Have I waited too late to file a lawsuit? 26 Answers as of November 07, 2013

A huge box fell on me at a store shoving me in a forward jerking motion. Have had back pain that is gotten worse and worse will have to have surgery more than likely. The store filled out an accident report but my repeated calls to them go ignored.

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Quinn Law Group, LLC
Quinn Law Group, LLC | Sean E. Quinn
More detail is needed to determine if it too late to file a lawsuit in your situation. When and where did this incident occur? Pennsylvania and New Jersey both have a 2 year statute of limitations - meaning that a lawsuit must be brought within 2 years of the accident date (assuming you are an adult). If the accident happened in either NJ or PA, you have two years in which to bring your lawsuit. I would urge you, however, to speak to an experienced personal injury lawyer immediately.
Answer Applies to: Pennsylvania
Replied: 11/7/2013
Andrew T. Velonis, P.C.
Andrew T. Velonis, P.C. | Andrew Velonis
You ask us if you have waited too late, but then you don't tell us how long it's been. In NY the statute of limitations is 3 years.
Answer Applies to: New York
Replied: 11/7/2013
Graves Law Firm
Graves Law Firm | Steve Graves
In Texas you have two years from the incident date to file suit. See a lawyer. Good luck.
Answer Applies to: Texas
Replied: 11/7/2013
Vasilaros Legal,LLC
Vasilaros Legal,LLC | Steven T. Vasilaros
Unfortunately, you have not provided the date of this incident. Generally, in Florida, a claim for negligence must be commenced within 4 years of the actual incident.
Answer Applies to: Florida
Replied: 11/7/2013
Paul Whitfield and Associates P.A.
Paul Whitfield and Associates P.A. | Paul L. Whitfield
You did not say when this happened you have 3 years.
Answer Applies to: North Carolina
Replied: 11/7/2013
    The Law Offices of Russell Gregory, P.C.
    The Law Offices of Russell Gregory, P.C. | Russell Gregory
    Your matter may well be pursuable. I would need to discuss the details with you. There would be no fee for our discussion; there is no fee unless/until you actually win and collect.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 11/5/2013
    Stephens Gourley & Bywater | David A. Stephens
    In Nevada you have 2 years from the date of the accident to file suit.
    Answer Applies to: Nevada
    Replied: 11/5/2013
    Peters Law, PLLC
    Peters Law, PLLC | Mark T. Peters, Sr.
    In Idaho you have two years to file for personal injury.
    Answer Applies to: Idaho
    Replied: 11/5/2013
    James E. Hasser, Jr. P.C.
    James E. Hasser, Jr. P.C. | Jim Hasser
    You have 2 years from the date of accident to file suit in Alabama or you will be forever barred from doing so. Good luck.
    Answer Applies to: Alabama
    Replied: 11/5/2013
    Caldwell Law Group, PLLC
    Caldwell Law Group, PLLC | Christopher Caldwell
    In Idaho, when making a claim against a store, you generally have two years from the date of an accident to sue for personal injuries.
    Answer Applies to: Idaho
    Replied: 11/5/2013
    WEISSMAN LAW FIRM
    WEISSMAN LAW FIRM | I.Donald Weissman
    In California, a lawsuit for personal injuries due to negligence must be filed by the two year anniversary of the incident. If not, the claim will be barred.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 11/5/2013
    Pete Leehey Law Firm, P.C.
    Pete Leehey Law Firm, P.C. | Pete Leehey
    You have two years to file a suit for the kind of case you have described.
    Answer Applies to: Iowa
    Replied: 11/5/2013
    Belushin Law Firm, P.C.
    Belushin Law Firm, P.C. | Vel Belushin
    That would depend on when the accident occurred.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 11/5/2013
    The S.E. Farris Law Firm
    The S.E. Farris Law Firm | Spencer E. Farris
    You have 5 years to file a lawsuit in Missouri, but you should never wait that long. Call an attorney!
    Answer Applies to: Missouri
    Replied: 11/5/2013
    Kevin H Pate
    Kevin H Pate | Kevin H Pate
    You have provided no information on how long ago this happened. In OK, for example, you either reach a settlement or you file suit within 2 years of an injury.
    Answer Applies to: Oklahoma
    Replied: 11/5/2013
    Law Ofices of Edwin K. Niles | Edwin K. Niles
    Of course they ignore you. They are not there to help you. See a lawyer. The statute of limitations in Cal. is two years. You should also be seeing a doctor. Take care of yourself.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 11/5/2013
    Sarrail, Castillo & Hall, LLP | Monica Castillo
    The statute of limitations in California, for a personal injury lawsuit, is tolled 2 years from the injury date.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 11/5/2013
    Rita Skuratovsky
    Rita Skuratovsky | Rita Skuratovsky
    Generally you have 2 years to file a lawsuit for bodily injury. If the store is not responding to you, then you should definitely look into hiring a lawyer to represent you.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 11/5/2013
    Chen Kasher, Esq.
    Chen Kasher, Esq. | Chen Kasher
    Do you work at the store? If so, give them notice within 45 days and file a worker's compensation claim. If you do not, you may have a good tort claim. You have two years from the date of the incident to file suit. Talk to a lawyer ASAP; it sounds like you have some potential disc herniation or other spinal issues that require long-term care and even surgery. Most PI lawyers work on contingency, which means you will owe them no money unless they win.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 11/5/2013
    End, Hierseman & Crain, LLC | J. Michael End
    The Wisconsin statute of limitations for personal injury cases is three years from the date of injury. You need to hire a lawyer to represent you in your claim.
    Answer Applies to: Wisconsin
    Replied: 11/5/2013
Click to View More Answers:
12 3 4 5 Free Legal QuestionsConnect with a local attorney