Can you legally remarry in less than 6 months if the previous divorce there were no children involved? 17 Answers as of April 18, 2013

Ask a Local Attorney. 100% Anonymous. Free Answers.

Free Case Evaluation by a Local Lawyer: Click here
WARM SPRINGS LAW GROUP | Elliott D. Yug
Yes. Nevada has no restrictions on how soon you can marry after a divorce.
Answer Applies to: Nevada
Replied: 4/18/2013
Elmbrook Law Offices
Elmbrook Law Offices | Gregory Straub
No, if you were divorced in the State of Wisconsin you can not marry anywhere in the world for 6 months. It does not matter if you had children, or how long your marriage lasted. Six months is the necessary waiting period.
Answer Applies to: Wisconsin
Replied: 4/18/2013
Peyton and Associates | Barbara Peyton
Absolutely Not!. You need a document entitled Notice of Entry of Judgment which shows the date your divorce is final before you remarry.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 4/18/2013
Law Offices of Frances Headley | Frances Headley
You can not remarry until the dissolution is final, children or no children.
Answer Applies to: California
Replied: 4/18/2013
The Law Firm of Jessica M. Cotter, P.L.L.C. | Jessica M. Cotter
In Arizona there is no interlocutory period. this means that once the decree of dissolution is filed with the court you are a single person, an eligible to once again marry.
Answer Applies to: Arizona
Replied: 4/18/2013
    Law Offices of Rosaline L Zukerman APC | Rosaline L. Zukerman
    No! The state of California requires a six month waiting period.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 4/18/2013
    Peters Law, PLLC
    Peters Law, PLLC | Mark T. Peters, Sr.
    You can marry as soon as you are divorced.
    Answer Applies to: Idaho
    Replied: 4/18/2013
    Vargas Law Office LLC | Ronnie Ismael Vargas
    Not if you were divorced in Wisconsin or by a Wisconsin court.
    Answer Applies to: Wisconsin
    Replied: 4/18/2013
    Kevin H Pate
    Kevin H Pate | Kevin H Pate
    In Oklahoma the parties are precluded from entering into a new marriage within six months of the date of the decree being granted. An exception exists if the parties to the divorce desire to remarry.
    Answer Applies to: Oklahoma
    Replied: 4/18/2013
    The Houser Law Firm, P.C.
    The Houser Law Firm, P.C. | A. Bowden Houser
    In North Carolina (and most every where else) you can legally remarry in less than 6 minutes if you are legally divorced - children or not. However, in order to get divorced in NC you have to be separated for a period of one year - children or not.
    Answer Applies to: North Carolina
    Replied: 4/17/2013
    Rebecca Rainwater
    Rebecca Rainwater | Rebecca Rainwater
    No. The earliest you can terminate status is six months and one day from date court has jurisdiction over the parties. Generally, this is the date a party is served or makes an appearance.
    Answer Applies to: California
    Replied: 4/18/2013
Click to View More Answers:
12 3 Free Legal QuestionsConnect with a local attorney