How long do I have to wait before I can get married again after divorce? 34 Answers as of August 15, 2011

How long do I have to wait before I can get married again after I’ve got divorced?

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Reeves Law Firm, P.C.
Reeves Law Firm, P.C. | Roy L. Reeves
In Texas you have to wait 30 days after the Judge signs the Final Decree of Divorce - you can ask the court for a waiver of the 30 days if you want - as an aside, why the hurry?
Answer Applies to: Texas
Replied: 8/11/2011
Neville J. Bedford Attorney at Law
Neville J. Bedford Attorney at Law | Neville J. Bedford
Once your divorce is FINAL and the certified copy of the FINAL JUDGMENT from the Family Court has entered, you are free to remarry.
Answer Applies to: Rhode Island
Replied: 8/9/2011
Gregory T. Buckley, Attorney at Law
Gregory T. Buckley, Attorney at Law | Gregory T. Buckley
You should be able to get a marriage license as soon as you have a certified copy of your Final Judgment of Dissolution of Marriage.
Answer Applies to: Florida
Replied: 8/9/2011
Law Office of Roianne H. Conner
Law Office of Roianne H. Conner | Roianne Houlton Conner
Once the final decree of divorce is rendered by the Court you must wait 60 days in Alabama before you can marry again.
Answer Applies to: Alabama
Replied: 8/8/2011
Cody and Gonillo, LLP
Cody and Gonillo, LLP | Christine Gonilla
while there is a 20 day appeal period that should not prevent you from remarrying
Answer Applies to: Connecticut
Replied: 8/5/2011
    Joanna Mitchell & Associates, P.A.
    Joanna Mitchell & Associates, P.A. | Joanna Mitchell
    You can apply for a marriage license the day after your divorce decree is entered by a Judge, and then get married three days later. There is no mandatory "waiting period."
    Answer Applies to: Florida
    Replied: 8/5/2011
    Horizons Law Group, LLC
    Horizons Law Group, LLC | Michelle B. Fitzgerald
    Six months from the date of final divorce.
    Answer Applies to: Wisconsin
    Replied: 8/5/2011
    Meriwether & Tharp LLC
    Meriwether & Tharp LLC | Patrick Meriwether
    In Georgia, once you are divorced, there is no legal waiting period before you can get remarried.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 8/5/2011
    The English Law Firm
    The English Law Firm | Robert English
    If you have a final judgment of divorce, you can get married the next day if you like. The judgment will state what date the marital status ends.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/5/2011
    ROWE LAW FIRM
    ROWE LAW FIRM | Jeffrey S. Wittenbrink
    If you are legally divorced you may marry immediately. You will need to wait whatever waiting period is required for obtaining a marriage license, but your eligibility to marry is there the day the divorce is granted.
    Answer Applies to: Louisiana
    Replied: 8/5/2011
    Beresford Booth PLLC
    Beresford Booth PLLC | S. Scott Burkhalter
    Once a decree of dissolution is entered, you can remarry.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 8/5/2011
    Vincent J. Bernabei LLC
    Vincent J. Bernabei LLC | Vincent J. Bernabei
    You can marry later on the same day the judge signs the divorce judgment.
    Answer Applies to: Oregon
    Replied: 8/4/2011
    Law Office of Michael W. Bugni
    Law Office of Michael W. Bugni | Jay W. Neff
    You don't have to wait at all. In Washington, once the divorce decree has been signed by the court and filed with the clerk of the court, you are divorced. You could, literally, go out the next day and get married again. Of course, whether it is a good idea is a completely separate question. Be that as it may, there is no legal impediment to it.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 8/4/2011
    Glenn E. Tanner
    Glenn E. Tanner | Glenn E. Tanner
    Half a second.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 8/4/2011
    The Coyle Law Office
    The Coyle Law Office | T. Andrew Coyle
    The day after your divorce is finalized you may technical get remarried; however, it is prudent to wait at least 30 days after everything is finalized. This is because there is a 30 day window after the judgment is entered for it to be appealed.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 8/4/2011
    Goolsby Law Office
    Goolsby Law Office | Richard Goolsby
    Generally, you must simpy wait until the final divorce decree has been signed and filed. Good luck.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 8/4/2011
    Law Office of Robert L. Fiedler
    Law Office of Robert L. Fiedler | Robert L Fiedler
    There is no mandatory waiting time. You can get married the next day if you choose.
    Answer Applies to: Connecticut
    Replied: 8/4/2011
    Law Office of Tim W. Avery
    Law Office of Tim W. Avery | Tim W. Avery
    In Texas, the waiting period is 30 days unless you get a court order to waive the 30 day period.
    Answer Applies to: Texas
    Replied: 8/4/2011
    Petit & Dommershausen SC
    Petit & Dommershausen SC | Tajara Dommershausen
    6 months
    Answer Applies to: Wisconsin
    Replied: 8/4/2011
    Beaulier Law Office
    Beaulier Law Office | Maury Beaulier
    There is no waiting period in Minnesota.
    Answer Applies to: Minnesota
    Replied: 8/4/2011
    Willick Law Group
    Willick Law Group | Marshal S. Willick
    Nevada has no waiting period. Immediately.
    Answer Applies to: Nevada
    Replied: 8/4/2011
    Law Offices of Arlene D. Kock
    Law Offices of Arlene D. Kock | Arlene D. Kock
    Once you have a judgment terminating your marriage, you are free to remarry.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/4/2011
    John E. Kirchner, Attorney at Law
    John E. Kirchner, Attorney at Law | John Kirchner
    In Colorado the divorce is final the day the judge enters the decree and there is no waiting period for remarriage. In theory, one party could appeal the final orders up to 45 days from the entry of the decree. If the divorce itself were appealed and thrown out, the remarriage might be questionable and invalid. But, there are so few technical grounds that the divorce itself could be appealed upon that that rarely ever happens and the only things that might be appealed are the substantive issues. So, unless there is an appeal pending, 45 days is a safe waiting period. If there is an appeal pending, be sure you know what the issue for appeal is.
    Answer Applies to: Colorado
    Replied: 8/4/2011
Click to View More Answers:
12 3 4 5 6 Free Legal QuestionsConnect with a local attorney