How long do I have to serve in jail for domestic violence? 6 Answers as of August 06, 2011

Is the percentage of inmate does in county jail done off the project release date? I know I have to do 75% off 113 days so thats 90 days the reason its 75% is because its for domestic violence.

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Law Office of Peter F. Goldscheider
Law Office of Peter F. Goldscheider | Peter Goldscheider
Unless it is an old offense, you would likely be entitled to 1/3 off your sentence.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 8/6/2011
Wallin & Klarich: A Law Corporation
Wallin & Klarich: A Law Corporation | Paul Wallin
In California you will normally do 2/3rds of the actual time the court sentenced you to unless you get in trouble in custody. This assumes you are put on probation and not sent to prison. If you go to prison there are different rules.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 8/6/2011
Nelson & Lawless
Nelson & Lawless | Terry Nelson
However long the court orders at your sentencing, subject to credit for time served which should have been computed at the time of sentencing, and subject to the % reductions you already quoted. You answered your own question. ?? I cant tell you anything different. Check the jail release date for updates if applicable. There are sometimes early releases order because of overcrowding.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 8/6/2011
The Law Offices of Christopher J. McCann
The Law Offices of Christopher J. McCann | Christopher J. McCann
If this is a misdemeanor under either Penal Code 273.5 or 243(e)(1) then I don't see any reason why you would do more than 50%, and be given credit for the rest under good time/work time rules.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 8/6/2011
Law Office of Joe Dane
Law Office of Joe Dane | Joe Dane
It's actually 2/3 time, not 3/4 time.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 8/6/2011
    Dennis Roberts, a P.C.
    Dennis Roberts, a P.C. | Dennis Roberts
    You get a one third credit for a county jail sentence so if you get sentenced to 120 days you got out in 80.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/6/2011
Click to View More Answers: