How long do I have to respond to divorce papers after being served? 43 Answers as of July 29, 2011

How long do I have to respond to divorce papers after being served?

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Law Office of Daniel B. Rubanowitz, APC
Law Office of Daniel B. Rubanowitz, APC | Daniel B. Rubanowitz
In California, the general rule is that once being served with a Petition for Dissolution of Marriage, you have 30 days to file a Response to the Petition. Divorce issues can be very complicated, so you should consider consulting with a Family Law Attorney. Good luck.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 7/29/2011
Gregory T. Buckley, Attorney at Law
Gregory T. Buckley, Attorney at Law | Gregory T. Buckley
Generally you have 20 calendar days to file a written answer with the court.
Answer Applies to: Florida
Replied: 7/22/2011
Osterman Law LLC
Osterman Law LLC | Mark D. Osterman
20 days with 3 for mailing. You can ask for and the judge will give you an extension no problem! Do it before the 20 days are up for a gold star. Good Luck!
Answer Applies to: Indiana
Replied: 7/20/2011
Horizons Law Group, LLC
Horizons Law Group, LLC | Michelle B. Fitzgerald
20 days
Answer Applies to: Wisconsin
Replied: 7/19/2011
Theodore W. Robinson, P.C.
Theodore W. Robinson, P.C. | Theodore W. Robinson
You have 20 days to respond to themwith a formal Answer which should be prepared by a matrimonial attorney for you. Good luck.
Answer Applies to: New York
Replied: 7/19/2011
    Neville J. Bedford Attorney at Law
    Neville J. Bedford Attorney at Law | Neville J. Bedford
    If you note the summons, you will see it says: TO THE ABOVE NAMED DEFENDANT: . . . your answer must be in writing and filed with the Court within *20 Days* after the day you received this summons, not including the day of receipt. Neville Bedford 401 DIVORCE
    Answer Applies to: Rhode Island
    Replied: 7/18/2011
    Reeves Law Firm, P.C.
    Reeves Law Firm, P.C. | Roy L. Reeves
    You have 20 days to file an answer. There are some counting rules that may give you an extra day or two but the safe thing is to file an answer within 20 days.
    Answer Applies to: Texas
    Replied: 7/18/2011
    Law Office of Robert L. Fiedler
    Law Office of Robert L. Fiedler | Robert L Fiedler
    You should file an appearance at around the return date. Depending on your situation, there may be a lot to do or very little to do after that. You should provide more information or meet with an attorney to determine what you should do.
    Answer Applies to: Connecticut
    Replied: 7/18/2011
    Law Office of James Lentz
    Law Office of James Lentz | James Lentz
    In Ohio, twenty-eight (28) days.
    Answer Applies to: Ohio
    Replied: 7/18/2011
    Fox Law Firm LLC
    Fox Law Firm LLC | Tina Fox
    You have 30 days from the date of service. I encourage to retain an attorney to protect your rights under the law. There are deadlines that must be met and paperwork that has to be filed to make sure you are protected.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 7/16/2011
    Goolsby Law Office
    Goolsby Law Office | Richard Goolsby
    We are divorce lawyers in Augusta, Ga. We recommend you retain a divorce atotrney ASAP because, generally, you would have 30 days after service to file an answer. Discuss this with your attorney soon. Good luck!
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 7/15/2011
    Warner Center Law Offices of Donald F. Conviser
    Warner Center Law Offices of Donald F. Conviser | Donald F. Conviser
    Your Response to the Petition must be filed and served within 30 days after you are served. If you fail to timely file and serve your Response, your spouse can file a request that the Court enter your default. So long as your Response is filed and served before your spouse files a request that the Court enter your default, you could potentially file and serve your Response after the 30-day limit, but you would be taking an unreasonable risk not to file and serve your Response within the requisite 30-day time limit. The expenseof a Motion to Set Aside Default and the risk that the Court might not grant that Motion makeit unwise for you to delay filingand serving your Response beyond the 30-day time limit.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/15/2011
    Law Office of Joseph A. Katz
    Law Office of Joseph A. Katz | Joseph A. Katz
    To Whom It May Concern Thirty (30) days. You have thirty days before the other spouse can movefordefault.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/15/2011
    Lewis, Pfanstiel & Williams, PCLO
    Lewis, Pfanstiel & Williams, PCLO | Ryan J. Lewis
    You have 30 days to file an Answer from the date you are served.
    Answer Applies to: Nebraska
    Replied: 7/15/2011
    Law Office of Michael W. Bugni
    Law Office of Michael W. Bugni | Jay W. Neff
    You have twenty days from the date of service to respond to a summons and petition. However, you may have been served with other documents at the same time. Some of those other documents have different deadlines. For example, if you were also served with a calendar note, motion, and declaration for temporary orders, you may have less time to respond to those. The exact deadline for responding to a motion varies from county to county in Washington. You would need to know the rules for your particular county to be sure you were meeting the deadline for a response to a motion.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 7/15/2011
    Seattle Divorce Services
    Seattle Divorce Services | Michael V. Fancher
    Look at the Summons you were served with. For a Washington divorce, the length of time varies. For personal service in state, 20 days. For other kinds of service it can be 60 or 90 days. To be safe, assume 20 days.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 7/15/2011
    The Coyle Law Office
    The Coyle Law Office | T. Andrew Coyle
    The summons should provide how many days you have to respond. Generally, you have 30 days from the date you were served.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 7/15/2011
    Pontrello Law
    Pontrello Law | William Pontrello
    20 days.
    Answer Applies to: Florida
    Replied: 7/15/2011
    Dunnings Law Firm
    Dunnings Law Firm | Steven Dunnings
    21 days if personally served and 28 days if served by mail.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 7/15/2011
    Cody and Gonillo, LLP
    Cody and Gonillo, LLP | Christine Gonilla
    two days after the return date
    Answer Applies to: Connecticut
    Replied: 7/15/2011
    Law Office of Roianne H. Conner
    Law Office of Roianne H. Conner | Roianne Houlton Conner
    You have only 30 days from the date of service.
    Answer Applies to: Alabama
    Replied: 7/15/2011
    Meriwether & Tharp LLC
    Meriwether & Tharp LLC | Patrick Meriwether
    You have 30 days from the date you were served to file an Answer to the Divorce.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 7/15/2011
    Donaldson Stewart, PC
    Donaldson Stewart, PC | Monica H. Donaldson Stewart
    You will need to file a response within 20 days after service (the day after you are served is "Day 1"). If you do not file a response, the case may proceed against you by default, meaning that the other party could be awarded exactly what they requested in the Petition for Dissolution, even without your input. This is a bit of an oversimplified explanation - I recommend you speak with an attorney to get a better idea of your rights and obligations in this situation.
    Answer Applies to: Arizona
    Replied: 7/15/2011
    Joanna Mitchell & Associates, P.A.
    Joanna Mitchell & Associates, P.A. | Joanna Mitchell
    20 days from the date of service, including weekend days. You should probably consult with an attorney.
    Answer Applies to: Florida
    Replied: 7/15/2011
    ROWE LAW FIRM
    ROWE LAW FIRM | Jeffrey S. Wittenbrink
    Generally you must reply within 15 days; if you live out of state you may have 30 days.
    Answer Applies to: Louisiana
    Replied: 7/15/2011
    Apple Law Firm PLLC
    Apple Law Firm PLLC | David Goldman
    You have 20 days to respond unless discovery is served with the complaint
    Answer Applies to: Florida
    Replied: 7/15/2011
    Michael Apicella
    Michael Apicella | Apicella Law and Mediation
    30 days, unless given an extension by the petitioner. The Summons, which you should have been served with the petition, states the 30 day response time on the first page.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/15/2011
    Willick Law Group
    Willick Law Group | Marshal S. Willick
    You should have received a copy of a "Summons" along with the "Complaint" - it should explain that you have 20 days from date of service to respond. If a Motion was served at the same time, the time to respond to that is shorter - ten days, although extensions are often sought and granted. You should confer with qualified counsel quickly.
    Answer Applies to: Nevada
    Replied: 7/15/2011
    Ashman Law Office
    Ashman Law Office | Glen Edward Ashman
    Usually 30 days, and do not even think of doing that without counsel. A response needs to include proper legal defenses, an answer, a counterclaim, and may also include other pleadings and discovery. In some cases there will be tactical reasons to do certain things at certain times. Get counsel ASAP.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 7/15/2011
    Law Office of L. Paul Zahn
    Law Office of L. Paul Zahn | Paul Zahn
    30 days before a default can be taken, but any time so long as a default has not been entered.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/15/2011
    Petit & Dommershausen SC
    Petit & Dommershausen SC | Tajara Dommershausen
    20 Days.
    Answer Applies to: Wisconsin
    Replied: 7/15/2011
    Edwin Fahlen Attorney at Law
    Edwin Fahlen Attorney at Law | Edwin Fahlen
    When the service of process is personal, the Respondent has thirty (30) calendar days to respond to the Petition. If the 30th day is on a weekend, or legal Holiday, the time to respond is to the next court day. If the serves is by substituted service, the time is extended by ten (10) days. If the service is by Notice and Acknowledgment of Receipt, the response time is thirty (30) days from the date placed next to the signature on the Acknowledgment. However, unlike a civil case, the Petitioner must serve additional documents upon the Respondent before a Default may be entered after the time has lapsed for a Response to be filed.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/15/2011
    Law Office Of Jody A. Miller
    Law Office Of Jody A. Miller | Jody A. Miller
    The summons should tell you that you have 30 days to respond. There is no such thing as a default judgment in divorce cases, but if you do not timely file defensive pleadings, you can lose your rights to assert a claim. Therefore, you should file an answer within at least 30-45 days.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 7/15/2011
    The Davies Law Firm, P.A.
    The Davies Law Firm, P.A. | Robert F. Davies, Esq.
    35 days, and you should get on it.
    Answer Applies to: New Jersey
    Replied: 7/15/2011
    Vincent J. Bernabei LLC
    Vincent J. Bernabei LLC | Vincent J. Bernabei
    30 days.
    Answer Applies to: Oregon
    Replied: 7/15/2011
Click to View More Answers:
12 3 4 5 6 7 Free Legal QuestionsConnect with a local attorney