What is the penalty for driving with a hardship license at unauthorized times? 52 Answers as of July 02, 2013

What is the penalty for driving with a hardship license at unauthorized times?

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Cornish, Crowley, Rockafellow, & Sartz, PLLC
Cornish, Crowley, Rockafellow, & Sartz, PLLC | Jacob Peter Sartz IV
A possible criminal charge for driving on a suspended license. However, ultimately, it depends on what the cop wrote the ticket for. Anyone charged with a crime is presumed innocent until proven guilty beyond a reasonable doubt. You have a right to council. Don't be afraid to exercise that right. Most attorneys provide free initial consultations.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 1/17/2012
Gregory Casale Attorney at Law
Gregory Casale Attorney at Law | Gregory Casale
It is the same as Operating without a license. However, if you were operating while your license was suspended for OUI, it could be a real problem with jail time associated.
Answer Applies to: Massachusetts
Replied: 1/13/2012
Cynthia Henley, Lawyer
Cynthia Henley, Lawyer | Cynthia Henley
It is the same as if you had no drivers license. You can be arrested and sentenced to jail time and your occupational license can be suspended and your suspension time expended. If you are on probation, it is a violation and your probation can be revoked.
Answer Applies to: Texas
Replied: 1/13/2012
Michael Breczinski
Michael Breczinski | Michael Breczinski
93 days in jail $500 dollar fine and costs and revocation of the hardship license. It is the same as driving on a revoked or suspended license.
Answer Applies to: Michigan
Replied: 1/10/2012
Law Office of Richard Williams
Law Office of Richard Williams | Richard Williams
There is no hardship driver's license in the State of Alabama.
Answer Applies to: Alabama
Replied: 1/9/2012
    Anderson Law Office
    Anderson Law Office | Scott L. Anderson
    It is a misdemeanor level offense and your limited license can be cancelled if convicted.
    Answer Applies to: Minnesota
    Replied: 1/9/2012
    Law Office of Thomas A. Medford, Jr., PC
    Law Office of Thomas A. Medford, Jr., PC | Thomas A. Medford, Jr.
    The penalties can include 90 days in jail, a $300 fine or both.
    Answer Applies to: District of Columbia
    Replied: 1/9/2012
    Law Office of Michael R. Garber
    Law Office of Michael R. Garber | Michael R. Garber
    It gets revoked.
    Answer Applies to: Louisiana
    Replied: 1/6/2012
    DeVito & Visconti, PA
    DeVito & Visconti, PA | John E DeVito
    Driving at unauthorized times with a hardship license is the same as Operating without a License. It is technically an arrestible offense; althought the police usually issue a citation anddo not make an arrest.The police will have the car you are driving towedunless a licensed individual is available to drive the car. The penalty usually results in a fine. The Registry of MV will likelyrevoke your hardship license; you will then have to wait out the original suspension period to get your full license reinstated.
    Answer Applies to: Massachusetts
    Replied: 1/6/2012
    Jules N. Fiani, Attorney at Law
    Jules N. Fiani, Attorney at Law | Jules Fiani
    Loss of driving privileges.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 1/6/2012
    Law Offices of Eric J. Bell | Eric J. Bell
    Driving a on hardship license when you are not permitted is often prosecuted as though you were driving on a suspended or revoked license. A conviction of this charge can also result in the termination of your hardship permit. You need to hire an attorney to assist you with this problem.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 1/5/2012
    Law Office of Phillip Weiser
    Law Office of Phillip Weiser | Phillip L. Weiser
    This would be driving in violation of restrictions, which is a misdemeanor, with 12 months jail and $2500 fine as maximum penalties. You should not have to worry about the maximums, but a fine and possible loss of the driving privileges are possible.
    Answer Applies to: Kansas
    Replied: 1/5/2012
    Myles Hahn III Attorney at Law | Myles Hahn III
    It is considered the equivalent of driving with no license or a suspended license, depending on your history.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 1/5/2012
    Law Office of Jared Altman
    Law Office of Jared Altman | Jared Altman
    Aggravated Unlicensed Operation which has various degrees.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 1/5/2012
    Andersen Law PLLC
    Andersen Law PLLC | Craig Andersen
    The same as driving with a suspended license 0-90 days in jail and a $5000 fine.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 1/5/2012
    The Law Firm of David Jolly
    The Law Firm of David Jolly | David Jolly
    If you are driving with a "restrictive license" (hardship license) you must adhere to the requirements of the license. If not, you are simply asking for trouble. If you decide to not follow the requirements of the license you may be charged with a criminal offense. While such an offense has no mandatory penalties, such an offense may revoke any offenses you are currently on probation for. As an example, if you are on probation for a DUI and get a new criminal charge the mandatory penalty is 30 days in jail and a new suspension of your license. If you are on probation for reckless driving or negligent driving first degree, there is no mandatory penalty but expect significant jail time. If you have been charged with violation the restrictive license you must immediately contact a DUI attorney to discuss your options.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 1/5/2012
    Law Offices of John Carney
    Law Offices of John Carney | John Carney
    You will probably plead to a 511-a1 violation and pay a $50 fine and a $120 surcharge. You will have a conviction for a traffic violation but not a criminal conviction.
    Answer Applies to: New York
    Replied: 1/5/2012
    Mark Thiessen, Attorney at Law
    Mark Thiessen, Attorney at Law | Mark Thiessen
    You get arrested and charged with Driving While License Invalid a class B Misdemeanor.
    Answer Applies to: Texas
    Replied: 1/5/2012
    Russman Law
    Russman Law | Ryan Russman
    New Hampshire does not have a hardship license. Therefore, driving without a valid license can result in as little a fine or as much as a year in jail.
    Answer Applies to: New Hampshire
    Replied: 1/5/2012
    Rizio & Nelson
    Rizio & Nelson | John W. Bussman
    Driving on a suspended license often carries more jail time than the underlying DUI itself. You should speak with an attorney immediately to discuss your options.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 1/5/2012
    Robert Valles and Associates P.C.
    Robert Valles and Associates P.C. | Robert Valles Jr.
    It is driving while license invalid. Fine of up to $2000 and 180 in jail.
    Answer Applies to: Texas
    Replied: 1/5/2012
    Vargas Law Office LLC | Ronnie Ismael Vargas
    By hardship license I assume you mean an occupational license. If you are caught violating the parameters of said license then they can take the license away from you.
    Answer Applies to: Wisconsin
    Replied: 1/5/2012
    Charles M. Schiff, Attorney at Law
    Charles M. Schiff, Attorney at Law | Charles M. Schiff
    This would be considered "driving after revocation/suspension". It is a misdemeanor offense in Minnesota carrying a maximum penalty of 90 days and $1,000.00.
    Answer Applies to: Minnesota
    Replied: 1/5/2012
    Beaulier Law Office
    Beaulier Law Office | Maury Beaulier
    It results in the revocation of your driver's license. It may also be charges as a misdemeanor for a first offense which is punishable by up to 90 days in jail and a $1000 fine.
    Answer Applies to: Minnesota
    Replied: 1/4/2012
    Craig W. Elhart, P.C.
    Craig W. Elhart, P.C. | Craig Elhart
    It could be up to and including a revocation of the hardship license and a charge of driving while not properly licensed.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 1/4/2012
    Giannini Law Office, PC
    Giannini Law Office, PC | Robert Giannini
    Driving in violation of the terms of a limited permit or hardship license is punishable as a misdemeanor (up to $1000 and 12 months jail or probation) and by a revocation of the permit for a minimum of six months. In other words: no way to drive for at least six months. If you are able to delay a resolution of the citation for violation of limited permit until your full license has been reinstated it will usually protect you from any suspension or revocation.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 1/4/2012
    H. Scott Basham, Attorney at Law, P.C. | H. Scott Basham
    If it's a misdemeanor, the maximum possible penalty is a $1000 fine and/or 12 months in jail. But in practice, most misdemeanors are not treated this harshly.
    Answer Applies to: Georgia
    Replied: 1/4/2012
    Law Office of Christopher G Humphrey PC | Christopher G Humphrey
    0-6 months for driving without a license and a fine of about 410 or more.
    Answer Applies to: Wyoming
    Replied: 1/4/2012
    The Law Offices of Laura A. Walker | Laura A. Walker
    I don't know but it can easily be googled, it should be a fine.
    Answer Applies to: Wisconsin
    Replied: 1/4/2012
    The Short Law Group, P.C.
    The Short Law Group, P.C. | Shawn Kollie
    This crime is known as Driving While Suspended if it is outside the authorized times. The seriousness of the crime will depend on the underlying suspension and could result in either a violation DWS, or a misdemeanor DWS in Oregon. You should contact a knowledgeable criminal defense attorney to help you modify the Hardship Permit with the authorization of the convicting judge to the times you need to drive for work or treatment.
    Answer Applies to: Oregon
    Replied: 1/4/2012
    Law Office of Michael Bialys THE DUI MAN
    Law Office of Michael Bialys THE DUI MAN | Michael Bialys
    It may be a violation of your probation and an additional charge of driving on a suspended.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 2/21/2012
    Thomas J. Tomko Attorney At law
    Thomas J. Tomko Attorney At law | Thomas J. Tomko
    The penalty is the same as driving with license suspended. I hope that this was helpful.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 1/4/2012
    Timothy J. Thill P.C.
    Timothy J. Thill P.C. | Timothy J. Thill
    It depends what you are suspended or revoked for. If related to a DUI or hit ant run conviction, you face a mandatory 10 days in jail or 30 days of community service, if suspended for a lesser infraction, you probably can get a probationary type of sentence. Usually, you are charged with driving on a suspended or revoked license, in such cases.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 1/4/2012
    Fagan, Fagan & Davis
    Fagan, Fagan & Davis | Steven H. Fagan
    Driving with a hardship license at unauthorized times is driving without a hardship license. Essentially, you would be driving while suspended or revoked, and subject to the same penalties. A typical Driving While Suspended or Revoked charge is a class A misdemeanor punishable by up to 364 days in jail and up to $2500 in fines plus court costs, but in some cases, felony charges may be applicable as well.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 1/4/2012
    The Law Office of Harry E. Hudson, Jr.
    The Law Office of Harry E. Hudson, Jr. | Harry E. Hudson, Jr.
    I would think it is the same as driving without a license.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 7/2/2013
    John P Yetter | John Yetter
    Criminally, the driver could be charged with driving while license suspended. This is a class A misdemeanor, or possibly even a felony depending on the basis of the original suspension and the person's history. If convicted, the Secretary of State would likely revoke the permit.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 1/4/2012
    Law Office of Mark Bruce
    Law Office of Mark Bruce | Mark Corwin Bruce
    I assume you mean a restricted license, which allows only to drive to and from work or to and from the alcohol program. The violation is the same as a violation of driving on a suspended license.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 1/4/2012
    Freeborn Law Offices, P.S.
    Freeborn Law Offices, P.S. | Steve Freeborn
    It could be a violation of your terms of probation, or your sentence. It could result in the imposition of jail time.
    Answer Applies to: Washington
    Replied: 1/4/2012
    Law Offices of Martina A. Vigil, PC
    Law Offices of Martina A. Vigil, PC | Martina A. Vigil
    This can be a probation violation and may result in a revocation of your restricted license.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 1/4/2012
    Law Offices of Paula Drake
    Law Offices of Paula Drake | Paula Drake
    It is called driving on a suspended license, since if it is not covered by the restriction, you are technically suspended. If the underlying case was a DUI, it carries mandatory jail.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 1/4/2012
    Thomas C. Brandstrader Attorney At Law | Thomas C. Brandstrader
    Revocation of your permit at a minimum.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 1/4/2012
    Brucar & Yetter, P.C.
    Brucar & Yetter, P.C. | Wayne Brucar
    It would be considered driving on a suspended license which, depending on the circumstances and your driving history, could carry a punishment as light as a supervision with minimal consequences, to a penitentiary term.
    Answer Applies to: Illinois
    Replied: 1/4/2012
    The Law Office of Brian T. Langford | Brian T. Langford
    As a general matter, the penalty is the loss of that hardship license; however, depending on the circumstances of your case the suspension/loss of it may be avoided.
    Answer Applies to: Louisiana
    Replied: 1/4/2012
    Flood Lanctot Connor Stablein, PLLC
    Flood Lanctot Connor Stablein, PLLC | Paul J. Stablein
    Up to 93 days in jail and/or up to a $500 fine.
    Answer Applies to: Michigan
    Replied: 1/4/2012
    Ascheman & Smith | Landon Ascheman
    Most likely there a will be both civil and criminal penalties. On the civil side you could face additional loss of license. On the criminal side you could be charged with driving without a valid license, or worse.
    Answer Applies to: Minnesota
    Replied: 1/4/2012
    Germaine & Blaszka, P.A.
    Germaine & Blaszka, P.A. | Donald L. Blaszka, Jr.
    New Hampshire does not issue a hardship or "work" license. If you have a suspended license in NH, you are suspended until reinstated by the Department of Safety, Division of Motor Vehicles. If you have an hardship license in another state, you need to consult with an attorney from that state to determine whether or not driving in NH violates the terms of your hardship license from that other state.
    Answer Applies to: New Hampshire
    Replied: 1/4/2012
    Aaron Black Law
    Aaron Black Law | Aaron Black
    I am confused to as what a hardship license is? Are you driving on a restricted license? If so, the charge would be a class one misdemeanor. You could be facing up to 1 year in jail and a $2500 fine in Arizona. That is unlikely to happen. What would most likely happen is an additional suspension would be placed on your license.
    Answer Applies to: Arizona
    Replied: 1/4/2012
    Law Office of Joe Dane
    Law Office of Joe Dane | Joe Dane
    If your license is suspended, but you got a restricted license, that allows you to drive under the conditions of the restriction. If you're caught driving outside that restriction, it's driving on a suspended license. From there, it matters why your license was suspended. If it was suspended for DUI, there is a mandatory 10 days in jail, a large fine and you'll have to install the ignition interlock device. It's worth getting a lawyer to see if there's a way to lessen the punishment or get a reduction in the charge - if not beat it entirely.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 1/4/2012
    Robert Mortland
    Robert Mortland | Law Office of Robert Mortland
    You could be charged with a CVC 14601 for driving on a suspended license.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 1/4/2012
    Dennis Roberts, a P.C.
    Dennis Roberts, a P.C. | Dennis Roberts
    What is a hardship license? Do you mean a restricted license you get after 30 days when the DMV revokes you. If so, the penalty is that they will revoke your probation on the DUI but how much time you will get, if any, depends on what county you are in.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 1/4/2012
    Fabian & Associates, Inc.
    Fabian & Associates, Inc. | Stephen G. Fabian, Jr.
    You can be charged with driving under revocation or suspension. It is a jailable offence.
    Answer Applies to: Oklahoma
    Replied: 1/4/2012
Click to View More Answers:
12 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Free Legal QuestionsConnect with a local attorney

Need more information on drunk driving law? Visit our free DUI resource page to learn more.

If you need immediate assistance, fill out a free case evaluation form to connect with a DUI lawyer in your area today!