How long can I receive for a DWI and leaving the scene of an accident? 2 Answers as of December 30, 2014

How long can I receive for a DWI and leaving the scene of an accident?

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Team Green Lawyers, PLLC
Team Green Lawyers, PLLC | Scott Brenneck
If you are talking about how long of a sentence you could receive that will largely depend on your history. For sake of this discussion, I will assume that you are a first time offender charged with misdemeanors. If that is the case, the maximum jail sentence for a misdemeanor is 12 months and the maximum consecutive misdemeanor sentences allowable is two. That is not to say you will actually serve jail time. Your sentence depends on many things and I would encourage you to speak to an attorney about your specific situation.
Answer Applies to: New York
Replied: 12/30/2014
Rothstein Law PLLC
Rothstein Law PLLC | Eric Rothstein
Assuming you were charged with the misdemeanor the max is 1 year although I am not suggesting that will happen. Hire a good criminal defense lawyer.
Answer Applies to: New York
Replied: 12/30/2014
Click to View More Answers: