How can I get my license back quickly after a DUI? 54 Answers as of June 29, 2013

How can I get my license back quickly? Is there a way to speed up the process?

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Cornish, Crowley, Rockafellow, & Sartz, PLLC
Cornish, Crowley, Rockafellow, & Sartz, PLLC | Jacob Peter Sartz IV
I'd recommend that you consult with a lawyer who handles license restoration claims. They may be able to review your traffic history and provide you with more information. Occasionally, you need to work through the Secretary of State's administrative process to get your license back and the process can be rather intensive. Ultimately, it depends on your circumstances.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 7/20/2012
Michael Breczinski
Michael Breczinski | Michael Breczinski
No there is not and no you can't.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 6/26/2012
The Short Law Group, P.C.
The Short Law Group, P.C. | Shawn Kollie
A person suspended for a DUI may be eligible for a Hardship/Probationary Permit during their suspension for a DUI. The factors depend on the number of prior convictions, as well as Implied Consent Rules you fall under. Contact a DUI Lawyer to discuss how we can help you to drive to and from work or to and from treatment with a Hardship/Probationary Permit..
Answer Applies to: Oregon
Replied: 6/21/2012
Law Office of Phillip Weiser
Law Office of Phillip Weiser | Phillip L. Weiser
A suspension carries a specific period which cannot be sped up.
Answer Applies to: Kansas
Replied: 6/20/2012
Law Office of Brendan M. Kelly
Law Office of Brendan M. Kelly | Brendan M. Kelly
The process is set by statute.
Answer Applies to: Nebraska
Replied: 6/29/2013
    Glass Defense Firm
    Glass Defense Firm | Jason M. Glass
    Generally there is no way to speed up the process unless you are suspended for a first offense under 0.15%. The suspension periods provided by DMV are generally not able to be reduced.
    Answer Applies to: West Virginia
    Replied: 6/20/2012
    Thomas J. Tomko Attorney At law
    Thomas J. Tomko Attorney At law | Thomas J. Tomko
    You should consult with the attorney who represented you. It is impossible to tell based on not knowing your background, charge, and prior charges. This should have all been explained to you by your attorney. I hope that this was helpful.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 6/19/2012
    Clinton Law Office | Michael Clinton
    In short there is no way to get your license back quickly. Many folks are able to get a license to operate a vehicle with an interlock device fairly soon after their DUI conviction.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 6/18/2012
    Freeborn Law Offices, P.S.
    Freeborn Law Offices, P.S. | Steve Freeborn
    You give me absolutely no facts to work with. How many DUIs have you had? Did you take a breath test? If so, what was the result? What else do you have on your record? The absolute minimum loss of license is for 90 days.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 6/18/2012
    Gregory Casale Attorney at Law
    Gregory Casale Attorney at Law | Gregory Casale
    It really depends on your case and your facts. There are some instances in which it is wise to plead out quickly and get back on the road with a hardship license. Theoretically, you can be on the road with the hardship license 3 business days after enrolling in the drunk driving program. However, this is so enticing for a reason and it might not be in your best interests to do this. It rarely is in fact. Speak to a lawyer who has expertise with drunk driving cases. Hire a Criminal Defense lawyer, who like myself, has tried these cases by jury. There is typically no fee for a telephone conversation/consultation. You only have one chance to get this right. Don't blow it!
    Answer Applies to: Massachusetts
    Replied: 6/18/2012
    Germaine & Blaszka, P.A.
    Germaine & Blaszka, P.A. | Donald L. Blaszka, Jr.
    In order to get your license reinstated in NH after you have been convicted or pled guilty to DUI, you must do the following: 1. Pay your fines in full; 2. Attend and successfully complete an approved Impaired Driver Intervention Program (IDIP); 3. Complete any and all aftercare recommendations made by the IDIP; 4. Waiting the required number of days of your suspension (for example a person who is a first time offender generally loses his or license for 9 months which can reduced to 90 days if you enter in the IDIP within 45 days after conviction); 5. Obtain an SR-22 insurance certificate from your car insurance company (your insurance company will file it with the Office of Financial Responsibility at the Division of Motor Vehicles) 6. Pay $100 reinstatement fee for your license and $25 for each car registered in your name; You will not be able to reinstate your license unless you complete all of the above requirements even if you have already passed the suspension time. For example, if you completed the IDIP but have not completed the aftercare counseling, you will not be able to reinstate your license even if you are on day 91 of suspension (assuming that you are eligible after 90days).
    Answer Applies to: New Hampshire
    Replied: 6/18/2012
    Law Office of Richard Williams
    Law Office of Richard Williams | Richard Williams
    The suspension of a driver's license is through the Alabama Department of Public Safety not through the Courts. You can request, if timely made, a per-suspension hearing. If you are denied at the hearing you can file an appeal.
    Answer Applies to: Alabama
    Replied: 6/18/2012
    Law Office of Eric Sterkenburg
    Law Office of Eric Sterkenburg | Eric Sterkenburg
    If you qualify you can get a restricted license from the DMV. Once your license is suspended however, you will have to wait out the suspension before you get it unsuspended or unrestricted.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 6/18/2012
    Law Office of Jared Altman
    Law Office of Jared Altman | Jared Altman
    You can usually get a conditional license within about twenty days of your plea.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 5/29/2013
    Law Offices of Kate Mesic, PA
    Law Offices of Kate Mesic, PA | Kate L. Mesic
    Depending on your circumstances, you may be eligible for a hardship license. I would suggest you consult with the attorney that represented you originally or another DUI lawyer, so they can evaluate your situation.
    Answer Applies to: Florida
    Replied: 6/18/2012
    Pearson, Butler, & Carson, PLLC
    Pearson, Butler, & Carson, PLLC | Matthew R. Kober
    The only way to get your license back is to 1) go to the drivers license hearing and prove that there was no reasonable belief that you were under the influence of alcohol, 2) win your case in court (i.e. get the case dismissed or win at trial) or 3) appeal your suspension and win, or 4) wait the mandatory 4 months for a first time DUI. Those are the only ways to get your license back.
    Answer Applies to: Utah
    Replied: 6/18/2012
    Anderson Law Office
    Anderson Law Office | Scott L. Anderson
    It depends on your situation how fast you can get your license back. Is this your first incident? What did you test? Was there an accident?
    Answer Applies to: Minnesota
    Replied: 6/18/2012
    Vargas Law Office LLC | Ronnie Ismael Vargas
    Reinstating your operating privileges are dependent on such factors as the length of the administrative as well legal suspensions, the amount of your fines and your ability to pay them and how successful you are in completing your alcohol assessment and courses.
    Answer Applies to: Wisconsin
    Replied: 6/18/2012
    Leonard A. Kaanta, P.C. | Leonard A. Kaanta
    There is no was to speed up the process. You must have at least 6 months of being sober or more, records of attending AA, letters from friends and relatives to vouch that you no longer drink alcohol.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 6/18/2012
    Klisz Law Office, PLLC
    Klisz Law Office, PLLC | Timothy J. Klisz
    You don't lose your license until you plead. After that, a first offender should get a restricted license.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 6/18/2012
    Nelson & Lawless
    Nelson & Lawless | Terry Nelson
    Quickly? You don't. An automatic suspension occurs. After you serve some period of time suspended, how much depends upon other offense and on BA level, then you can request a restricted license for work and school travel.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 6/18/2012
    Law Office of Christopher G Humphrey PC | Christopher G Humphrey
    If it is your first DUI, you can get a probationary license in 15-30 days if you get a records review and a substance abuse evaluation.
    Answer Applies to: Wyoming
    Replied: 6/18/2012
    James M. Osak, P.C.
    James M. Osak, P.C. | James M. Osak
    You apply for a "hardship" exemption. Good luck!
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 6/18/2012
    Cynthia Henley, Lawyer
    Cynthia Henley, Lawyer | Cynthia Henley
    Depends on the reason for the suspension. You cannot speed it up but you may be able to get an occupational.
    Answer Applies to: Texas
    Replied: 6/18/2012
    Dennis Roberts, a P.C.
    Dennis Roberts, a P.C. | Dennis Roberts
    No.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 5/30/2013
    Timothy J. Thill P.C.
    Timothy J. Thill P.C. | Timothy J. Thill
    If the license is revoked, in Illinois, the road to getting any kind of restricted license is long and difficult, be prepared to wait a significant time, you will need to complete your alcohol counselling program before even being considered for a permit. Also, you will need to have a breath interlock device installed in your personal vehicle, which will establish zero tolerance in your alcohol consumption, or else the permit will be taken away from you.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 6/18/2012
    Myles Hahn III Attorney at Law | Myles Hahn III
    Discuss the matter with an attorney. The Satte should have notified you of any suspension and for how long. The general rule is that you are still suspended until the Secretary of State says that you are not.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 6/18/2012
    Harden Law Offices
    Harden Law Offices | Leonard D. Harden
    If you have already been convicted you have to complete course. There is no short cut. The best way to lessen license loss is to hire a good lawyer and beat charge.
    Answer Applies to: New Hampshire
    Replied: 6/18/2012
    Connell-Savela
    Connell-Savela | Jason Savela
    If a first, there is a way to get license back after one month.
    Answer Applies to: Colorado
    Replied: 6/18/2012
    Conway Law Pllc.
    Conway Law Pllc. | B. L. Conway
    Pay your fines and cost and petition the Court for a restricted license.
    Answer Applies to: Virginia
    Replied: 6/18/2012
    Larry K. Dunn & Associates | Larry K. Dunn
    After serving one-half of the 90 day revocation, a person may apply for a hardship license or work license. There is no "speedy" way to reinstate the driver's license.
    Answer Applies to: Nevada
    Replied: 6/18/2012
    Attorney Paul Stanko
    Attorney Paul Stanko | Paul Stanko
    Not really. Just make sure you get your SR-22 insurance. License reinstatements all go through Indianapolis now, so therea re no shortcuts.
    Answer Applies to: Indiana
    Replied: 6/18/2012
    Law Offices of Mark L. Smith
    Law Offices of Mark L. Smith | Mark L. Smith
    You can get your license back after the period of license suspension. There are costs associated with the re issuance of the license.
    Answer Applies to: Rhode Island
    Replied: 6/18/2012
    Lawrence Lewis
    Lawrence Lewis | Lawrence Lewis, PC
    Depends on IF it is a hard suspension or not. Your driving privileges may be restored within 24 hours, with your license coming as soon as 120 days.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 6/18/2012
    Gutin and Wolverton
    Gutin and Wolverton | Harley Gutin
    Complete the classes, finish all of your DUI requirements and let whatever time your suspension was for run out. No. Cannot speed it up. You can drag it out if you are not focused.
    Answer Applies to: Florida
    Replied: 6/18/2012
    Steven Alpers | Steven Alpers
    If you take a dui course, provide proof of insurance pay a fee you can get a restricted license after a 30 day suspension.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 6/18/2012
    Universal Law Group, Inc. | Francis John Cowhig
    Under certain circumstances, you may be able to obtain a restricted license allowing you drive to and from work or school. However, I strongly suggest that you contact an attorney for a face-to-face consultation and give him/her all of the facts surrounding your arrest. He/she would then be in a better position to analyze you case and advise you of your options.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 6/18/2012
    Alvin Lundgren | Alvin Lundgren
    It depends on your criminal record, your offense, your state and laws.
    Answer Applies to: Utah
    Replied: 6/18/2012
    Law Offices of John Carney
    Law Offices of John Carney | John Carney
    You should retain an attorney to handle the case. He will try to plead the case to a DWAI as soon as possible and get you into Drinking Driver School with a conditional license. He will ask for a hardship license at arraignment so that you can drive to work, school, or for medical treatment. Even if you do not get the conditional or hardship license, after 30 days you can apply to DMV for a hardship license to go to school or work.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 6/18/2012
    Baner and Baner
    Baner and Baner | Jonathan Baner
    Don't lose the DOL hearing, and then get a NG, dismissal, or some resolution other than a DUI conviction.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 6/18/2012
    Law Office of Edward J. Blum
    Law Office of Edward J. Blum | Edward J. Blum
    Enroll in class, get certificate and SR-22 and take to DMV, get restricted license.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 6/17/2012
    Law office of Robert D. Scott | Robert Scott
    MVA usually requires completion of a alcohol/drug program before re-instating your driving privileges.
    Answer Applies to: Maryland
    Replied: 6/17/2012
    Robert Valles and Associates P.C.
    Robert Valles and Associates P.C. | Robert Valles Jr.
    Contact EPS and pay reinstatement fee
    Answer Applies to: Texas
    Replied: 6/17/2012
    Michael E. Jones, P.S. | Michael E. Jones
    All DUI convictions involve license suspension that can't be avoided or shortened. Most people can apply for an ignition interlock license which will allow them to immediately resume driving their personal vehicle during their suspension period.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 6/17/2012
    Clos, Russell & Wirth, P.C. | Gary A. Russell
    You did not state whether your license is suspended or revoked. However, assuming either one is the result of a DUI conviction, you must wait out the period. There is no hardship appeal for either if lost due to a DUI conviction.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 6/17/2012
    Beaulier Law Office
    Beaulier Law Office | Maury Beaulier
    First, there are always defenses to a DWI and to a license revocation. However, with respect to the license revocation, you must file a zPetition for Judicial Review within 30 days of receiving notice of the revocation or you will forever have an Implied Consent violation on your record. Second, the time in which you may have your license reinstated depends on many things, including the facts of your case, whether any aggravating circumstances exist, your blood alcohol level and more. You should consult with legal counsel.
    Answer Applies to: Minnesota
    Replied: 6/17/2012
    Law Office of Ronald G. Draper | Ronald G. Draper
    There is no speedy process. You were given a date the suspension ends , that's it.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 6/17/2012
    R. Jason de Groot, P.A
    R. Jason de Groot, P.A | R. Jason de Groot
    There is no way to speed up the process, but you may be able to get a hardship license depending upon your circumstances.
    Answer Applies to: Florida
    Replied: 6/17/2012
    Law Office of Jeff Yeh
    Law Office of Jeff Yeh | Jeff Yeh
    There is no way speed up the process. But what you can do is avoid a suspension in the first place, and this can be done by you not pleading to a DUI but a reduced charge (ie. wet reckless), and winning your DMV Hearing. Consult a DUI specialist.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 6/15/2012
    The Law Offices of Harold L. Wallin | Harold L. Wallin
    You will have to successfully challenge your suspension, or request a driving permit. Consult with a DUI attorney to learn about your options.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 6/15/2012
    Stephen D. Hebert, LLC | Stephen Hebert
    You could enter a plea pursuant to Article 894. When you complete the terms and conditions of your Article 894 plea, your driving privileges are immediately reinstated.
    Answer Applies to: Louisiana
    Replied: 6/15/2012
    Law Offices of Eric J. Bell | Eric J. Bell
    In Illinois - if your drivers license has been revoked you must have a hearing with the Illinois Secretary of State.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 6/15/2012
    Law & Mediation Office of Jeffrey L. Pollock, Esq.
    Law & Mediation Office of Jeffrey L. Pollock, Esq. | Jeffrey Lawrence Pollock
    Send PennDOT the $25 Restoration Fee as soon as you turn in your license.
    Answer Applies to: Pennsylvania
    Replied: 6/15/2012
Click to View More Answers:
12 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Free Legal QuestionsConnect with a local attorney

Need more information on drunk driving law? Visit our free DUI resource page to learn more.

If you need immediate assistance, fill out a free case evaluation form to connect with a DUI lawyer in your area today!