Do I have at least two days to get out of the apartment? 9 Answers as of June 14, 2013

Non payment of rent

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
Gordon F. Gault PC | Gordon F Gault
To be evicted the landlord need to bring a lawsuit and obtain a judgment possession. Then place the matter with the Sheriff and the Sheriff usually takes 2 weeks.
Answer Applies to: Illinois
Replied: 6/5/2012
Everyday Legal Services
Everyday Legal Services | Michele Anderson-West
If you have not paid rent, your landlord will have given you a Notice to Quit or Vacate, which tells you how long you have to leave the apartment. You should call your landlord directly with questions to make sure you are in compliance.
Answer Applies to: Utah
Replied: 6/4/2012
CONSUMER PROTECTION ASSISTANCE COALITION, INC. (DE).
CONSUMER PROTECTION ASSISTANCE COALITION, INC. (DE). | Gary Lee Lane
Yes.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 6/14/2013
Oliveros & OBrien
Oliveros & OBrien | Theodore J Piteo
This is more a landlord tenant issue but the results are the same. After they serve you with notice to vacate, the most common form being a 72 hour notice to vacate posted on the door, you will have a court hearing set. The FED court has expedited hearings, usually within 14-21 days of filing where the landlord can get a Writ of Restitution against you. Then if you don't get out after that, they will be entitled to a right of setout where a sheriff observes the landlord's workers as they dump any items remaining in the home onto the curb. To come full circle, you will have more than 2 days to move out prior to the court or the sheriff getting involved. Good Luck to you.
Answer Applies to: Oregon
Replied: 6/4/2012
H. Scott Basham, Attorney at Law, P.C. | H. Scott Basham
A legal eviction requires an order signed by a judge. After that, you have 7 days to move out.
Answer Applies to: Georgia
Replied: 6/2/2012
    Kern Law | Robert Kern
    I'd really need a great deal more detail to answer you accurately. Most importantly, two days after what? After being served with your 5 day notice? Is this a home you own or a rental? Assuming you're speaking of a rental, the basic timeline is that you're served with a 5 day notice, then if you don't pay, you're served with a complaint for summary eviction, usually with a court date within the next 5 days. At that hearing, if you do not show up or do not provide a sufficient justification for your non-payment, the judge will order you out by a certain date, but how long that will be is up to the judge.
    Answer Applies to: Nevada
    Replied: 6/2/2012
    R. Jason de Groot, P.A
    R. Jason de Groot, P.A | R. Jason de Groot
    This is a landlord/tennant question, not a foreclosure defense question. Assuming that the sheriff has delivered a writ of possession you have the amount of time specified in it.
    Answer Applies to: Florida
    Replied: 6/2/2012
    Frank Law Group, P.C.
    Frank Law Group, P.C. | David E. Frank
    Depends. Has the Landlord gotten an unlawful detainer judgment against you yet? Once the judgment is obtained, the court issues a writ of possession which the Landlord then submits to the sheriff with instructions for the sheriff to carry out the eviction. The sheriff then posts a 5 day notice to vacate on your door. If you're not out when the 5 day notice expires, then the sheriff comes back out and physically removes you from the apartment.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 6/2/2012
Click to View More Answers: