How long before I can file a default in uncontested divorce? 4 Answers as of August 01, 2011

I have filed the paperwork for my divorce and the other party was served in March 2011. The proof of service wasn't filed though until July 2011. Which date is the one to refer to when wanting to file a default judgment?

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Wallin & Klarich: A Law Corporation
Wallin & Klarich: A Law Corporation | Paul Wallin
The July date.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 8/1/2011
Warner Center Law Offices of Donald F. Conviser
Warner Center Law Offices of Donald F. Conviser | Donald F. Conviser
The date of service is the operative date from which you start counting the 30 days within which the Response should have been filed for purposes of your Request to Enter Default.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 8/1/2011
Law Office of Patricia Van Haren
Law Office of Patricia Van Haren | Patricia Van Haren
The date to refer to is the date that the other party was personally served.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 7/31/2011
Law Offices of Paul A. Eads, A.P.C.
Law Offices of Paul A. Eads, A.P.C. | Paul A. Eads
Date he was served. Must be 30 days after before you can file Fl165 request to enter default. Good luck.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 7/31/2011
Click to View More Answers: