How long does a shop have to charge an employee with petty theft? 7 Answers as of June 08, 2015How long does a business have to file charges against a person? My son stole money from a retail store he worked in, and was caught. It has now been four months. This is his first offense, and we do not know what to expect.
Universal Law Group, Inc. | Francis John Cowhig
They have up to one year if it is charged as a misdemeanor and up to 3 years if it is charged as a felony. If he stole money from his employer, most likely he will be charged with embezzlement, which can be either a misdemeanor or a felony depending on the amount of money stolen.
Answer Applies to: California
WILLIAM L SANDERS, ATTORNEY AT LAW | William L. Sanders
The same statute of limitations for any other theft. Varies from state to state you did not say where you work which state? It would be a year or more. 4 months is not unusual. You should consult with an attorney in your area that handles criminal cases If his record is clean, and if you have an attorney, there is a good chance this will go away with some community service. Many states call this "pre-trial diversion."
Answer Applies to: Georgia