How long do I have if I have to file a lawsuit after being involved in an accident? 19 Answers as of September 01, 2015

If I need to file a lawsuit after being involved in an accident what is the time limit?

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Durham Jones & Pinegar | Erven Nelson
In most states, the deadline is two years after the accident occurred.
Answer Applies to: Nevada
Replied: 9/1/2015
Stephens Gourley & Bywater | David A. Stephens
Two years in Nevada.
Answer Applies to: Nevada
Replied: 8/21/2015
Ty Wilson Law | Ty Wilson
Typically it is two years from the date of the collision however, there are matters which can toll it beyond that time. You should speak with a personal injury attorney in Georgia.
Answer Applies to: Georgia
Replied: 8/20/2015
Behren Law Firm
Behren Law Firm | Scott Behren
Typical statute of limitations is 4 years.
Answer Applies to: Florida
Replied: 8/20/2015
Law Offices of Ronald A. Steinberg & Associates | Ronald A. Steinberg, BA, MA, JD
In Michigan, you have 3 years from the accident date for any tort claim (except against the government). A suit for No Fault benefits against your auto carrier must be filed within one year of the oldest unpaid benefit.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 8/20/2015
    Kelaher Law Offices, P.A.
    Kelaher Law Offices, P.A. | James P Kelaher
    The statute of limitations for simple negligence (like an auto accident or a slip & fall) in Florida is 4 years, so you have 4 years within which to file a lawsuit from the date of the accident. There are exceptions, however, such as an accident on a cruise ship. The tickets for a cruise frequently have written on them that the passenger has to bring a claim within one year, and that has been upheld by the courts as imposing a shortened statute of limitation.
    Answer Applies to: Florida
    Replied: 8/20/2015
    Robinette Legal Group, PLLC
    Robinette Legal Group, PLLC | Jeffery Robinette
    In West Virginia you have two years from the date of the accident to file a lawsuit. The longer you wait, the more difficult your case will be to prove. Evidence and witnesses may disappear, and you may find excellent attorneys are reluctant to take on your case at the last moment. Call a National Board Certified trial lawyer today for a free consultation.
    Answer Applies to: West Virginia
    Replied: 8/20/2015
    Gregory M Janks, PC
    Gregory M Janks, PC | Gregory M Janks
    There are different time limits for different types of claims/actions. So you are best to consult with a local attorney who regularly handles whatever type of claim you have to get the specifics of what is required to prove a case of that type, what the chances are of success with your specific facts and what the time limit may be.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 8/20/2015
    Law Offices of George H. Shers | George H. Shers
    In California, you have two years in which to sue for personal injuries and three for property damage.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/20/2015
    The Law Offices of Russell Gregory, P.C.
    The Law Offices of Russell Gregory, P.C. | Russell Gregory
    The general rule is 3 years from the accident date, but it can vary depending upon the vehicle owners, the circumstances, etc. The bottom line is, do not wait. Typically, it only hurts your case (other example are: records get lost, witnesses disappear, injuries improve, etc.).
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 8/20/2015
    End, Hierseman & Crain, LLC | J. Michael End
    The Wisconsin statute of limitations for personal injury cases is three years from the date of the accident. Minors have a longer statute of limitations.
    Answer Applies to: Wisconsin
    Replied: 8/20/2015
    Gregory S. Shurman, LLC
    Gregory S. Shurman, LLC | Gregory S Shurman
    Tha time limit in Georgia is usually two years. You should consult with an attorney to get an answer for your situation.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 8/20/2015
    Adler Law Group, LLC
    Adler Law Group, LLC | Lawrence Adler
    Generally two years
    Answer Applies to: Connecticut
    Replied: 8/19/2015
    Law Offices of Richard M. Levy P.C.
    Law Offices of Richard M. Levy P.C. | Richard M. Levy
    An action has to be started for an auto case within 3 years of the date of the incident if it involves non-government liable parties.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 8/19/2015
    James E. Hasser, Jr. P.C.
    James E. Hasser, Jr. P.C. | Jim Hasser
    You have 2 years from the date of the accident to file a claim for negligence.
    Answer Applies to: Alabama
    Replied: 8/19/2015
    Musilli Brennan Associates PLLC
    Musilli Brennan Associates PLLC | John F Brennan
    There are various statutes of limitations and contractual limitations regarding filing claims as a result of an automobile accident. I would suggest that you seek the counsel of an attorney as soon as possible as some of the time limits can be extremely short, one year or less.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 8/19/2015
    Chalat Hatten Koupal & Banker PC
    Chalat Hatten Koupal & Banker PC | Linda Chalat
    In Colorado the statute of limitations provides for a two year period in which you must file most personal injury claims, but for motor vehicle accidents you have a three year period in which to file your lawsuit. Other time limitations may apply depending upon the type of claim and against whom you wish to file.
    Answer Applies to: Colorado
    Replied: 8/19/2015
Click to View More Answers:
12 3 4 Free Legal QuestionsConnect with a local attorney