Law Offices of George H. Shers | George H. Shers
In California, once you are age 18, you have two years from the date of the accident to file suit. If the school bus was owned by a public entity, you have to first file a claim, and normally have 6 months to do so being less than 18 does not waive the time limit. So it looks to be too late to sue.
Answer Applies to: California
Durham Jones & Pinegar | Erven Nelson
Probably not. Most states have a two year deadline, called a statute of limitations, to file a lawsuit for personal injury. Your accident took place over three years ago. You might be able, however, to press criminal charges.
Answer Applies to: Nevada
Kelaher Law Offices, P.A. | James P Kelaher
The statute of limitations for accidents of the nature you are describing is 4 years, but if you're going to bring a claim against the school board, there is a requirement that you put the school board on notice within 3 years of the accident, and then file suit within 4 years. If you haven't put the school board on notice, then it's too late to bring a claim.
Answer Applies to: Florida