How can I collect on my personal injury? 23 Answers as of August 02, 2011I had an AC joint seperation in 2000 and they had to remove about half inch of my clavicle which seem to fix the problem. And now after all this time it feels exactly like it did before it was fixed. I havent been to a doctor as I have no insurance, I realize it's been long time. What, if any, are my options? The doctor said I lost 5% use of my left arm but it feels like I lost more than that.
Law Offices of Daniel R. Wingler, P.C. | Daniel R. Wingler
How did you sustain the injury? Is there an insurance claim (either workers compensation or personal injury claim) that currently remains open? Whether or not the passage of time precludes certain rights or remedies you may still have available depends on number of factors, but you should get an assessment as soon as possible to see if any statutory deadlines have passed or may expire in the near future. Feel free to call and discuss in further detail. 720.447.2586
Answer Applies to: Colorado
Law Offices of Tom Patton | Thomas C. Patton
The statute o limitations in Oregon is 2 years. There are a few ways to get beyond the 2 year time limit for filing suit. If you were a minor when the accident occurred, for example, you have until your 19th birthday to file suit. Also, if the injury wasn't discovered for several years (sponge left in after surgery, discovered in CT Scan years later), you can sue two years after discovery.
Answer Applies to: Oregon
Wilson & Hajek,LLC, a personal injury law firm | Francis Hajek
Medical malpractice law in Virginia has the same statute of limitations as any other personal injury. You have to make a claim within two years from the date of the injury. The only difference in medical malpractice law is that there is a discovery rule. What this means is that the period might be extended if the victim was not aware of the malpractice until a later date. Since your operation was in 2000, your claim may be barred by the statute of limitations. You should consult with an experienced personal injury attorney immediately to see if there is any hope in your situation.
Answer Applies to: Virginia
Kelaher Law Offices, P.A. | James P Kelaher
The chances are good that you have waited too long. In Florida, the statute of limitations is only 4 years, so if you didn't bring your claim within 4 years of the date of the accident, it's too late to bring it. Some states have shorter statutes of limitation, but few if any are longer. Just call a local personal injury lawyer to find out what the statute of limitations is in your state.
Answer Applies to: Florida
Law Office of Jared Altman | Jared Altman
Except in rare circumstances, you must bring a personal injury claim within three years. I don't know how old you are or how and where you got injured. For example, you may be able to reopen a Workers Compensation claim if you had one. Or, if you were less than eighteen years old, you may have extra time. I think that you should call a lawyer right away.
Answer Applies to: New York
Allen Murphy Law | W. Riley Allen
If your accident occurred in Florida in 2000, the statute of limitations ran in 2004 (4 years for an accident) and 2 years for Med Mal, not to exceed a total of 4 years. So, you appear out of luck either way. But, you can talk to a lawyer in person to be sure.
Answer Applies to: Florida
Coulter's Law | Coulter K. Richardson
I hate to be the bearer of bad news, but it sounds as though you may be out of legal options. The time to file a lawsuit in NJ is two years from the date of injury. Unless you were many years under the age of 21 when the surgery took place, it is highly likely the time to file has come and gone.
Answer Applies to: New Jersey
Law Offices of Steven A. Fink | Steven Alan Fink
Legally there is nothing you can do. Personal injury statute of limitations in CA is two years from the date of injury. Even though your injury seems to have manifested itself again, the original injury was 11 years ago. Any claim you have against the person that caused the injury is legally barred.
Answer Applies to: California