W. Collins, Attorney at Law
Howard W. Collins, Attorney at Law | Howard W. Collins
In Oregon; The goal is to have all divorces complete within 6 months. It all depends on your circumstances.
Answer Applies to: Oregon
Replied: 6/8/2011
    Neville J. Bedford Attorney at Law
    Neville J. Bedford Attorney at Law | Neville J. Bedford
    Most divorces take a while. In Rhode Island there is a three month and one day waiting period for no-fault actions (excepting living separate and apart). Divorce of void marriages are usually effective immediately when granted. But there is a sixty day period from filing to hearing. So, in short, it depends. Talk to a seasoned practitioner for the particulars of your case.
    Answer Applies to: Rhode Island
    Replied: 6/8/2011
    Berner Law Group, PLLC
    Berner Law Group, PLLC | Jack Berner
    The floor is 90 days in the State of Washington. It's not the ceiling, though. If you're a Western Washington resident, feel free to contact my office for a free, no obligation consultation regarding your situation.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 6/8/2011
    Reeves Law Firm, P.C.
    Reeves Law Firm, P.C. | Roy L. Reeves
    Yes there is a required waiting period of 60 days. The 60 days starts upon the filing of the Original Petition and does not depend upon service on the responding party. The responding party gets a minimum of 20 days which can run concurrent with the 60 day period. The 20 days to respond can be waived, the 60 days cannot with one exception. If there is family violence and the victim of that violence files for divorce, the Court can waive the 60 days. How long a case will take beyond the minimums is up to the parties.
    Answer Applies to: Texas
    Replied: 6/8/2011
    Theodore W. Robinson, P.C.
    Theodore W. Robinson, P.C. | Theodore W. Robinson
    In NY there is no waiting period and it will usually be completed in less than six months. Good luck.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 6/8/2011
    Seattle Divorce Services
    Seattle Divorce Services | Michael V. Fancher
    Under Washington law, there is a minimum 90 day waiting period between the filing and service of the initial papers and when you can finalize the divorce.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 6/8/2011
    John E. Kirchner, Attorney at Law
    John E. Kirchner, Attorney at Law | John Kirchner
    The court cannot grant a final decree dissolving the marriage sooner than 90 days after it acquires jurisdiction over both parties. Whether it can happen that fast, in fact, however depends on the actual circumstances and how well you and your spouse can work together to reach an agreement about everything. If you can't agree on everything and it requires having a judge make decisions, it could take anywhere from 6 months to a year.
    Answer Applies to: Colorado
    Replied: 6/8/2011
    Michael Anthony Wing, P.C.
    Michael Anthony Wing, P.C. | Michael Anthony Wing
    If you file a divorce by agreement, there is a 30 day waiting period before the judge signs the order. If it is not by agreement, you are looking at around a year, most likely, before your case is heard. Stay well.
    Answer Applies to: Alabama
    Replied: 6/8/2011
    Beaulier Law Office
    Beaulier Law Office | Maury Beaulier
    There is no required waiting period in Minnesota. You can be divorced as soon as the parties reach an agreement on all issues. If the parties remain in dispute on issues, the matter will be decided in a trial which may be more than one year in the future.
    Answer Applies to: Minnesota
    Replied: 6/8/2011
    Law Office of Robert L. Fiedler
    Law Office of Robert L. Fiedler | Robert L Fiedler
    Typically, an uncontested divorce can be finished in about 4-5 months. there is a three month waiting period in Connecticut.
    Answer Applies to: Connecticut
    Replied: 6/8/2011
    Goolsby Law Office
    Goolsby Law Office | Richard Goolsby
    I have discussed this issue in my divorce blog. The simple answer is that each state has a waiting period. In Georgia, generally, it is 6 months. Consult with a divorce attorney about all your rights and options. Good luck!
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 6/8/2011
    Cody and Gonillo, LLP
    Cody and Gonillo, LLP | Christine Gonilla
    90 days at the least.
    Answer Applies to: Connecticut
    Replied: 6/8/2011
    Law Office of James Lentz
    Law Office of James Lentz | James Lentz
    Waiting periods vary by state, Ohio requires you to be a citizen of the state for six months and of the county for 90 days, If children are involved, in Michigan the waiting period is six months. Each state is different. Contact your local domestic relations counsel for further information.
    Answer Applies to: Ohio
    Replied: 6/8/2011
    Gregory T. Buckley, Attorney at Law
    Gregory T. Buckley, Attorney at Law | Gregory T. Buckley
    Florida does not have a waiting period. The length of time a divorce case will take is dependent on several factors, including the complexity of the case, how busy the judge's calendar is, and how agreeable the parties are in settling the issues.
    Answer Applies to: Florida
    Replied: 6/8/2011
    Glenn E. Tanner
    Glenn E. Tanner | Glenn E. Tanner
    The court cannot sign your final divorce documents until 90 days have passed since you started the divorce.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 6/8/2011
    Beresford Booth PLLC
    Beresford Booth PLLC | S. Scott Burkhalter
    In Washington State, there is a cooling off period. It is 90 days from the latter of filing and service on your spouse.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 6/8/2011
    Law Office of Caryn Jones, LLC
    Law Office of Caryn Jones, LLC | Caryn C. Jones
    In Oregon, there is a six month residency requirement to file for divorce. Additionally, there is a 90-day waiting period after service for the court to finalize your divorce. The waiting period can be waived with approval of the court.
    Answer Applies to: Oregon
    Replied: 6/8/2011
    Law Office of Cindy Lin
    Law Office of Cindy Lin | Cindy Lin
    There is a 3 month waiting period in WA for your divorce to be final.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 6/7/2011
    Willick Law Group
    Willick Law Group | Marshal S. Willick
    In Nevada, there is no mandatory waiting period. There is a six-week residency period required, and once a divorce complaint has been filed, a twenty-day period for the defendant to answer or be defaulted.
    Answer Applies to: Nevada
    Replied: 6/8/2011
    The English Law Firm
    The English Law Firm | Robert English
    In California, you cannot be granted a divorce until after 6 months from the date that the court acquires jurisdiction of both parties. Depending on the complexity of the divorce, it can often take longer than that 6 month period.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 6/7/2011
    Michael Apicella
    Michael Apicella | Apicella Law and Mediation
    There are several steps to complete your divorce. For instance, someone needs to open a case with the court by filing the divorce petition and related papers. Those papers then need to be served on the "respondent." Both parties need to exchange disclosures, and hopefully reach agreements on all settlement terms. If certain issues can't be resolved by mutual agreement, then such issue needs to be put in front of a judge so he/she can decide the issue for you. How long it takes the parties to complete all such steps depends entirely on the parties. As for the "waiting period" in California, with a few exceptions, the court will not enter a judgment date of dissolution until 6 months and one day after the date the "respondent" is served with the original divorce papers. However, that doesn't mean you have to wait that long to finish your divorce. I.e., if you are able to reach agreements on all issues, draft up the final papers, and submit all such paperwork with the court before 6 months and one day elapses, then there is nothing left to do to finish your case, and the court will simply enter judgment of dissolution in the future (6 months and a day), which you would specify in Judgment form, without any further action on your part.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 6/7/2011
    Law Office of L. Paul Zahn
    Law Office of L. Paul Zahn | Paul Zahn
    Marital status cannot be returned to that of single prior to six months and one day from the date of service on the Respondent. If you are looking for an attorney and are in my area, please contact me for a free consultation.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 6/7/2011
    Law Office Of Jody A. Miller
    Law Office Of Jody A. Miller | Jody A. Miller
    There is no waiting period in Georgia in order to file for a divorce. Once you file, the time it takes depends on such factors as the issues involved, whether the case is contested or uncontested, how the assigned just works their court calendars, etc.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 6/7/2011
    Ashman Law Office
    Ashman Law Office | Glen Edward Ashman
    The answer depends on all the things you did not post - including whether the case is uncontested or contested, who the judge is, what court it is, etc. Generally, hiring a lawyer will speed things up.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 6/7/2011
Click to View More Answers:
12 3 4 5 Free Legal QuestionsConnect with a local attorney