How long do I have to respond to served divorce papers in California? 12 Answers as of June 21, 2013

How long do I have to respond to served divorce papers?

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Saddleback Law Center
Saddleback Law Center | Paris Kalor
30 days, otherwise they can enter a default against you.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 1/17/2011
Pisarra and Grist
Pisarra and Grist | David T. Pisarra
Once you have been properly served you have 30 (thirty) days to file a Response otherwise you can be put into Default. If you are in default the property asked for in the Petition can be awarded to the Petitioner and you will not have any rights to it.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 6/21/2013
Law Office of John C. Volz
Law Office of John C. Volz | John C. Volz
You have 30 days from the date that you are served to file your response. If you chose not to respond a default may be entered against you.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 1/14/2011
Goodman, Dicus, and Teinert, LLP
Goodman, Dicus, and Teinert, LLP | Paul M. Teinert
You have 30 days from the date you were served.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 1/12/2011
Law Office of Curry & Westgate
Law Office of Curry & Westgate | Patrick Curry
You have 30 days from date of service.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 1/12/2011
    Goldberg Jones
    Goldberg Jones | Zephyr Hill
    You have 30 days to respond.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 1/12/2011
    Warner Center Law Offices of Donald F. Conviser
    Warner Center Law Offices of Donald F. Conviser | Donald F. Conviser
    30 days from the date you were served. The documents that must be filed with the Court (along with the requisite Response filing fee) and served on the other party's attorney or the other party if he/she has no attorney (be aware that a party cannot serve papers in his/her own case, so somebody other than you, at least 18 years old, would need to serve the papers) would be a FL-120 Response, and if there are any minor children, a FL-105 Declaration under UCCJEA,and a Proof of Service. The service can be done via mail.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 1/11/2011
    Law Office of L. Paul Zahn
    Law Office of L. Paul Zahn | Paul Zahn
    You have 30 days from the date you were served before a default can be taken. If you need assistance or are looking for representation, please feel free to contact me for a free consultation.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 1/11/2011
    Diana K. Zilko, Attorney at Law
    Diana K. Zilko, Attorney at Law | Diana K. Zilko
    You have 30 days, unless you reach an agreement with the Petitioner, or his/her counsel. If you have any further questions, please let me know.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 1/11/2011
    Michael Apicella
    Michael Apicella | Apicella Law and Mediation
    You have 30 days. You'll find that information on the Summons, which should have been served with the Petition for Dissolution. You'll also want to read page 2 of the Summons. Once served, you are subject to the Standard Family Law Restraining Orders.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 1/11/2011
    Maclean Chung Law Firm
    Maclean Chung Law Firm | G. Thomas MacLean Jr.
    You have 30 days from when you were served to file and serve your response.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 1/11/2011
    Edwin Fahlen Attorney at Law
    Edwin Fahlen Attorney at Law | Edwin Fahlen
    Your response time depends on what you were served with, and how you were served. With this information, I can specifically answer your questions. A telephone call would be best so I can aster ALL of your specific questions in one communication.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 1/11/2011
Click to View More Answers:
12 3 Free Legal QuestionsConnect with a local attorney