The Short Law Group, P.C. | Shawn Kollie
Under Oregon Law there are several reasons for a suspension. First, the DMV will suspend a license for 90 days with a BAC test over .08, or 1 year for a refusal. A DUI conviction will lead to a 1 year suspension (for the first conviction) but this can run concurrent to the DMV suspension. With additional conviction you may fall under the "habitual offender" suspension, or worst of all have a "lifetime suspension" which means you are suspended for 10 years. The only way to drive during this time is with a Hardship/Probationary Permit (if you qualify) but this is only valid in Oregon. Talk with a knowledgeable DUI Lawyer with the details of your situation.
Answer Applies to: Oregon
Law Office of Phillip Weiser | Phillip L. Weiser
If the license was taken for a DUI charge, the State requires the police seize the license. The person must request a driver's license administrative hearing to determine whether the license will be suspended. After all hearings and suspensions are finished, the driver must obtain a new license at a driver's license facility. You will not get your original license back.
Answer Applies to: Kansas
Attorney at Law | Steven E. Ferguson
Your license was probably taken due to a breath test above the legal limit or a refusal to take a test. The officer should have given you a notice and 30 day temporary license. You must request in writing within 14 days of your arrest that the Department of Public Safety set a hearing on the breath test or refusal. You may be able to work out a work permit for the suspension period and then must pay the charges for reinstatement once the suspension period ends.
Answer Applies to: Oklahoma
Larry K. Dunn & Associates | Larry K. Dunn
If the police took your driver's license as a result of you being arrested for dui and having a blood/alcohol result of .08 or more, you will have to contact DMV, not the police, and determine the conditions for reinstatement.
Answer Applies to: Nevada
Law Offices of John Carney | John Carney
You have not told me what you were arrested for or charged with. I do not know if you were suspended or the license was altered or fake. I do not know if you were charged with DWI or some crime. You must give me the details in order to get a proper answer. If you don't ask a proper question a lawyer cannot give you a proper answer.
Answer Applies to: New York
Michael Breczinski | Michael Breczinski
Did you get pulled over for DUI? If so and they confiscated your license they should have given you a paper that has your breathtest results on it. (assuming you took one) Look at it. It is your license until the court case is completed.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
VANJOHNSON LAW FIRM, LLC | Anthony Overton Van Johnson
If your license was confiscated at the time of the DUI arrest, keep the citation in your possession while driving. In the event that your DUI charge is reduced to "reckless driving", you should be able to obtain your license from whichever agency is holding the license. If you are convicted of DUI, you will not be able to get your license back until it is reinstated. You may; however, be eligible for a "limited permit" (depending on the facts of your case).
Answer Applies to: Georgia
Law Offices of Stephanie Lee Ehrbright, Esq. | Stephanie Lee Ehrbright
You can call the police department and ask for the officer listed on your ticket, but it is probably easier to just order a new one from MVD's website. Realize though that if you got pulled over for a DUI there may be MVD consequences, for instance if the officer gave you a form called an Admin Per Se.
Answer Applies to: Arizona
Law Offices of Phil Hache | Phil Hache
If you were arrested for DUI, had a .08 BAC or higher, and a CA drivers license, then the officer is supposed to confiscate your license and give you a 30 day temp license. You or your attorney has 10 days from the arrest to request a DMV hearing and get a new temp license.
Answer Applies to: California
Correia-Champa & Mailhot | Susan Correia Champa
I would need more information, it depends upon why they confiscated your license. For example, if you were stopped for driving under the influence of alcohol and failed the breathalyzer the police will take your license. I would need additional information to better advise you.
Answer Applies to: Massachusetts
The Law Offices of Harold L. Wallin | Harold L. Wallin
It will be sent to the court where your case is being heard. Each court has its own procedures on when they release licenses back to defendants, but it usually only happens after you have resolved the case.
Answer Applies to: Illinois