How long will a drunk driving charge stay on my record and why? 8 Answers as of August 27, 2015

How long will a drunk driving charge stay on my record if it is my first offense?

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Lawrence Lewis
Lawrence Lewis | Lawrence Lewis, PC
FOREVER, unless it is expunged.
Answer Applies to: Georgia
Replied: 8/27/2015
Universal Law Group, Inc. | Francis John Cowhig
10 years. Why? Because that what the law says.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 8/25/2015
Law Office of Jeff Yeh
Law Office of Jeff Yeh | Jeff Yeh
Forever until and unless you have it expunged.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 8/25/2015
The Rogers Law Firm
The Rogers Law Firm | Andrea Storey Rogers
First time misdemeanor DUI conviction will stay on your driving record and criminal record forever. It is possible to hire an attorney to file a petition to expunge a first-time misdemeanor DUI conviction after 10 years have passed with no other drug or alcohol related law enforcement contacts.
Answer Applies to: Missouri
Replied: 8/25/2015
Law Office of Edward J. Blum
Law Office of Edward J. Blum | Edward J. Blum
10 years. That's the law.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 8/25/2015
    Pearson, Butler, & Carson, PLLC
    Pearson, Butler, & Carson, PLLC | Matthew R. Kober
    The short answer is: Forever, unless you expunge it, which you won't be able to do for 10 years, assuming you are eligible. Every charge always stays on your record unless it is expunged. This includes cases that are dismissed or even cases where you go to trial and win. It even includes pleas in abeyance. It is very common for people to think that a charge will eventually come off your record. Again, a charge NEVER comes off your record unless you expunge it. In order to expunge a record, you must be eligible. Certain offenses require different time periods to wait. A DUI charge requires a waiting period of 10 years. However, if you have too many charges, or pending charges, you might not be eligible. Eligibility is a complicated analysis. Just call an attorney who does expungements and he/she can explain things to you in more detail.
    Answer Applies to: Utah
    Replied: 8/25/2015
    Richard B. Jacobson & Associates, LLC | Richard B. Jacobson
    In the State of Wisconsin it will remain on your record period. I think the same goes for the federal record center, called NCIS.
    Answer Applies to: Wisconsin
    Replied: 8/25/2015
    Law Office of Robert E McCall | Robert McCall
    There are different record systems but usually the max of seven years.
    Answer Applies to: Florida
    Replied: 8/25/2015
Click to View More Answers:

Need more information on drunk driving law? Visit our free DUI resource page to learn more.

If you need immediate assistance, fill out a free case evaluation form to connect with a DUI lawyer in your area today!