How long can a person accuse the victim of being rape? 10 Answers as of March 25, 2013

I have a relative, that is incarcerated for rape charges, that supposedly happen about two to three decades.

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
The Law Offices of John J. Carney Esq.
The Law Offices of John J. Carney Esq. | John J. Carney
There is no statute of limitations for rape. He should be able to win unless they have forensic evidence.
Answer Applies to: New York
Replied: 3/25/2013
Edward  D. Dowling IV Attorney at Law
Edward D. Dowling IV Attorney at Law | Edward D. Dowling IV
I would need further information to answer, such as does you question mean how long can the person be kept in jail / If so then it would depend on what the sentence was. You should consult an attorney and disclose all the facts and circumstances.
Answer Applies to: New York
Replied: 3/24/2013
Timothy J. Thill P.C.
Timothy J. Thill P.C. | Timothy J. Thill
In Illinois, charges can be lodged for 3 years after the victim reoprts the crime to the authorities. This is unlike most felony cases, where there is a 3 year statute of limitation from date of incident to filing of charges.
Answer Applies to: Illinois
Replied: 3/21/2013
Hammerschmidt Broughton Law
Hammerschmidt Broughton Law | Mark A. Broughton
That is a complicated question. Under the right legal circumstances, the statute of limitations does not begin to run for years or decades after a crime such as this was allegedly committed. And there are some special laws/rules that apply to these types of cases. On the other hand, if those special legal circumstances are not met the statute of limitations will have run, barring the filing of charges. So it is a very "fact specific" analysis, and the accused's lawyer will scrupulously review the information to evaluate any potential defenses in this regard.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 3/21/2013
Cynthia Henley, Lawyer
Cynthia Henley, Lawyer | Cynthia Henley
How long can a person accuse a victim? The statute of limitations depends on the age of the complainant at the time of the act but it could be up to life.
Answer Applies to: Texas
Replied: 3/21/2013
    Lawrence Lewis
    Lawrence Lewis | Lawrence Lewis, PC
    Write back with an intelligent question. The victim is rape? Who other than the victim himself or herself tell the victim she was raped. How can a victim be accused of being raped? Basic English grammar is all that is required. See website for info on sex offenses: http://www.lawrencelewispc.com/pages.php?go=pinfo&PID=43
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 3/21/2013
    Michael Breczinski
    Michael Breczinski | Michael Breczinski
    This depends on the State where the crime occurred. Each State sets it's own Statute of Limitations and for some crimes there may be no cut off point.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 3/21/2013
    Freeborn Law Offices, P.S.
    Freeborn Law Offices, P.S. | Steve Freeborn
    not enough info.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 3/21/2013
    Law office of Robert D. Scott | Robert Scott
    The statute of limitations for rape is generally 4 to 5 years.
    Answer Applies to: Maryland
    Replied: 3/21/2013
    Connell-Savela
    Connell-Savela | Jason Savela
    Many sexual assaults do not have a statute of limitations but the older the case, the more difficult it is to prove accused should not talk with police, not talk on jail phone about case and get a good lawyer asap - just tell police Ii want a lawyer" and nothing else
    Answer Applies to: Colorado
    Replied: 3/21/2013
Click to View More Answers: