William L. Welch, III Attorney | William L. Welch, III
Even a first-time offender might be sentenced to the maximum indicated on the charge papers. In Maryland marijuana possession carries up to a year, and heroin or cocaine carries up to a maximum of four years. Penalties for possession with the intent to distribute would be five years and 20 years respectively. Ultimately, sentencing depends on the seriousness of the offense, the defendants prior record, mitigation, allocution, and the judge.
Answer Applies to: Maryland
Simmons Law | Tiffany M. Simmons, Esq.
According to GA law, it is unlawful for any person to purchase, possess, or have under his control any controlled substance. It depends on the quantity, etc to state how much time you are facing. However, by retaining an attorney you can possibly get a first offender plea deal. The plea arrangement can vary depending on what your attorney and the State agree upon. It could range from fines, probation, or some jail time.
Answer Applies to: Georgia
LeadfootSpeedingTicket.com | Andrea Storey Rogers
Potential sentence for misdemeanor (less than 35 grams) possession of controlled substance in Missouri is up to 1 year in jail and a fine of up to $1,000. You need to hire a criminal defense attorney to represent you to keep this off your permanent criminal record.
Answer Applies to: Missouri
Hamblin Law Office | Sally Hamblin
If no priors, in school or working, stable environment, ask for deferred or delayed sentence status. If not over 21, look into HYTA. BUT you must complete all conditions and not be involved in further illegal activity for the offense to be no conviction.
Answer Applies to: Michigan