The Law Offices of Katie M. Stone | Katie M. Stone
Once a lien is placed on your home, automobile or personal property, it lasts until you, the owner of the asset, take some action to sell or transfer title. Once you try to sell or transfer title, all judgment lien holders may be entitled to collect on their judgments, depending on the nature of the situation. In Florida, a judgment lien by most creditors may not be placed upon your homestead property.
Answer Applies to: Florida
Law Office of John C. Farrell, Jr. | John C. Farrell, Jr.
A judgment can be enforced for 20 years in the state of MA, then it can be renewed with court filings. A real estate lien dissolves after 6 years and again the creditor can elect to renew it by court filings.
Answer Applies to: Massachusetts
G. Anthony Yuthas & Assoc. | Tony Yuthas
A judgment will expire in 20 years, but may be renewed or reinstated for an additional 20 years with no notice. A lien typically goes with the property, not the person and does not expire until the property changes hands at which time it needs to be satisfied. That lien can earn interest at the statutory rate for the entire time it is against the property.
Answer Applies to: Colorado
The Schreiber Law Firm | Jeffrey D. Schreiber
Judgments don't "expire". A judgment lien is created by recording the judgment with the County Recorder and lasts for ten years in California, but can be renewed for another ten years if renewed before the ten year expiration date.
Answer Applies to: California
Law Office of J. Thomas Black, P.C. | J. Thomas Black
I will give you a short answer. If you want an answer that you can rely on, you need to consult a Texas attorney that has experience with these matters, pay him or her a fee, and them analyze the facts of your particular case. This is not an area of law for amateurs or lay people, and there are many exceptions to the general rules below. In Texas, judgments become dormant if writs of execution are not issued in the underlying lawsuit every ten years. Once dormant, they can be revived for an additional two years. If they become dormant and are not revived, they are barred. You may have to hire an attorney to file a "quiet title" or similar action before you could sell or mortgage the property that is subject to a judgment in such a case.
Answer Applies to: Texas