How long after an accident do I have to sue? 71 Answers as of June 21, 2013

I got hit by a taxi july 22 2010 and havent filed a lawsuit yet. Did I wait too long or do I still have more time?

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Attorneys Gonzales & Gonzales
Attorneys Gonzales & Gonzales | Marissa Gonzales
You still have time.
Answer Applies to: Texas
Replied: 6/21/2013
Law Offices of Earl K. Straight
Law Offices of Earl K. Straight | Earl K. Straight
In Texas you must file a lawsuit within two years of the date of the accident.
Answer Applies to: Texas
Replied: 8/11/2011
Law Offices of Richard Copeland, LLC
Law Offices of Richard Copeland, LLC | Richard Copeland
A person injured in an automobile accident has three years to sue under Colorado law. However, don't wait. If you are going to pursue a claim, pursue it now and remain persistent.
Answer Applies to: Colorado
Replied: 8/10/2011
Link & Smith, P.C.
Link & Smith, P.C. | Houston Smith
In Georgia, the statue of limitations for personal injury actions is two (2) years from the date of injury.
Answer Applies to: Georgia
Replied: 8/8/2011
Bristol & Dubiel LLP
Bristol & Dubiel LLP | Murray L. Bristol
The statute of limitations in Texas is 2 years from the date of accident to sue.
Answer Applies to: Texas
Replied: 8/8/2011
    Law Offices of Tom Patton
    Law Offices of Tom Patton | Thomas C. Patton
    It depends upon where the accident occurred. In Oregon, the statute of limitations is 2 years, in Washington it is 3 years. So if the accident happened in Oregon or Washington, you still have time.
    Answer Applies to: Oregon
    Replied: 8/8/2011
    Vincent J. Bernabei LLC
    Vincent J. Bernabei LLC | Vincent J. Bernabei
    Usually 2 years, but if you've received some payments, such as medical payments or car repairs, from the taxi's owner or insurer, this could be extended. You should contact an attorney right away.
    Answer Applies to: Oregon
    Replied: 8/8/2011
    Berg & McLaughlin, Chtd.
    Berg & McLaughlin, Chtd. | Stephen Snedden
    No, you have not waited too long. The statute of limitations is likely two years. Call me for a free consultation if you want to talk about it more
    Answer Applies to: Idaho
    Replied: 8/8/2011
    Paul Whitfield and Associates P.A.
    Paul Whitfield and Associates P.A. | Paul L. Whitfield
    3 years from date of injury
    Answer Applies to: North Carolina
    Replied: 8/8/2011
    Dwyer, Black & Lyle, LLP
    Dwyer, Black & Lyle, LLP | Kevin Habberfield
    Sorry to hear you were struck. Typically, in New York, you have 3 years from the date of the negligence to bring a claim in suit. Sometimes this can be shorter if there is municipal involvement. Regardless, get to an attorney right now because waiting will only hurt you. Also, you likely need to satisfy the serious injury threshold but, your attorney can explain that to you. Lastly, make sure you fill out your no-fault application immediately. Good luck.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 8/8/2011
    David F. Stoddard
    David F. Stoddard | David F. Stoddard
    In South Carolina, you have three years from the date of the accident to file suit. If you are suing the government or a charity, it is two years.
    Answer Applies to: South Carolina
    Replied: 8/8/2011
    Wilson & Hajek, LLC
    Wilson & Hajek, LLC | Eddie W. Wilson
    In Virginia you have two years from the date of the incident.
    Answer Applies to: Virginia
    Replied: 8/8/2011
    Andrew T. Velonis, P.C.
    Andrew T. Velonis, P.C. | Andrew Velonis
    The statute of limitations is three years.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 8/8/2011
    Cody and Gonillo, LLP
    Cody and Gonillo, LLP | Christine Gonilla
    ordinarily 2 years from date of injury
    Answer Applies to: Connecticut
    Replied: 8/8/2011
    Coulter's Law
    Coulter's Law | Coulter K. Richardson
    You have two years from the date of the incident. Don't wait too long, witnesses move away and memories fade.
    Answer Applies to: New Jersey
    Replied: 8/8/2011
    Lacy Fields, Attorney at Law, LLC
    Lacy Fields, Attorney at Law, LLC | Lacy Fields
    You still have plenty of time to sue, however, the sooner you get an attorney, the better. That is because we immediately begin gathering evidence before the evidence is gone, and we interview witnesses before they forget what happened. If you need any help with this, please contact my firm. We handle many car accident cases, including those involving pedestrians.
    Answer Applies to: Missouri
    Replied: 8/8/2011
    Law Office of Jared Altman
    Law Office of Jared Altman | Jared Altman
    You have three years.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 8/7/2011
    Gregory Casale Attorney at Law
    Gregory Casale Attorney at Law | Gregory Casale
    Typically the statute of limitations on a personal injury suit is 3 years from the date of loss. However, each case is different and some cases require notice to be given right away, others have a 2 year statute of limitations. You should consult with an lawyer ASAP to make sure that you preserve your rights, assuming they are not gone already.
    Answer Applies to: Massachusetts
    Replied: 8/7/2011
    Kelaher Law Offices, P.A.
    Kelaher Law Offices, P.A. | James P Kelaher
    In Florida, you have four years within which to file a lawsuit.
    Answer Applies to: Florida
    Replied: 8/7/2011
    ROWE LAW FIRM
    ROWE LAW FIRM | Jeffrey S. Wittenbrink
    The normal time limit for filing an injury suit in Louisiana is one year, with a few exceptions. You should see an attorney right away to determine whether or not your suit may still be viable.
    Answer Applies to: Louisiana
    Replied: 8/7/2011
    Wilson & Hajek,LLC, a personal injury law firm
    Wilson & Hajek,LLC, a personal injury law firm | Francis Hajek
    In Virginia, the statute of limitations, the period in which you have to file a lawsuit, is two years for most personal injury cases. The time limit runs from the date of the accident (in most cases). There are exceptions to every rule and you should consult an injury lawyer to see if your case is ordinary and governed by the 2 year limit or if there is an applicable exception. You should be aware that the jurisdictional limit for general district court increased to $25,000 this past July 1. So if your claim is worth under that amount, you can have a quick result in that court.
    Answer Applies to: Virginia
    Replied: 8/7/2011
    Patrick M Lamar Attorney
    Patrick M Lamar Attorney | Patrick M Lamar
    lawsuit yet.
    Answer Applies to: Alabama
    Replied: 8/7/2011
    The Law Office of Eric R. Chandler, P.C., L.L.O.
    The Law Office of Eric R. Chandler, P.C., L.L.O. | Eric R. Chandler
    In Nebraska, typically, it is 4 years. The period can be shorter depending on the circumstances.
    Answer Applies to: Nebraska
    Replied: 8/7/2011
    The Law Firm of Reed & Mansfield
    The Law Firm of Reed & Mansfield | Jonathan C. Reed
    In Nevada the statute of limitations for a personal injury claim such as your is two years. Therefore, a lawsuit could be filed up to July 21, 2012 (or possibly July 22, 2012). However, you should be aware of the following: 1) Most lawyers don't want you as a client if the statute is about to run not yet an issue for you because then the lawyer could be liable if he or she doesn't rush and get the suit filed or names the wrong defendant, and 2) If you haven't had any treatment yet and if you haven't put the adverse insurance carrier on notice that you were hurt, this will make the defense wonder if you were really hurt. Good luck
    Answer Applies to: Nevada
    Replied: 8/7/2011
    The Lucky Law Firm, PLC
    The Lucky Law Firm, PLC | Robert Morrison Lucky
    In Louisiana, you have one year from the date if the accident to file suit. It appears you are too late.
    Answer Applies to: Louisiana
    Replied: 8/7/2011
    Bernard Huff, Attorney/Mediator
    Bernard Huff, Attorney/Mediator | Bernard Huff
    Indiana has a two year statute of limitation for bringing personal injury lawsuit. Find out what your State's statute of limitation is and/or contact a local plaintiff's personal injury attorney to represent you.
    Answer Applies to: Indiana
    Replied: 8/6/2011
    Kirshner & Groff
    Kirshner & Groff | Richard M. Kirshner
    4 years
    Answer Applies to: Florida
    Replied: 8/6/2011
    The Law Office of Stephen R. Chesley, LLC
    The Law Office of Stephen R. Chesley, LLC | Stephen R. Chesley
    If the accident occurred in NY you have three years to bring a lawsuit. However your claim for medical expenses has expired because under no fault law a report must be made to the insurance carrier within a reasonable period of time. In order to bring a lawsuit it is no.t enough to be in an accident there has to be some injury I suggest that you contact a lawyer to discuss your case. If you would like to discuss this matter further.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 8/6/2011
    Law Offices of Timothy G. Kearney, LLC
    Law Offices of Timothy G. Kearney, LLC | Timothy G. Kearney
    There is a two year Statute of Limitations on a pi claim. With that said, you should consult with an attorney to protect yourself.
    Answer Applies to: Connecticut
    Replied: 8/6/2011
    Klisz Law Office, PLLC
    Klisz Law Office, PLLC | Timothy J. Klisz
    You have three years from the date of the accident to file suit. Medical bills are a different story and could be a problem.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 8/6/2011
    Law Office of Ronald Arthur Lowry
    Law Office of Ronald Arthur Lowry | Ronald Arthur Lowry
    The statute of limitations to file a lawsuit for a personal injury claim in Georgia is 2 years. I would not wait that long however as evidence will disappear and witnesses will get out of pocket. You have already waited longer than a year. Many lawyers will not accept a case where the statute of limitations is close to running. Get a lawyer who is experienced in personal injury matters NOW.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 8/6/2011
    Law Office of Russell D. Gray, PC
    Law Office of Russell D. Gray, PC | Russell D. Gray
    The statute of limitations in Utah for negligence is 4 years. However, if you have recovered from your injuries you should find an attorney and start pursuing the case now.
    Answer Applies to: Utah
    Replied: 8/6/2011
    Oliver Law Office
    Oliver Law Office | Jami Oliver
    That statute of limitations for negligence claims in Ohio is 2 years from the date of injury.
    Answer Applies to: Ohio
    Replied: 8/6/2011
    Magnuson Lowell P.S.
    Magnuson Lowell P.S. | Richard S. Lowell
    In Washington, you have 3 years.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 8/6/2011
    The Torkzadeh Law Firm
    The Torkzadeh Law Firm | Reza Torkzadeh
    You need to immediately speak with an attorney who can properly look at the applicable statutes of limitations in your case. Typically, there is a 2-years statute of limitations on bodily injuries claims. That means that you have two (2) years from the date of your injury to file a suit to preserve your statute. Should you fail to do so, you will forever lose your rights to make a claim. However, there are instances, for example, claims against government entities or public entities which have a six (6) month statute to file your claim. Again, you should immediately speak with an attorney who can properly look at your specific situation.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 9/19/2012
    Garruto & Calabria, LLC
    Garruto & Calabria, LLC | Andrew F. Garruto
    Assuming that you are 18 years or older at the time of the accident, the statute of limitations for personal injury cases in the state of new jersey is two years from the date of the accident. Because July 22, 2012 falls on a Sunday, and the courts are therefore closed, you get the extra day and the last day you can file the lawsuit is July 23, 2012 in your case - again, assuming that you were 18 years of age or older on July 22, 2010.
    Answer Applies to: New Jersey
    Replied: 8/6/2011
    Law Offices of Andrew D. Myers
    Law Offices of Andrew D. Myers | Andrew D. Myers
    The Statute of Limitations in New Hampshire is 3 years. However, with respect to various insurance benefits there are short notice provisions. Also, if you seek benefits such as medical payments or uninsured/underinsured you have a duty of cooperation with your insurance company which includes the duty of prompt notice.
    Answer Applies to: New Hampshire
    Replied: 8/6/2011
    Lyle B. Masnikoff and Associates
    Lyle B. Masnikoff and Associates | Lyle B. Masnikoff
    4 years from date of accident
    Answer Applies to: Florida
    Replied: 8/6/2011
    Andrew R. Lynch, P.C.
    Andrew R. Lynch, P.C. | Andrew R. Lynch
    Two years.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 8/6/2011
    Olson Althauser Samuelson & Rayan, LLP
    Olson Althauser Samuelson & Rayan, LLP | Todd S. Rayan
    Generally the statute of limitations on personal injuries is 3 years.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 8/6/2011
    The Law Office of Josh Lamborn, P.C.
    The Law Office of Josh Lamborn, P.C. | Josh Lamborn
    Every state has statutes of limitations that cut off your right to sue after a certain period of time. In Oregon most personal injury lawsuits must be filed within two years of the incident. There are some exceptions to this general rule, but you should be well within the statute in your case. Having said that, you should not wait until the last minute to pursue your case. If you get too close to the time limit and then make a mistake filing your case you won't have the ability to re-file.
    Answer Applies to: Oregon
    Replied: 8/6/2011
    Timothy Jones, Attorney at Law
    Timothy Jones, Attorney at Law | Timothy Jones
    You have 2 years from the date of the accident to either settle your claim with the responsible party, or to file your lawsuit.
    Answer Applies to: Oregon
    Replied: 8/5/2011
    Premier Law Group
    Premier Law Group | Jason Epstein
    In general the statute of limitations for an auto accident is three years from the date of injury. There can, however, be other important factors that may change that. You should speak to an attorney about your case specifically.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 8/5/2011
    Law Office of Mark J. Leonardo
    Law Office of Mark J. Leonardo | Mark Leonardo
    You have 2 years from the date of the accident to sue. Code of Civil Procedure section 335.1 states: 335.1. Within two years: An action for assault, battery, or injury to, or for the death of, an individual caused by the wrongful act or neglect of another.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/5/2011
    Potter Law Offices
    Potter Law Offices | Cal J. Potter, III, Esq.
    6 months against a governmental defendant and 2 years against all other defendants.
    Answer Applies to: Nevada
    Replied: 8/5/2011
    The S.E. Farris Law Firm
    The S.E. Farris Law Firm | Spencer E. Farris
    The statute of limitations for a personal injury suit in Missouri is 5 years. Malpractice and death cases are different, but that is the general rule. The problem you have in delaying, especially with a taxi company, is that they disappear. Evidence gets harder to gather, witness memories fade and so on. Taxi companies are often under insured if they have coverage at all. Their assets are minimal and frequently held in shell companies. You should contact an attorney immediately to discuss this matter.
    Answer Applies to: Missouri
    Replied: 8/5/2011
    Bulman Law Associates PLLC Injury Law Firm
    Bulman Law Associates PLLC Injury Law Firm | Thomas Bulman
    Montana has a 3 year statute of limitation.
    Answer Applies to: Montana
    Replied: 8/5/2011
    Rothstein Law PLLC
    Rothstein Law PLLC | Eric Rothstein
    3 years in New York. In order to have a case, you need to show you had "serious injury" as defined under the Insurance Law. I am a former federal and State prosecutor and now handle accident cases so feel free to check out my web site and contact me to discuss your case.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 8/5/2011
    Beaver Holt Sternlicht and Courie, P.A.
    Beaver Holt Sternlicht and Courie, P.A. | Mark A. Sternlicht
    The statute of limitations for negligence claims is 3 years in North Carolina.
    Answer Applies to: North Carolina
    Replied: 8/5/2011
    Law Offices of Steven A. Fink
    Law Offices of Steven A. Fink | Steven Alan Fink
    You have until July 21, 2012, but don't delay. The meter is running.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 8/5/2011
    Allen Murphy Law
    Allen Murphy Law | W. Riley Allen
    You have up to 4 years in Florida from the date of accident assuming it's a private cab company.
    Answer Applies to: Florida
    Replied: 8/5/2011
    Fox Law Firm LLC
    Fox Law Firm LLC | Tina Fox
    SOL is 2 years.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 8/5/2011
    Miller & Harrison, LLC
    Miller & Harrison, LLC | David Harrison
    It depends somewhat on the facts (like were you in a car or a pedestrian, etc.) but you probably have two years and maybe three years to file a lawsuit. You should immediately locate and hire a personal injury lawyer in your area.
    Answer Applies to: Colorado
    Replied: 8/5/2011
    Ackley Law Group, PLLC
    Ackley Law Group, PLLC | Andrew N. Ackley
    The statute of limitations for auto accidents in Washington is three years from the date of the accident.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 8/5/2011
    Matthew D Kaplan LLC
    Matthew D Kaplan LLC | Matthew D Kaplan
    Oregon has a two year statute of limitations.
    Answer Applies to: Oregon
    Replied: 8/5/2011
    A. Daniel Woska & Associates, P.C.
    A. Daniel Woska & Associates, P.C. | Dan Woska
    The statute of limitations in Oklahoma is 2 years from the date of the injury. If the accident was July 22, 2010, you still have almost 11 months left to file.
    Answer Applies to: Oklahoma
    Replied: 8/5/2011
    Law Office of Travis Prestwich, PC
    Law Office of Travis Prestwich, PC | Travis Prestwich
    In Oregon, you typically have two years in which to either settle your claim or file a lawsuit to protect your interests. There are some exceptions due to the type of claim and/or the type of at-fault party.
    Answer Applies to: Oregon
    Replied: 8/5/2011
    Rogoway Green, LLP
    Rogoway Green, LLP | Douglas Green
    It depends on where you want to file suit, against whom, and for what. Assuming that the accident occurred in Oregon and the defendant (the person you want to sue) is an Oregon resident, then you will have to file suit in Oregon. Assuming also that you want to sue them for accident-related injuries, ie, negligence, then you would have 2yrs from the date of the accident to file suit.
    Answer Applies to: Oregon
    Replied: 8/5/2011
Click to View More Answers:
12 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Free Legal QuestionsConnect with a local attorney