How long can I be blackmailed for stealing something? 33 Answers as of June 13, 2013

I stole something from my parents and sold it. I was caught. Then they filed a police report and a day later they decided to cancel the police report somehow (I saw them file the report) and now six months later they have continually been making me their house slave and its getting ridiculous and I need to know how long they can do this.

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Law office of Robert D. Scott | Robert Scott
The statute of limitations for a misdeanor is 3 years.
Answer Applies to: Maryland
Replied: 9/12/2012
Edward  D. Dowling IV Attorney at Law
Edward D. Dowling IV Attorney at Law | Edward D. Dowling IV
This is not a legal question. It is between you and your parents.
Answer Applies to: New York
Replied: 9/5/2012
Law Offices of Mark L. Smith
Law Offices of Mark L. Smith | Mark L. Smith
For three years - criminal statute of limitations.
Answer Applies to: Rhode Island
Replied: 9/5/2012
Law & Mediation Office of Jeffrey L. Pollock, Esq.
Law & Mediation Office of Jeffrey L. Pollock, Esq. | Jeffrey Lawrence Pollock
I guess until you confess or the Statute of Limitations expires.
Answer Applies to: Pennsylvania
Replied: 9/5/2012
The Law Offices of Stephen L. Richards | Stephen L. Richards
As long as they want. They are your parents.
Answer Applies to: Illinois
Replied: 9/5/2012
    Steven Alpers | Steven Alpers
    Probably until you move out.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 9/5/2012
    Randall M. England, Attorney at Law
    Randall M. England, Attorney at Law | Randall M. England
    Charges can be filed anytime within the statute of limitations: generally one year for a misdemeanor and 3 years for a felony. Stealing something more than $500 is a felony. There is also long list of items in the Missouri Revised Statutes at section 570.030 which are always felony to steal, regardless of value.
    Answer Applies to: Missouri
    Replied: 9/5/2012
    Law Offices of John Carney
    Law Offices of John Carney | John Carney
    You should not complain since you stole from your own parents and they did not make you get a criminal record that would have hurt your chances of getting a decent job or getting into college. That could ruin your chances of success and you can now start with a clean record. They are trying to "teach you a lesson" and punish you so you get the message, not use you for slave labor. Children cost a million dollars to raise and educate and thousands of hours of putting up with them, taking case of them, driving them everywhere, taking them to the doctor, dentist, and activities. They are more the slave to your needs, not the other way around but you just do not see it that way. You embarrassed them, hurt their feelings, betrayed them, hurt their reputation, and decided to do all of this for a few dollars. I hope that changes your perception of the matter and I am sure that you learned your lesson and will not steal, lie, cheat, or hurt your parents again.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 9/5/2012
    Freeborn Law Offices, P.S.
    Freeborn Law Offices, P.S. | Steve Freeborn
    As long as you want to put up with it; however, the consequences for not doing what they want is the potential for criminal charges and the legal consequences that go with that. I guess its up to you.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 9/4/2012
    Pingelton Law Firm | Dan Pingelton
    House slave? You need to grow up.
    Answer Applies to: Missouri
    Replied: 9/4/2012
    Law Office of Brendan M. Kelly
    Law Office of Brendan M. Kelly | Brendan M. Kelly
    They can do it until you object to being their house slave.
    Answer Applies to: Nebraska
    Replied: 9/4/2012
    Law Office of Mark Bruce
    Law Office of Mark Bruce | Mark Corwin Bruce
    OOOOOOOOOkay. You can stop now. The police will not re-file just because they now ask them to. The police do not take kindly to being used as a disciplinary tool for people's children.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 9/4/2012
    Lawrence Lewis
    Lawrence Lewis | Lawrence Lewis, PC
    Just move out. Oh you can't, then that's that.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 9/4/2012
    Myles Hahn III Attorney at Law | Myles Hahn III
    The authorities can charge someone with a misdemeanor crime usually by filing charges within 18 months of when it happened. Have a good talk with your parents. Assure them that you have thought about it, and you know that you badly violated their trust. Look for constructive ways to rebuild the trust. Don't let the relationship get worse. Or you will ultimately move out and away from them.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 9/4/2012
    Palumbo and Kosofsky
    Palumbo and Kosofsky | Michael Palumbo
    A more practical solution would be to move
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 8/30/2012
    Law Office of Jeff Yeh
    Law Office of Jeff Yeh | Jeff Yeh
    They can do it forever. Oh and by the way, there is no such thing as "cancelling" a police report. Once it is filed the ship has sailed.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/30/2012
    Leonard A. Kaanta, P.C. | Leonard A. Kaanta
    They have no right to do so. But they can file charges against you.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 8/30/2012
    Ryan Maesen PLC | Ryan Maesen
    This is not a legal matter but a family matter.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 8/30/2012
    Harden Law Offices
    Harden Law Offices | Leonard D. Harden
    Legally it depends on value of thing if greater than 500 then up to 3 years, if less then 1 year. However, parents will likely use this for the rest of their lives. A parent will use guilt for as long as possible.
    Answer Applies to: New Hampshire
    Replied: 8/30/2012
    R. Jason de Groot, P.A
    R. Jason de Groot, P.A | R. Jason de Groot
    When you steal something and sell it, you could be sentenced to up to 15 years in prison. Take whatever they dish out, it is bound to be better than prison for even one year.
    Answer Applies to: Florida
    Replied: 8/30/2012
    Jason Overton, Attorney at Law
    Jason Overton, Attorney at Law | Jason Overton
    For the rest of your life, or until you get a job, move out, and start paying your own bills
    Answer Applies to: Alabama
    Replied: 8/30/2012
    Michael Breczinski
    Michael Breczinski | Michael Breczinski
    You are not being blackmailed. They are trying to make sure you live an honest life. If they did not care for you they would just kick you out. You can go to prison for stealing things from a building. Up to 4 years.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 8/30/2012
    Healan Law Offices
    Healan Law Offices | William D. Healan, III
    I guess until the statute of limitations runs. 2 years for a misdemeanor, 4 years for a felony. I wouldn?t steal from them again if I were you.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 8/30/2012
    Mary W Craig P.C. | Mary W Craig
    You stole from your parents and you're angry with them because they are, in your words, making you their house slave. If you don't like what's happening at home, either move out, or get used to it. If you stole from your parents, you have no reason to complain. They have a right to be angry and you have no right to be resentful.
    Answer Applies to: Alabama
    Replied: 8/30/2012
    Gary Moore, Attorney at Law
    Gary Moore, Attorney at Law | Gary Moore
    You stole from your parents? What is the penalty for treason?
    Answer Applies to: New Jersey
    Replied: 6/13/2013
    Law Office of William L Spern | William Spern
    Blackmailing anyone is illegal. Report it to the police
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 8/30/2012
Click to View More Answers:
12 3 4 5 6 Free Legal QuestionsConnect with a local attorney