How long does it usually take for a DUI class to be completed? 37 Answers as of June 11, 2012

How long does it usually take for a DUI class to be completed? Are there any alternatives for this? I am not sure I can join the class if it is going to be a daily activity. Can I just pay for it? I mean can the fines be increased rather than join these sessions?

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Cornish, Crowley, Rockafellow, & Sartz, PLLC
Cornish, Crowley, Rockafellow, & Sartz, PLLC | Jacob Peter Sartz IV
If you are ordered to those programs by a judge, your best option is to comply with the judge's orders. If you fail to comply, you may face additional sanctions. If you have issues with the order, the only alternative really is try to request that the court reconsider their order. However, any failure to comply with a court-order in this type of situation could result in additional sanctions.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 6/11/2012
Law Office of Thomas A. Medford, Jr., PC
Law Office of Thomas A. Medford, Jr., PC | Thomas A. Medford, Jr.
The classes con be from one month to four months depending on what treatment is needed. If the court orders a DUI class you must have to attend and can't just pay for it.
Answer Applies to: District of Columbia
Replied: 3/21/2012
Law Office of Phillip Weiser
Law Office of Phillip Weiser | Phillip L. Weiser
You will have to complete the class, there are no alternatives such as paying and not attending.
Answer Applies to: Kansas
Replied: 3/16/2012
Law Office of Richard Williams
Law Office of Richard Williams | Richard Williams
The period of incarceration for first time conviction of a DUI is up to one year in the metro or municipal jail. The sentence can be suspended and usually is, unless there are aggravating circumstances. The offender normally receives formal probation for one or two years and is required to. The fine is not less than $600 nor more than $2,100. You are required to attend and complete the DUI school and the Victim's Impact Panel. DUI school can be substituted for an accepted alcohol/drug tratment program in some instances. There is a mandatory suspension of your driving privileges for 90 days. There is no exception to the DUI school and the Victim Impact Panel and you can't pay a higher fine or cost to be relieved of this requirement.
Answer Applies to: Alabama
Replied: 3/15/2012
Freeborn Law Offices, P.S.
Freeborn Law Offices, P.S. | Steve Freeborn
Takes depends upon what exactly the court orders. No, you cannot pay increased fines in lieu of drug/alcohol counseling. If you can't or won't do the alcohol program, the only other alternative that the court has is to impose jail time. A DUI conviction is punishable by up to one year in jail.
Answer Applies to: Washington
Replied: 3/14/2012
    Law Office of Jared Altman
    Law Office of Jared Altman | Jared Altman
    The Drinking Driver Program is sixteen hours over seven weeks. If you're ordered to take if then you have no choice.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 3/14/2012
    Law Office of Eric Sterkenburg
    Law Office of Eric Sterkenburg | Eric Sterkenburg
    You have to take the DUI classes. For a first time DUI this is: Attendance at First Offender Program (FOP) Required BAC = .15'3-month FOP BAC .15 to .19'6-month FOP BAC = .20'9-month FOP I have helped some of my clients do a program on line.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 3/14/2012
    Law Office of Brendan M. Kelly
    Law Office of Brendan M. Kelly | Brendan M. Kelly
    If the court ordered you to attend a class you have to go. Normally the class is held one time and then you're done. You also may be able to take a class online that will count.
    Answer Applies to: Nebraska
    Replied: 3/14/2012
    Craig W. Elhart, P.C.
    Craig W. Elhart, P.C. | Craig Elhart
    DUI classes are mandatory. It would be crucial that you attend the classes, or else run the risk of worse consequences.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 3/14/2012
    McClendon Owens Melia McBreen LLP
    McClendon Owens Melia McBreen LLP | Richard L. McBreen III
    It is impossible to say since it will be based on your evaluation and treatment program. I believe there is sometimes an exception to the classes when they can be shown to be of no value, but it is not common. Typically, this is an unavoidable consequence of a DUII conviction, and it is why having a skilled attorney on your side throughout the process is absolutely crucial.
    Answer Applies to: Oregon
    Replied: 3/14/2012
    The Law Offices of Harold L. Wallin | Harold L. Wallin
    You cannot buy your way out of court ordered alcohol treatment. Your treatment classification should explain how many hours are required.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 3/14/2012
    Anderson Law Office
    Anderson Law Office | Scott L. Anderson
    DUI classes and treatment are designed for the need of the person hence if this is your first offense an education class may be sufficient but more will likely be ordered if you have multiple offenses.
    Answer Applies to: Minnesota
    Replied: 3/14/2012
    Law Offices of John Carney
    Law Offices of John Carney | John Carney
    Every state and city has different programs that vary from 10 hours to 45 hours. In New York it will probably two days of classes and maybe a Victim Impact session of four hours. You can tell your lawyer that you do not want to attend and he may be able to waive this part of your sentence, but then you will not receive a conditional license or 20 day license that the court issues to you before you attend the classes. Your insurance will rise dramatically and you will have to install an interlock device that costs $750. Drunk driving is like firing a gun at a moving train and hoping no one gets hit by the bullets. Millions of young men are arrested driving late at night coming home from bars and it can give you a criminal record for life. That will make it very hard to get a decent job and you will end up paying a lot more than what a taxi would have cost you.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 3/14/2012
    Timothy J. Thill P.C.
    Timothy J. Thill P.C. | Timothy J. Thill
    If oyou were convicted for DUI, you need to do whatever sessions/classes you were ordered to do. Usually, these are scheduled once every one or two weeks, so it should not be a big imposition. Do not think of doing anything but completing your treatment, you could be in front of the judge again, and on your way to jail or prison.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 3/14/2012
    Michael Breczinski
    Michael Breczinski | Michael Breczinski
    Often DUI classes are on the weekend and the alternative to not doing them is not an increased fine, it is spending up to 93 days in jail.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 3/14/2012
    Lawrence Lewis
    Lawrence Lewis | Lawrence Lewis, PC
    The classes are required by law. You can only avoid them if you don't intend to drive on your driver's license again.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 3/14/2012
    H. Scott Basham, Attorney at Law, P.C. | H. Scott Basham
    Depends on how often you go. It can take anywhere from a week weeks to a few months.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 3/14/2012
    Law Offices of Phil Hache
    Law Offices of Phil Hache | Phil Hache
    That answer depends on whether your dui is a first offense, second offense...etc. If there is a dui conviction, there will be a mandatory class. It may be possible to get your charge reduced which could lessen amount of dui classes.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 3/14/2012
    Nelson & Lawless
    Nelson & Lawless | Terry Nelson
    As long as the court orders you to attend as part of probation sentencing. Typically 3 months or 6 months for first offenders. Usually once a week, sometimes more. When charged with DUI, classes are ordered per court ?policy? in return for granting you probation instead of jail. You will also pay fines to the court. When arrested or charged with any crime, the proper questions are, can any evidence obtained in a test, search or confession be used against you, can you be convicted, and what can you do? Raise all appropriate defenses with whatever witnesses, evidence and sympathies are available for legal arguments, for evidence suppression or other motions, or for trial. If you don't know how to represent yourself effectively against an experienced prosecutor intending to convict, then hire an attorney that does, who will try to get a dismissal, diversion program, charge reduction, or other decent outcome through plea bargain, or take it to trial if appropriate. If serious about hiring counsel to help in this, and if this is in SoCal courts, feel free to contact me. I'll be happy to help, using whatever defenses there may be.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 3/14/2012
    T.K. Byrne | Timothy K. Byrne
    In Mississippi it is a four hour class meeting. The class meets once a week for four consecutive weeks.
    Answer Applies to: Mississippi
    Replied: 3/14/2012
    Glass Defense Firm
    Glass Defense Firm | Jason M. Glass
    Once it begins, takes about 6 weeks.
    Answer Applies to: West Virginia
    Replied: 3/14/2012
    Klisz Law Office, PLLC
    Klisz Law Office, PLLC | Timothy J. Klisz
    No, the alternative is jail for violation this term of your probation.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 3/14/2012
    Mark Thiessen, Attorney at Law
    Mark Thiessen, Attorney at Law | Mark Thiessen
    No you can't just pay for it. It depends on the county you are in and what they offer.
    Answer Applies to: Texas
    Replied: 3/14/2012
    Law Office of Edward J. Blum
    Law Office of Edward J. Blum | Edward J. Blum
    3, 6, 9, 18 or 30 months. The class is usually once per week. You can get some classes to accelerate the process. No class is required by court and DMV to get license back.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 3/14/2012
    Miller & Harrison, LLC
    Miller & Harrison, LLC | David Harrison
    The length of the classes depends on what level of program you are placed in to. If you do not wish to do the classes, the only alternative is jail time. You may also need to prove you did the classes in order to get your drivers license back.
    Answer Applies to: Colorado
    Replied: 3/13/2012
    The Law Office of Stephanie M. Arrache
    The Law Office of Stephanie M. Arrache | Stephanie Arrache
    Classes are mandatory. They are not daily but rather usually meet once a week for the first few months and then twice a month thereafter. It depends on the programs in your area.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 3/13/2012
    The Short Law Group, P.C.
    The Short Law Group, P.C. | Shawn Kollie
    Alcohol Treatment is a required condition of any DUI Conviction or Diversion Program in Oregon. Dependent on your evaluation with the treatment provider, alcohol treatment can last anywhere from 3 months up to 1 full year. It is important to talk with a DUI Lawyer who is knowledgeable about the different treatment options you have. This can save you both time and money.
    Answer Applies to: Oregon
    Replied: 3/13/2012
    Law Office of Joe Dane
    Law Office of Joe Dane | Joe Dane
    The length of the course depends on your blood alcohol level and whether this is a first offense or not. No, you can't just increase the fines and get out of the class. The court could potentially waive the course as a term of probation and you wouldn't have to do it - at least not as part of your court case. The DMV will require the course before you ever get your license back, so you're stuck doing it.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 3/13/2012
    Harris Law Firm
    Harris Law Firm | Jennifer C. Robins
    No, you have to do drug and alcohol treatment if you enter diversion or are convicted of a DUI. The classes are no daily, most of the time they are once a week and many places offer classes in the evening or on the weekend. The number of classes you have to attend is determined by the evaluation.
    Answer Applies to: Oregon
    Replied: 3/13/2012
    Andersen Law PLLC
    Andersen Law PLLC | Craig Andersen
    2 years. If the class is required, there's no way out of it. You will know if you need treatment when you obtain an alcohol evaluation. I suggest you get one and hire a good DUI defense attorney.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 3/13/2012
    Law Office of Jeff Yeh
    Law Office of Jeff Yeh | Jeff Yeh
    Once a week for 3, 6, or 9 months. If you have a prior DUI then it is 18 months.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 3/13/2012
    The Law Offices of Victor J Mazzaraco
    The Law Offices of Victor J Mazzaraco | Victor J Mazzaraco
    Sorry. You do the crime you do the time. All the time - miss even one class and the court can impose the maximum penalties or the offense. 1st offender dui classes are 3 months and can be 6 months if your BAC was .20% or higher. Classes are not daily.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 3/13/2012
    Brucar & Yetter, P.C.
    Brucar & Yetter, P.C. | Wayne Brucar
    Fines cannot substitute for classes. The amount of time it takes for completion is usually dictated by the number of hours you need. Different organizations configure the hours differently.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 3/13/2012
    LeadfootSpeedingTicket.com
    LeadfootSpeedingTicket.com | Andrea Storey Rogers
    No, you will have to successfully complete the SATOP class. I believe they offer Saturday classes.
    Answer Applies to: Missouri
    Replied: 3/13/2012
    Gregory Casale Attorney at Law
    Gregory Casale Attorney at Law | Gregory Casale
    Massachusetts OUI/DUI classes usually run for 16 weeks.
    Answer Applies to: Massachusetts
    Replied: 3/13/2012
Click to View More Answers:
12 3 4 5 6 Free Legal QuestionsConnect with a local attorney

Need more information on drunk driving law? Visit our free DUI resource page to learn more.

If you need immediate assistance, fill out a free case evaluation form to connect with a DUI lawyer in your area today!