How long does the state have to arrest you after being charged with a DUI? 10 Answers as of November 26, 2013

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Lawrence Lewis
Lawrence Lewis | Lawrence Lewis, PC
Up to two years.
Answer Applies to: Georgia
Replied: 11/26/2013
Cramer Cramer LLC | Aric Cramer
Two years if it is a misdemeanor, four years if it is a felony.
Answer Applies to: Utah
Replied: 11/26/2013
Law Office of Jeff Yeh
Law Office of Jeff Yeh | Jeff Yeh
You need to hire a DUI specialist, and do it soon because you have only 10 days to save your license.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 11/22/2013
Hudson Bair | Hudson Bair
If you have been charged with a DUI there is no statute of limitations for dismissing the case, a skilled DUI defense attorney may be able to bring other challenges based on specific case call and failure to diligently prosecute the case but, it requires that you meet the case law standards and that you appear in court. I assume that you failed to appear and a bench warrant was issued on the date you were supposed to appear in court.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 11/22/2013
Charles M. Schiff, Attorney at Law
Charles M. Schiff, Attorney at Law | Charles M. Schiff
If you have been charged, you have effectively been arrested. There may be a delay in scheduling the court date, but that would likely involve a Summons rather than an arrest.
Answer Applies to: Minnesota
Replied: 11/22/2013
    Law Office of James E. Smith
    Law Office of James E. Smith | James Smith
    1 year from incident.
    Answer Applies to: Nevada
    Replied: 11/26/2013
    Musilli Brennan Associates PLLC
    Musilli Brennan Associates PLLC | John F Brennan
    Normally you will receive.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 11/26/2013
    Milstein Defense Law
    Milstein Defense Law | Jeff Milstein
    If you were charged they must have took you in and processed you and let you go. You should have a court date coming up. Furthermore, in Oregon they have a diversion program that you can do if you qualify that will erase it from your record. I'd be glad to help you for very cheap if you want to do diversion.
    Answer Applies to: Oregon
    Replied: 11/22/2013
    Law Office of Russell A. Warren
    Law Office of Russell A. Warren | Russell A. Warren
    In our state the prosecutors have up to 12 months to decide to issue charges. They can sit on the information for that period while they decide whether or not they have enough evidence to proceed with charges.
    Answer Applies to: Missouri
    Replied: 11/22/2013
Click to View More Answers:

Need more information on drunk driving law? Visit our free DUI resource page to learn more.

If you need immediate assistance, fill out a free case evaluation form to connect with a DUI lawyer in your area today!