Can I still get a DUI after getting my license back? 23 Answers as of June 12, 2013I crash into a pole and it was just me in the car. I don’t remember them taking any test. They did ask me if I was drinking and I replied I had one beer. They just took me to the emergency room. Blood was taken out in the hospital. I was never given a report and the nurse gave me back my license the next day. I called the police station and they gave me a report number and told me it will be ready in ten days.
Law Office of Richard Williams | Richard Williams
It does not appear that you have been arrested for DUI. I would secure a copy of the accident report and take it to your attorney. Do not push for an answer to this one as to whether you are going to be arrested for DUI. Likely, your license was not suspended on account of this and if you do not have your driver's license consider going to the driver's license office and getting a replacement.
Answer Applies to: Alabama
Timothy J. Thill P.C. | Timothy J. Thill
Although it is possible for the police to arrest you after determining from the blood tests whether you were under the influence or not, if you only had one beer, no drugs within the prior 30 days, you probably will not be charged with DUI
Answer Applies to: Illinois
Charles M. Schiff, Attorney at Law | Charles M. Schiff
Yes, the fact that you were given your license card has no bearing on DUI charging. It is common for testing a blood sample to take ten or more days. You will not be charged until the result comes back.
Answer Applies to: Minnesota
Gregory Casale Attorney at Law | Gregory Casale
If the blood test from the hospital shows a blood alcohol level over .08% you will be charged with OUI. I am assuming that you are 21 or older. If you are under 21, then anything over .02% blood in your system will be grounds for the OUI.
Answer Applies to: Massachusetts
Prater, Duncan & Craig, LLC | John D Duncan
Yes, depending on the results of your blood test, you could be charged with a DUI after getting your license back. Police take your license during a DUI typically, when you refuse to take the state administered test. Officers do this based on implied consent laws, which state that your license is conditional upon taking an alcohol test if you are suspected of DUI.
Answer Applies to: Georgia
Law Office of Jeff Yeh | Jeff Yeh
Of course. Getting your license back has nothing to do with whether your will be charged with a DUI. Keep your fingers crossed and hope the blood comes back low. In the meantime, you have only 10 days to save your license. Contact a DUI specialist ASAP.
Answer Applies to: California
Eutsler Law Firm | Robert W. Eutsler
Yes. Because you were not arrested at the hospital, and because the results of the blood alcohol level won't be known until the lab work is finished, they gave you back your license. If the lab comes back with a high enough concentration of alcohol, you can be charged with DWI. Did you receive a document entitled Temporary Driving Permit? If so, give me a call. You have only 15 days from the accident date to take action.
Answer Applies to: Texas